Customer Reviews for

Pride & Prejudice

Average Rating 4.5
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

What a movie. What a story. What characters. What gifted actors. What wonderful directing. What beautiful muisic. No need to say more except I have seen this movie about 40 times since I rented it when it first came out on DVD when I was in my late 50's. Loved everythin...
What a movie. What a story. What characters. What gifted actors. What wonderful directing. What beautiful muisic. No need to say more except I have seen this movie about 40 times since I rented it when it first came out on DVD when I was in my late 50's. Loved everything about P & P even the extras on the DVD disk. My #1 favorite movie.

posted by bs99 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

movie is as awful as the book is great

My friend turned to me and said, "I think Jane Austen has climbed out of her grave and is heading toward this movie theater." Watch the Colin Firth BBC tv series instead. Now THAT one is worth seeing.

posted by baseballmommy on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

    What a movie. What a story. What characters. What gifted actors. What wonderful directing. What beautiful muisic. No need to say more except I have seen this movie about 40 times since I rented it when it first came out on DVD when I was in my late 50's. Loved everything about P & P even the extras on the DVD disk. My #1 favorite movie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply THE most romantic movie made, EVAR

    I went to this film alone (no one to heckle me for getting sucked into the romance) and in the mood for escapism, at 7PM. I went back and saw the 10PM show the same day. Ultimately I saw it four times in the theater.

    Either you like this genre, or you don't; you love Jane Austen, or you don't. I do. And I don't hold the good people who put her stories up on the big screen to any particular standard. I really like the Greer Garson version, I like the BBC series. This movie is something else. It's not quite a reinterpretation, but it does add another dimension to the story. That isn't a problem for me -- it's a different medium; I didn't go to the movie to have someone read the book for me. The characters in this movie do not all have perfect hair, are not perfectly beautiful, look like they occasionally get B.O. But you like them. Alot.

    The film resonated with me for days and days; I bought the soundtrack, I re-read the book again (not for the first time).

    Don't be put off by Matthew McFaydden's sterness in the beginning; it's deliberate and by the end of the film I believe that you will agree he was absolutely perfect in the role. It must be hard play that character for people who in large part already know how the story turns out. But he convinced me to hate him like Elizabeth does at the beginning, and to love him like she did at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride & Prejudice

    Excellent rendition of Austin's book. The music alone is spectacular. Knightley and MacFadyen have amazing chemistry. This movie has moved to the top of my all time favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Darcy Grows on You

    The first time I saw this movie, I really didn't like Matthew MacFadyen as Mr. Darcy. Visions of Colin Firth danced in my head. But after another read of the book, and seeing this movie a couple more times, MacFadyen's performance actually surpasses Firth's in my opinion. He is actually sexier than Firth, a kind of smoldering passion can be seen in his eyes. Reading the book again, clearly it isn't so much that Elizabeth gets to know the "real" Mr. Darcy, as it is that Darcy himself changes. We really see that change when Elizabeth encounters him at Pemberly. MacFayden shows more vulnerability and deeper passion than Firth did. And Keira Knightley can express so much of what is going on in Elizabeth's mind with the slightest turn of her mouth, or a glance. Yes, the pacing is faster than the 6-hour A&E production, but I didn't find it lacking depth. Plus the cinematography, costumes, and staging make for a more beautiful viewing. Give it a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Is pride and prejudice as good as the book?

    It is very seldom that i say a movie is as good as the book but this one surprisingly is. The acting is FANTASTIC! It's my all time favorite movie!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    bought movie and read book from library

    This has become one of my most favorite movies. The actors portraying Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy are phenomenal. I so love the ending of the movie much better than the book, which is a switch. Usually the book is so much better but in this case for me that was not true. This adaptation is Academy Award worthy. It is so emotional and moving. If you need a good cry just watch Darcy's first proposal. To die for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic storyline, unforgettable performances, Kiera Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen are perfect as Elizabeth and Darcy. A humorously romantic classic with gorgeous backdrops and perfect cast of characters that brings this classic to a new generation

    Love the story, loved this version Keira and Matthew are perfect as the lead performers and the whole cast is perfect in protraying this classic by Jane Austen with a new updated version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    my favorite romance movie ever

    my favorite romance movie ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride and Prejudice is a must see for any Jane Austin fan

    I fell in love with this movie after I watched it. The actors are wonderful in their roles and the storyline will grab you and not let go until the end. I have watched this movie so much that I know almost every line. This movie is a true classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love, love, love this movie.

