Customer Reviews for

Pride & Prejudice

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

What a movie. What a story. What characters. What gifted actors. What wonderful directing. What beautiful muisic. No need to say more except I have seen this movie about 40 times since I rented it when it first came out on DVD when I was in my late 50's. Loved everythin...
What a movie. What a story. What characters. What gifted actors. What wonderful directing. What beautiful muisic. No need to say more except I have seen this movie about 40 times since I rented it when it first came out on DVD when I was in my late 50's. Loved everything about P & P even the extras on the DVD disk. My #1 favorite movie.

posted by bs99 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Cliff's Notes Version

I love Keira Knightley but I didn't like her as Elizabeth Bennet. I am a die-hard fan of the BBC version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle (I've watched it so many times both discs are scratched). I loved the casting of Judy Dench as Lady Catherine in this vers...
I love Keira Knightley but I didn't like her as Elizabeth Bennet. I am a die-hard fan of the BBC version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle (I've watched it so many times both discs are scratched). I loved the casting of Judy Dench as Lady Catherine in this version and found the casting of both Jane and Mr. Bingley better as well, but it felt so condensed. Which is great if you want to know the story but can't sit through the real thing. Also, I was really bugged by the way in which Elizabeth's finding out about Lydia was done. It was treated in a more modern way and became comical instead of the serious even it was intended by Austen. Downplaying an event like that which is so central to the plot of the second half of the story was something that I had a real problem with.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    The movie was very good and I've also read the novel by Jane Austen. The character Kiera Knightlry played, though, was a little harsher than the character in Jane Austen's novel. Other than that, the movie is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I thought the movie wasn't bad but pretty good

    I'll be honest I've never read a Jane Austen book but have heard of it them...A LOT and have seen some of its movies and thought this version of pride and prejudice was pretty good. This is same story like all the other adaptations that has to do with the main character of elizabeth bennett this time played by keira knightly and the trials she goes through with her on and off again relationship with the handsome Mr. Darcy played by the equally handsome Matthew Macfadyen. sorry can't spell the guy's last name. I thought Rosamind Pike as Jane Bennett did a cute performance especially with Simon Woods as Mr. Bingly. At first when I first saw Mr. Wickham I was like...isn't that Orlando Bloom? Rupert Friend was good too. Check this version out if you like Keira Knightly and or if you're into the romantic drama type movies. You decide. This is one of my favorite movies....with Keira in it. So remember there can be good movies too despite whether or not you hate the actor or actress, don't let that stop you from enjoying what could be an enjoyable movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well Done Adaptation

    This film is a charming adaptation of Austen's novel, but the unwary (especially those who haven't had the immeasurable pleasure of reading the original) need to understand that it's just that: an adaptation. In the time available for a feature film it's impossible to be true to a novel so rich in characters and situations. The result is that much of the book is inevitably missing or drastically "condensed." The ending in the U.S. version is also not true to the original. In spite of this, people who aren't died-in-the-wool Austenites will love this film. It successfully captures the essential nature and spirit of the novel, and the performances are excellent. My main quibble is that the film makes the Bennet family seem more down-at-the- heels than they really are in the novel. The Bennets, as described by Jane Austen, weren't at the top of the economic ladder, but they were comfortably well off. The family's income was adequate for their lifestyle. The Bennets kept several servants, including a cook, and Mrs. Bennet took great pride in the table she kept, in contrast to the titled Lucases, whose daughters, we are given to understand, did the cooking in that family. Donald Sutherland's performance is very enjoyable, but in the novel one never senses that Mr. Bennett was lax in his grooming, constantly appearing unshaven and unkempt. For all of these reasons I still prefer the TV mini-series version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. It's more faithful to the book, and comes closer, I think, to capturing the lifestyles of the characters. Of course, as another reviewer has pointed out, it takes more than 5 hours to watch, but it's time very pleasurably spent and enhanced by a delightful musical sound track! Less patient viewers will still be well rewarded with this feature film adaptation of perhaps the best-loved of all English novels, and it's an excellent introduction to the endless pleasures to be found in Jane Austen's books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Surprising

    I hesitated in buying this version of Pride and Prejudice and I'm sorry I had acted sooner. Keira Knightley gives a performance far beyond her years of acting and Matthew Macfayden's Mr. Darcy is the perfect foil to her Elizabeth Bennet. I found the performance of Brenda Bleythen a bit too much, however, and enormously distracting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pride and Prejudice the Movie

    I really enjoyed this movie and it was a great gift to my neighbor who is obsessed with the book, therefore she really enjoyed it too. It can be enjoyed by the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I would highly recommend reading this book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Abridged but Good

    The more recent retelling of Austen's classical novel of caste vs. love is well done. Knightly and her counterparts portral the Bennett family to a T and have the viewer cheering for Elizabeth while hoping many of her siblings get what is coming to them. The portrayal of Darcy is one of my favorites as his stoic nature is present, but there is a bit of the emotion that some other portrayals lack. While the film is very abridged and there is a longing for a telling of the entire story with not so much left out, it is still a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth Seeing

