Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prejudice

Average Rating 5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(275)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A True Classic

    This version of PRIDE & PREJUDICE is exactly like the book. Even down to certain conversations between characters. Colin Firth puts in a wonderful performance as Mr. Darcy and Jennifer Ehle plays Elizabeth Bennet splendidly.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie adaptation ever of one of my all time favorite books

    I watched this series when it originally was shown on A&E and have watched the DVD numerous times since. My recent purchase was a gift.

    Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors. I've read all of her books multiple times and have seen every movie adaptation of her books. In my opinion, this is the absolute best primarily due to the casting and the screenplay.

    I've seen very few of the cast in other movies. However, even though they are not as well known as the cast in the most recent version of P&P, they are almost all superior in their roles. When I reread the book now, the voices I hear in my head for Mr. Collins, Mrs. Bennett, and many of the other characters are those from this movie. And I can't even begin to describe how perfect Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehrle are. Most of Darcy's feelings and attitudes have to be conveyed via facial expressions and body language rather than with dialogue, and Firth is superlative at doing so. Keira Knightly may look more like she's 20 than Ehrle does, but Ehrle's portrayal does a far better job of capturing Elizabeth's character and spirit.

    The two problems I have with most adaptations is that they cut out significant portions of the book in order to fit within the time limits of a movie and/or they make unnecessary changes that cause the movie to be very different than than the original book. Since this was a miniseries, the time restriction wasn't an issue. While not word for word the same, this is a faithful adaptation of the spirit of the book. The changes that were made seem to be those that were necessary to best tell the story cinematically.

    I'd give this DVD 10 stars if I could.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Mine IS Closed Captioned!

    This is truly exquisite and I watch it over and over. Jennifer Ehle is my favorite Elizabeth Bennett and Colin Firth truly was born to this role. David Bamber brilliantly makes my skin crawl, as he did as Marcus Tullius Cicero. I watch it sometimes just to hear the Mozart scene in the Pemberton music room. The direction, screenplay, and cinematography are beautiful. A&E DVDs, however, are maddeningly poor quality, which is such an insult to the art direction and cinematography of their productions). Tortuously, to me, you can't always know if you'll get captions or not. Some are not labeled anywhere as CC or subtitled but, somwhow, there ARE closed captions. This happened to me with several other DVDs. The wretched down side is, of course, when you take a chance on an unlabeled DVD and there ARE NO captions. Aiyee, it has happened several times - most maddeningly with "Reilly, Ace of Spies." As a deaf film aficianado, I must have captions or English subtitles and I am so grateful they were mysteriously THERE in this most outstanding Austen production.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    I am a 49 yr old woman who grew up listening to Led Zeppelin and

    I am a 49 yr old woman who grew up listening to Led Zeppelin and drag racing in my brothers 1969 Dodge Charger Hemi. I am a mother of four grown children and I never heard of Jane Austin untill my 17 yr old daughter introduced me to her excellent works. I saw the BBC Movie and instantly fell in love with Darcy (Colin Firth) and Elizabeth (Jennifer Ehle). I have the the two DVD collection and I've about worn it out! Sometimes if I have alot going on like paying bills I will put the movie on in the background, it's like comfort food.Years later and I still can't get enough of it, it's Amazing If you have not seen this movie you are in for a wild ride. I only watch the A&E version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. not the cheesy Kiera Nightly version. Donna Romatowski

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beware the DVD version

    My second attempt to get a quality DVD version of Jennifer Ehle & Colin Firth¿s portrayal of Lizzy and Darcy, has failed. My first attempt was almost a year ago when the latest release came out in August. It¿s disappointing to report that the DVD version of ¿Pride and Prejudice¿ ,the Special Edition (ISBN 0-7670-3826-6) distributed by NEWVIDEO for B.B.C. and A&E (cat.# AAE-70254) suffers from remarkably poor quality control. It¿s contrast is too severe. Details of ruffles and folds of costumes are lost to the viewer. Hair style details are likewise lost or disappear in the darkness of shrubbery backgrounds and foliage. Actors all appear pale unto death, and buildings exposed to too much ultraviolet rays. Patterns in dresses, waistcoat, or draperies are 90% lost. Colours are devoid of hue as found in the VHS tapes. I spot checked several Chapters on the DVD and was demoralized. I then ran the DVD and the VHS versions simultaneously on split screen. The DVD version is drab/¿washed-out¿ by comparison. There are times when the images are not in focus. And the VHS version is, even at it¿s worst - where there is signal deteriation, still more vivid than the DVD version. Sadly too, I know that the VHS version will continue to deteriorate, and fear that future copies of video will be made from the current flawed DVDs. Tell anyone that you can and have them complain to A & E, B.B.C and New Video (they all have websites) that the current DVDs are of shameful quality.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This was a great movie it followed the book perfictly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Pride and Prejudice Adaptation!!

