BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ponyo

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Han's Christian Andersen's The Little Mermaid.

    *A quality telling of the Little Mermaid is in the tale of Ponyo; Ponyo is also produced by Disney Studios like The Little Mermaid with Ariel and her sea friends. Ponyo is Hans Christian Andersen's "The Little Mermaid." Sosuke, our protagonist finds Ponyo while on the beach near his home. Ponyo is enamored and fascinated with Sosuke and uses magic to stay with him on land. The vibrant and vivid colors of the landscapes and seascapes are sure too capture young viewers as well as delight parents and guardians. This is a wonderful DVD for a family movie night. Ponyo is similar to Disney's The Little Mermaid tale. The first Little Mermaid starring Ariel and Sebastian is good, also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THERES NOT WAY YOU CAN NOT LOVE PONYO!

    Dis moviee was by farr da best moviee i sawn in a whilee. likee it was so colorfull and awesome. i took the whole fam and the 7 kiddies luved it. PONYO U ROCK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful "Little" Fantasy!

    Ponyo is based on "The Little Mermaid" by Hans Christian Anderson (I think I got that right). But it's WAY cooler and cuter! Forget Disney's version; this is Hayao Miyazaki's vision of how it should have been. The movie's hand-drawn animation may seem old-fashioned, but it looks as good in its way as anything Pixar's done. The title character, Ponyo, is the daughter of a sorcerer and a sea goddess. She looks line a large goldfish, much larger than her sisters. Being adventurous, she swims away from home (this line is actually used in the movie) and meets a human boy, Sosuke. She comes to love him and makes herself human. He loves her too and accepts her for all she is and in every form she has. Note that "love" isn't specifically defined in the story--whether it's romantic love, friendship love, sibling love or even owner-pet love. Or maybe all of the above.
    The movie also shows the problems and trials of parenthood. Sosuke's mother Lisa isn't the best of parents. I wouldn't want her driving my kid anywhere! I wouldn't even want her driving ME anywhere! Also, you DON'T leave 5-year-old kids alone in a major storm with super high tides! And Ponyo's father (a sea wizard) isn't any better. But I guess all dads have a hard time with their little girls (and boys) growing up and leaving home.
    This movie is best for younger children (3 to 7 years), but everyone will enjoy it a lot. Just don't expect a deep, grownup story. Expect a delightful little fantasy that everyone from 0 to 1000 can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Marvelous!

    As usual, director Hayao Miyazaki brings stunning artwork to life in this cute film. From the outset, the backgrounds themselves could be taken as still-shots and hung in galleries as works of art. And that's just the beginning. The story is an original tale of friendship and love, spiced up with magic and unforgetable characters. The tenuous balance between humans and the sea--the give and take of pollution and wild weather--is food for thought for all ages. Witty, fun, and beautifully animated, Ponyo is a great movie for all ages. A stellar English-speaking cast brings the characters to life for those who don't speak Japanese or read subtitles. And for those who do, there's an option to watch the moive in Japanese, English, and French, with subtiles available for the last two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Children's Tale

    Ponyo is a cute, endearing movie for children about a little goldfish who falls in love with a little human boy and consequently wants to become human so that she can be close to him. For those looking for a retelling of Disney's "The Little Mermaid" this movie is not for you - this is not a romance, but instead is a story about the strong bond of friendship between two small children. My children (3 and 4) really enjoy the movie and have already begun to memorize the catchy pre and post film tunes. This movie would make a good addition to your children's video library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A break from the CGI pablum...

    Ponyo is one of those rare kid's films that will truly appeal to intelligent adults as well. Impressive cast of vocal talent, including Betty White and Liam Neeson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ponyo

    I have bought the DVD of Ponyo. It is a slow movie. The kids were in to it. There is a huge storm which could be kind of scary if you were a kid. When we saw it at the movie theatre an older couple was with us, and it goes slow and at some parts is hard to understand, so they actually left during the movie. At the end I at first had to figure out if the characters were still alive or not. On the box of the movie it says it is inspired by the classic Hans Christian Andersen Story The Little Mermaid. I think that is very loosely based. If I was into anime I might enjoy it better. It's slower than most Disney cartoon movies. The plot to me was harder to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ponyo

    A japanese version of "the liite mermaid" - very expertly done by Mayazaki. Great story, very original and fresh. A good story to watch for all ages with great animation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Miyazaki does it again

    Once more Miyazaki-sensei drew me into his story. The first time was with Spirited Away (also another good work). Ponyo is about a human-face fish who gets rescued (or kidnapped, in her father's opinion) by a human boy Sosuke. In this film, Miyazaki-sensei shows us what is happening to the oceans because of our carelessness to take care of the earth and shows us that pollution and global warming are very much real issues we NEED to fix before it gets too uncontrollable.

    Drifting down a bit, Ponyo gets re-captured by her father (once a human, he's disgusted with all the littering they are creating on the surface) and he proceeds to tell her about how the humans are polluting everything and she's much safer in the ocean than on the surface. She doesn't take well to that statement and once her father leaves her sisters help her get back out. Back on the surface, she uses her magic to become a human--it takes a little bit, and overexertion causes her to become part fowl, but she manages.

    After meeting with Ponyo's mother, her father agrees to test Sosuke--only then will he let Ponyo stay on the surface. The rest you'll have to find out by watching, but it does end happily.

    Parents might be offended by the way that Lisa, Sosuke's mom, acts when her husband doesn't come home when he promised her, but remember as a fisherman he's away from the house frequently---you can't expect her to be cheerful about him staying away for long periods of time and breaking promises he makes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Marvelous Miyazaki Masterpiece

    Set reality aside and submerge yourself in the artistry.