    Once I got beyond Donald Sutherland as Mr. Bennett and the condition of the Bennet househould, I was ok. After reading the book and seeing countless adaptations of Pride & Prejudice movies, I was taken aback when I first saw this version. I had a hard time believing Donald Sutherland in the role of Mr. Bennett. It seemed really fake to me. I like Keira Knightly and thought she did a good job portraying Elizabeth. I also thought this version was much more romantic than previous versions, which appeals to a wider audience. The length of this movie was adequate to draw in new Jane Austen fans. I have the BBC 6 hour version and have no problem watching the entire movie when I have time to do so. But as I introduce my teenage nieces to the wonders of Jane's work, they would never sit still long enough to fully appreciate the 6 hour version. I think this version also appeals to more men because of the extra emphasis added to the love story between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy. In summary, I don't think this is the best version of Pride & Prejudice, but I was entertained and it forced me to dust off my book and reread the story (for the hundreth time)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't Explain the Obsession

    I have just experienced this movie for the first time last week and I must say that I can't explain my obsession. I have watched it for even the smallest fine details that I didn't seem to catch the previous viewing. I skip ahead to my favorite parts, then go back and enjoy the art direction. I have now watched it every night for a week and I have become so wild about the feature that I even invited my husband to watch it with me so that I could watch it again (and now he keeps bringing the movie up -- I think he secretly wants to watch it again). I found the actors performances to be simply wonderful. I only had wished the movie could have been a bit longer. I really wanted to see more scenes with Mr. Darcy (sigh). Mmmmm! I really loved this version. So now I have ordered the Colin Firth version because it seems almost all the reviews have raved for that one (plus, I loved him in B. Jones' Diary and that was of course a modern P & P tale). My love for P & P and Jane Austen's writing has been reignited once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good!

    I liked this movie. Yes, the Pride and Prejudice mini-series starring Colin Firth as Darcy is better but this movie with Kiera Knightley is good and my only complaints are that she giggled too much and at times the dialogue was rushed but with that said it is an enjoyable movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, Despite The Crazy Amount Of Giggling!

    Okay, I'm also a huge fan of the 1995 BBC/A&E version that stars Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle and I'm also a big fan of the earlier 1979 BBC version that stars David Rintoul and Elizabeth Garvie and while I prefer those adaptations I also liked this new version starring Kiera Knightley and Matthew McFadyen and thought that for the most part they did some good acting though there were a couple of scenes in which both Keira and Matthew sped up their lines and it was hard to understand what they said but thankfully it only happened in two scenes and not throughout the whole movie. Another minor complaint I have is with all of Lizzie's annoying giggling. I didn't mind the scene where Lizzie and her sister Jane were having a conversation in their bedroom and giggled but I found it inappropriate in other scenes, especially that rather weird sound that came of of her throat when she looked out of the coach and saw Pemberley. I know it was pobably meant to be a nervous giggle but it sounded horrible. It sounded like a cat coughing up a hairball. I can see Lizzie's other sisters Lydia and Kitty giggling as they were twits, complete airheads, but Lizzie is way to intelligent and sophisticated to be constantly getting the giggles so I can understand why a lot of viewers were put off by that but even though I also disliked that I still enjoyed the movie for the beautiful scenery and mostly good plot and dialogue but I have to drop a point off for the annoying giggling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was sceptical at first...

    I am a huge fan of the 4+ hour version of this movie starring Colin Firth and figured I'd really dislike this version... Much to my surprise I loved it! Granted, it's significantly shorter than the other which means you don't get the depth of storyline but they were still able to touch on the most important aspects of the story... I'm not a huge fan of Kiera Knightly but she did a good job in this film... and the male lead... Oooo la la! I was prepared to dislike him (I love Colin) and in fact, at first I was really unimpressed... But by the middle of the film, I was totally involved in him and have now developed a crush!! :) If you are looking for a romantic, period film that leaves you feeling happy and content, check this one out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride and Prejudice

    This is indeed a wonderful movie. You can watch it even if you haven't read the book. To make a long summary short its the trials and tribulations of Elizbaeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy as its not love at first sight but when its truly fate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See!!!!

    I had a hard time understanding the English, 16th Century language, but the love between Darcy and Elizabeth is universal. And Matthew Macfadyen's eyes were captivating. I watched it serval times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride and Prejudice Fan

    While it's not as in depth as the 1995 A&E adaptation to the book, this year's Pride and Prejudice still has it's charms. Keira Knightley was definetly the right choice as Elizabeth Bennet. Matthew MacFayden was a great choice as the quiet and a bit snobbish Darcy. They have a natural chemistry on screen. The events in the movie move a bit too fast and some events were not even explained, but I bought the movie solely for the chemistry of Keira and Matthew. I wish Jane had better luck with her love. This Bingley was not as likeable as the A&E Bingley. Mr. Collins was a bit more likeable in this adaptation and his patroness Lady Catherine played by Judy Dench was as imperious as ever. Still, the whole movie boiled down to Elizabeth and Darcy. Darcy's proposal, while rude and condescending still had passion in it to the point where I still felt sorry for him when he was rejected. All in all it was still a very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jane Austen fan

    As a huge fan of all of Jane Austens books, but in particular Pride and Prejudice and Emma, I was very impressed with the new Pride and Prejudice. Yes, it isn't the exact text, but for some movies I think that is a plus. I have a hard time watching the Pride and Prejudice starring Colin Firth...its too long. This is the perfect length, they included the big events, kept in line with Jane Austen's sense of humor, and had great actors. I just wish they had showed a wedding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3