    I had seen this movie before I purchased it. It's a movie you must own because the story is a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Pride & Prejudice

    The whole family like this movie. I have read the book and this keeps more to the book,than other movies I have seen.We have watched it three times this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Jane Austen is brilliant!

    I fell in love with the book first. I was really pleasantly surprised how like the book the movie was. I despise movies that stray too far from the book. This P&P is phenomenal, and so true to Austen's vision. Now, that being said, Keira Knightley is a great actress as we all know. Matthew MacFadyen, too, is a wonderful actor as well as so very easy on the eyes. =) I think the casting was brilliant. A must see for Austenites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!!!

    The movie is wonderful! I love the book and the movie! Jane Austen was a great author and the movie adaptation of her book is a piece of art i love Keira's performance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What was so different?

    Cannot compare the both version 1995 and the 2005. Read Jane Austen book the 1995 played to her book but the 2005 was and updated version of love and surprises in love. I love the actor Mr Colin Firth as an esteem actor (example movie he was in What a Girl Wants and others) but the book and its pictures played more to the 1995 Pride and Prejudice. The 2005 played more to the rugged Mr Darcy aka Matthew Macfadyen and showed he was more sensivity in trying to avoid love and his unknown passion for Lizzy. True in the book and pictures of the 1995 version things were stuffy and Elizabeth was to be not handsome like her sister Jane Bennett but (Keira Knightly) played her well. The Director and Writers should have emphised more on detail in the relationship but it was 2 different versions and 10 years. If you could get the old book I am reading and have enjoyed by Ms Jane Austen you will under stand what I am trying to project. The Book contains 12 colored illustrations by C.E. and H.M. Brocks The Rittenhouse Classics Philadelphia. Macrae Smith Company Publishers and it is the 13th printing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I love this movie so much. I 've watch it sooo many times on my

    I love this movie so much. I 've watch it sooo many times on my I-Pad. I love Matthew Macfadyen's Mr. Darcy. He just smolders in the role. I've seen the BBC version many, many times and love it, but lawls, MM walking out of the mist toward Elizabeth, along with the sound track, makes me cry at the beauty of that scene. My second favorite character was Tom Hollander's Mr. Collins. Hollander played the role perfectly. I laugh my head off every time Mr. Collins is in a scene. Excellent movie, great acting by all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Love Story Ever.

    From the very first time, to the countless many times I've watched this movie, I find myself in utter amazement. I continue to fall in love with each... Mr. Darcy and Miss Lizzy even more, if that's possible. Under the circumstances in which they meet, to the discernment of falling in love with one another. The love possessed and shown in this wonderfully written movie/novel takes my breath away, as I always watch with anticipation to the beautiful ending. I feel good about myself and about true love in life. If I could watch Pride & Prejudice once a day, for the rest of my life, I would still feel the love between these two characters daily. Wanting nothing more than for them to be together, as they are, sharing their lives, happily ever after. I cannot help but cry, for the love I feel is projected, is a real love, that was meant to be. This is absolutely the best movie/novel I've ever read or had the pleasure to watch on DVD. Thanks to Jane Austen's brilliance, I will always hold this movie/novel precious to my heart. Unconditionial love is not something in life most never get to experience, ever. It's rare and comes around too little for all. This movie and novel is a pure Masterpiece. Genius work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Mother and Daughter Bonding Recommendation.

    My Mom was pretty fond of pride & and prejudice, she ended up buying it, because she got tired of waiting for it to come n t.v. I Ended up liking the movie as well. After we watched the movie a couple of times, we bought "The Duchess"* because it had keira knightly in it, My Mom is a reader but i am a devoted one,.....for any family who loves literatary movies.


    *movie in which keira knightly appeared in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Pride & Prejudice

    A great film! Performances,Visuals, Plot, The Script,

    Plus the won't beat the price anywhere!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Pride and Prejudice makes you feel like true romance is not dead nor gone. That there is truly hope in finding your true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Movie for True Romantics

    Hands down, this is my favorite movie of all time. Not only, do I love the cast, but I love the costume pageantry, the location, the sets, the script and the music. Keira Knightley, does a fantastic job as Elizabeth Bennett as well as Matthew MacFadyen's Mr. Darcy. He is every bit of the tall, dark, dreamy character. This movie will make you laugh, cry and tug at your heartstrings as the story unfolds into something that you will all want to go back and watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15