    Miyazaki takes animation to incredible places. The art is masterfully done, and viewing the "extras" just adds more to the experience and a greater admiration for Miyazaki's genius.

    The characters are creative and charming. Even what seem to be minor interactions are rich and warm. The bravery, industry, dedication, and energy exhibited in the young hero and heroine are impressive. For me there was some cross-cultural interference, especially when small children were left at home alone, but it's essential to the story.

    The story line and characters make it easy to take the leap and embrace the supernatural and fantastic, while the issue of environmental stewardship brings up possibilities for meaningful discussions in young and old alike.

    I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone with an interest in fine animation, fantasy, storytelling, environmental issues -- anyone who simply wants to be well entertained!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful version of a 'little' Little Mermaid!

    Hayao Miyazaki has given us an entertaining and well written version of Hans Christian Anderson's classic tale of a young mermaid who falls in love with a boy who lives on the land. My grand daughters love this story from Disney's version with Ariel and thoroughly enjoy seeing it from a slightly different - and younger! - perspective. Adults will enjoy the story, as well - especially if watching with someone younger. If you have not seen Miyazaki's work before, this is an excellent first experience; if you love Miyazaki's other work, this will be a welcome addition to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ponyo, A Classic for All Ages

    This is a must see for those who appreciate art and culture. Ponyo is an engaging story told from a child's point of view. It combines truths/legends/cultures/idyllic settings/imagination; it is whimsical yet is lovingly real. It comes with a bonus disc which demonstrates how this and other Miyazaki movies were made, how the American actors read their lines, how the music was written for the movie, etc. You will enjoy the lush, colorful, intriguing art and creatures--animation at its finest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hayao Miyazaki does it again!!!

    Miyazaki does not disappoint in this heart-warming story about Ponyo, an underwater creation by a magical father and the mother nature of the sea. Ponyo is a story about families, friendship, and the gentle understanding of both the fragility of life and the resilience of the spirit. Miyazaki once again illustrates the sweetness and compassion that is often overlooked in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MOVIE

    GREAT FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN.
    THE ANIMATION IS SO SPECIAL,
    SO COLORFUL.
    SO CUTE.
    TOUCHING.
    HIGHLY SUGGEST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very cute film for kids & adults.

    Ponyo is the latest film by the great Japanese animator Hayao Miyazaki. His films are known for unique stories and breathtaking artwork and this film is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Possibly Miyazaki's most charming outing yet!

    Ponyo is more than just a modern take on Has Christen Andersen's "The Little Mermaid". It is, in itself an original and utterly charming voyage into the mind of children. It displays a child's ability to love without limits and the admirable penchant for uncensored honesty that many adults seem to lose with age. In typical Miyazaki fashion there is a warm, comforting ambiance that paints each cell of hand-drawn animation. The art is out of this world and viewers should be encouraged to watch the details carefully. Water is possibly the most difficult subject to animate and it is done here masterfully. The music by Joe Hisashi is, as always, the perfect compliment to the emotions in each scene. He is a master of his craft.
    In the end, even without the top-of-the-line elements that bring it together, the heart of this movie lies in the story and the important message it brings to children's ears: Love without limits. Sosuke loves Ponyo as she is; whether a fish, a human, or something in between. The world of today would do well to love as openly and honestly as he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For a "swimmingly good time" watch PONYO

    For a "swimmingly good time" watch PONYO the latest children's animae film released this month.

    The story is about an adorable little princess goldfish that wishes to become human. She meets and becomes friends with a little boy. Soon she is in the position to save his father and his crewmates on a fishing vessel after they are caught in a storm.

    The film is funny and beautifully animated. The characters are quirky, heart-warming and realistic. My daughters loved the tiny fish!

    If you love the classic "Spirited Away", you will like this one, too!

    Our family was enthralled as we watched it during a recent Family Fun Night! Pick it up today, your family will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loosely based on the story Little Mermaid

    I am a huge Studio Gibli and Hayao Miyazaki fan and the overall story and characters were great, but I was some what disappointed with this film after watching Spirited Away it's a step back for the studio. It is loosely based on the Hans Christian Anderson story of the Little Mermaid. While the kids enjoyed, and simple enough for toddlers to enjoy, the adults in the house that enjoyed previous Gibli fils like Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke were falling asleep. It just lacked in the detail, story building and excitement that the other films had. It was rather slow moving.

    As always this film does not disappoint to stimulate you with the art direction and the creativity of the creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My Thoughts on PONYO

    This movie is excellent!! I would recommend it for anyone who loves Studio Ghibli or Hayao Miyazaki movies. Though it's more for children, it can be enjoyed for anyone of all ages. My 22 month old niece loved it. She danced with the music and watched the entire movie witout any problems. My friends and I watched it over and over again, and never got tired of it. In fact, all of us recommend any movie by Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki because his movies are for the whole family, young or old. Each movie teaches you something new, keeps your attention, and surprises you at every turn. Ponyo teaches you to respect the ocean and all the creatures in it and to help keep it clean. I was also surprised to find out the Noah Cyrus, Miley Cyrus' little sister, and Frankie Jonas were playing the main characters, Ponyo and Sosuke. Many famous actors/actresses play in these movies, and that just makes them even better because you if love them, you'll love the movie they play in and the character(s) they play. In fact, Peter Boyle, the father from Everyone Loves Raymond, plays Muta from The Cat Returns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ponyo

    Ponyo is a wonderful movie that is based on the Hans-Christian Andersen short story of "The Little Mermaid". It is a great movie for all ages, and is one of Studio Ghibli's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3