    I've seen all the P&P movies except the black and white one that had the wrong costumes and stuff. Out of the 3 I've seen, this is definately the best. Jennifer Ehle does a fantastic interpretation of Elizabeth Bennet, and Colin Firth will be forever applauded for making the PERFECT Mr. Darcy. While I don't mind the Focus Features version of P&P with Keira Knightley, it didn't seem to quite catch the spirit of the novel. This one is long - about 5 hours - but it's definately worth it. It's one you can watch over and over again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding Movie

    I first saw this movie on A&E and I just had to have it. Pride and Prejudice is my all time favorite fiction move. I first bought it on VHS and then when DVD came out I bought that also. I have let several people watch the picture. In my opinion the stars who played the main characters of Darcy and Elizabeth couldn't be beat. Colin Firth is Mr. Darcy as Jennifer Ehle is Elizabeth. I have watched the movie several times and read the book even more. I also especially enjoyed the lady who played the mother of Elizabeth. In my opinion she also could not be beat. I even felt embarrassed for her. I think this is the mark of a really good actor/actress when they can get the audience involved in a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Movie - Poor DVD

    This is by far the best adaptation of any Jane Austen novel. Colin Firth became a much sought after leading man (for good reason) following this movie and Jennifer Ehle brings Elizabeth Bennett to life. All of the supporting characters are brilliantly played, particularly Lizzy's parents and sisters. Mr. Collins is every bit as toadish as he appears in the book and I honestly thought that Lady Catherine de Bourgh had come to life out of a painting - she is quite intimidating! Unfortunatly, the VHS copy is far superior to this poor copy on DVD. I couldn't figure out why it didn't hold up to what I remember viewing on television until I played the two side-by-side. Considering how much care was put into making the P&P production, it is amazing the DVD is so washed out and colorless. They only reason to buy this edition rather than tapes is if you do not have a VCR.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    Everytime I read a book I never want to see the movie because it always seems to ruin the book. I can tell you that this isn't the case with Pride and Prejudice. The movie is quite long but you get so involved in it that it's over way too soon. The movie is exactly like the book...for those of you that liked Jane Austin's Pride and Prejudice, you will love the movie. And to all of you who couldn't get into the book or didn't understand it I doubly reccomend seeing the movie and then rereading the book. It will truely come alive for you. This is my ultimate all-time favorite movie. If I had to recommend a movie to buy, this would be it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I accidently discovered an answer to the (justified) criticism o

    I accidently discovered an answer to the (justified) criticism of the dvd quality. Due to the fact this is my favorite dvd in my collection, when I got a Blu-ray player for Christmas, it was the first thing I popped in. The my amazement and delight there was suddenly color, texture, pattern and the washed out appearance is no longer a problem. Try this solution and see if you agree. However I am still getting the Blu-ray version!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not as good as the book.

    Not as good as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    I love this version of Pride & Prejudice and I have watched

    I love this version of Pride & Prejudice and I have watched it many times. The selection of the cast was excellent from Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle to all the supporting cast. The scenery and the music was very well done and made the movie even more enjoyable. If you are going to purchase Pride & Prejudice on DVD this the one to buy. There are several other versions made over the years but this movie made in 1995 is by far the best. I hope you love it as much as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This was the best film adaptation of the novel. Colin Firth was

    This was the best film adaptation of the novel. Colin Firth was the perfect Darcey & Jennifer Ehle was wonderful as were most of the other characters. I also enjoyed the Greer Garson version eventhough she was too old to play Elizabeth & they lightened the mood of most of the characters. I liked the movie made a few years ago but the actor playing Darcey couldn't hold a candle to the Firth performance. I recently reread the original novel and I now mentally visualize the characters using the characters from this BBC adaptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    I've own three versions of this movie and this is definetly the

    I've own three versions of this movie and this is definetly the best. My only reservations (and a 4 rather than 5 rating) are due to editing and a few casting choices. I think the film would have been better without some unnecessary scenes (eg landscape). The actress who played Jane is not the beauty decribed in the book, and the actor playing Wickham was not very appealing. I couldn't believe Elizabeth liking him. Other than that, it is a movie I have watched and enjoyed many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Film To Add To A Stellar Collection.

    A while ago,We purchased this Lovely adaptation from Miss.Jane Austen's Immense Tomes.Viewed Earliest version on PBS. Was a veritable, fall over Laugh of a Drama/Comedic Moments Treat.This is a Solemn,Thoughtfull Variation. There really Is the Question that Begs,Whom is Full of Pride? Whom is Prejudice? Truly left to the Viewer.I have my own thoughts,However not to Be Missed to Keep!We paid so much more than this Delicious Offer.Miss.Bennett and Mr.Darcy are as Star Crossed as can be. Performances are all Fabulous.Loathing those that One will eventually.Adore the Moments when a tear trickles down the cheek,for a quick grab for tissues.The Best of British filming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Quietly falling in love

    I've seen many adaptations of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice pur to film, and this is by far the best version ever created.
    Colin Firth is perfect as the respectably awkward and quietly upstanding citizen Mr. Darcy.
    Jennifer Ehle plays Ms. Bennet with a fiery passion in her eyes and an adventurousness in spirit.
    Hollywood may have done their own version, but this is the version you'll want to curl up on the couch and watch again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    This is the best movie adaption of a book I've ever seen. The plot is very true to the book. The characters are portrayed brilliantly and the set and costume design are wonderful. I recently watched the Keira Knightly version. I would have liked it, but it paled in comparison. So, if you watched that version and liked it, be prepared to love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    This is the best version.

    I have seen all the versions of this. I keep going back to this one. It is by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride and Prejudice

    This film is wonderful. It is one of my all time favorites and there are many scenes I know by heart. The acting, music, costumes, and the sets make it a joy to watch. Pride and Prejudice is a timeless novel and the film does not miss a detail. Even if one knows the ending, it is still compelling to watch and one cannot wait to see what happens next. This is truly a love story that everyone should watch again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16