BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Poseidon

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    I loved this movie!

    I loved this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie!

    I saw this movie and wanted to watch it over and over! I especially love movies with shipwrecks and such, so this movie was perfect! I've recommended this movie to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The only reason to really watch "Poseidon" is that Josh Lucas looks nice in a tux. I can suspend my disbelief as much as the next moviegoer, but this is just stupid. Yes, nice special effects, but please tell me what do the women in this film do? Dylan knows ships from his Navy days, Ramsey is a former fireman, even the boyfriend knows something about ships. But the women are apparently sharing a single brain cell -- and it ain't workin'. The ship rolls and no one -- like, say, the captain -- thinks the little glass bubble of a ballroom may break? There are several other things that make you think "What the HECK?!" Most 8-year-olds aren't gonna stray from their parents' sides, and their parents aren't gonna let them, yet Conor does so repeatedly. Secondly, if you can hold your breath underwater for 2-3 minutes, then you're an Olympic gold medal-winning synchronized swimmer. And, what about the two towels, neatly spread out on the floor after the ship has flipped UPSIDE DOWN! (Where was continuity on this set?) Also, if you're in the water, which conducts electricity, and there's a button dangling from a wire, naturally you're going to ... ? And, after all of this, what's waiting after escaping the ship? And the rescue happens how fast? I had fun with certain elements of "Poseidon," but there was no character development -- how can you keep Richard Dreyfuss and Andre Braugher from showing you how wonderful they are? I had more fun watching it over and over just to find all the crazy stuff that made no sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Poseidon

    I love this movie!!! I would recommend it to anyone over 13. It has everything you are looking for!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome movie!

    I absolutely LOVED this movie! There were a lot of dead people but sure, when a ship goes upside down a lot of things are gunna fall on people! I loved absolutely everything about this movie! it was very entertaining! I think there should be a second one! Overall this movie was EXCELLENT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This film has it’s moments but is clearly far from the remake

    The movie itself is pretty much an empty vessel, though it is certainly a product of its time. Trivial concerns such as story and character are jettisoned in favor of elaborate and expensive sets and CGI special effects. Like so many CGI blockbusters, human interaction is merely a bothersome detail the real focus being on the violent extermination of masses of nameless, faceless victims. And once again, Hollywood has mistaken technological gimmickry for storytelling skill. When the film does try to escape from tired predictability it bites off for more than it can chew. The capsizing sequence was stunning, but so many areas of the ship were highlighted in such a short time that I never really felt I was part of the action. We witness the galley bursting into flames and everybody being burnt to a crispy critter. Elevators come crashing down, people are falling and dying all over the place, dead bodies float all throughout the ship and outside the ship, and it's one big mess. There was no Christmas tree!?! The Christmas tree played a pivotal role in the original film ... from passengers falling into it during the capsizing ... to it unexpectedly crashing down ... to the survivors climbing it (and Mrs. Rosen getting stuck in the spokes) ... to it falling back into the flooding Dining Room when panic ensues! Why leave it out entirely when there are so many cinematic possibilities? Instead the characters in the new film "sneak out" of the Ballroom using some stacked chairs. There is absolutely no plea for others to join them even though they know that anyone left behind may die. I suppose it says something about today's society ... "I'm getting out of here -- to hell with everyone else!" But these guys are supposed to be the heroes in the film? The film has no sense of humanity, let alone a sense of humor about the absurdity of the entire premise. I suppose that the filmmakers wanted this to be like the remake of KING KONG, an eye-popping, special effects reinvention of a well-worn story. But, instead, POSEIDON ends up being like the woefully unnecessary remake of PSYCHO: there was no need, demand or purpose for this film to exist and the filmmakers reveal they have no apparent clue as to why the original is loved in the first place. That's what happens when you set sail without a compass you just get lost at sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Poseidon

    Poseidon was an excellent movie. The script wasn't very well written, but the plot was excellent. I do miss the Christmas tree from the original, and the special effects were cheesy, but overall, it was an excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Poseidon

    Awesome movie. Pretty good effects, except for the wave. The screenplay was also pretty good. I wouldn't recommend this movie for younger kids, as their quite a bit of violence, death, and the showing of corpses. The camera focuses to much on the carnage inside the ship. It shows just a little too much suffering on the journey. The acting is pretty good. I think they should have kept more of the original movie, like having an elderly couple in the cast and keeping the Christmas tree. The movie shows how selfish people can be. One of the characters says, "To hell with everybody else! I'm getting out of here!" The guy who says this is supposed to be a hero!!! The movie also shows how selfless people can be. The father/former mayor/firefighter risks his life multiple times to save the rest of the group and eventually loses his life trying to stop the propellor. Overall, Poseidon was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good action

    I liked this movie, but Josh Lucas flirted with death too many times to live. And what was waiting in the water for the survivors when they reached the outside was just too lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great effects...not too bad of a movie either

    i enjoyed this movie in the theaters. not sure why it wasn't a bigger hit. the special effects were very good and it was entertaining. gotta love a good big boat sinking movie! only disappointing thing, in my opinion, not a good theme song. all good boat sinking movies need a good theme song...ie The Morning After-Poseidon Adventure. My Heart will go on and on-Titanic. Maybe that's why this movie wasn't more sucessful....bad theme song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    While watching Poseidon in the cinemia I thought that in the beginging it will be action packed fun!!! I was semi correct watching the beginging you thought it was gonna be funny sweet and fun, but it was not funny sweet or fun,it was way to in yourface and you just see dead people every where and it was just OK. I would no recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1