BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Princess Mononoke

Average Rating 5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Miyazaki's Greatest

    In the running for the title of Miyazaki's greatest film are Spirited Away and the slightly lesser known Princess Mononoke. Though, odds are that if you've heard of one, you've heard of the other. Although Princess Mononoke is less subtle and maybe less nuanced, there's a definite larger emphasis on character development and interplay that make it just as interesting of a film, but for different reasons. There's no reason to choose one over the other; both are necessary watching for anime fans or newcomers. Oh, and the soundtrack is incredible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Mononoke

    This is the first Miyazaki movie I ever saw. I remember thinking it was the coolest thing ever. I especially remember the decapitation scene at the beginning of the movie changing my expectations for the film. This is a great story about the balance between man and nature. The animation is amazing and intense. A must have for Miyazaki fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful movie

    I can watch it over an over again. Different from american animation in the aspect of a slightly darker plot and ending. I have only ever watched this movie in Japanese to practice so I don't know what the English version is like, but I love the Japanese one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Anime

    Family entertaining. Excellent Movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Princess Mononoke Cast: Yoji Matsuda, Yuriko Ishida, Yuko Tanaka, Kaori Kobayashi, Masahiko Nishimura (DVD) Release Date: 12/19/2000 MPAA Rating: PG13 Sales Rank: #4651

    This movie had great meaning behind, which makes this movie so enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Mononoke

    I have watched this movie again and again, and it never ceases to amaze me. Many a many times it has awed me into silence. By the end, it seems you were not watching a movie but living it instead from the eyes of a bystander, no different from the characters. It is, without a doubt, animated heaven. With realistic imagery, that is so detailed it is near the impossible that this is fake. That all this came together by a brilliant crew and a unique idea. It was a vision, a vision that was made real. A vision that has inspired many and enchanted the rest. With a sensational plot and out-of-this-world graphics, Princess Mononoke is total bliss, from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Princess Mononoke

    This is one of my favorite animes next to Inuyasha and Full Metal Alchemist. This is the story about a man who is cursed by a demon and sets out to rid the curse before it consumes him. Along way the way he meets the legendary title character and other faces along the way thus in the middle of a long hard conflict between the princess of the forest and the villagers below.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece of a Master

    One word: stunning. This movie is so many different kinds of amazing. The storyline is amazing, the characters are amazing, the drawing is amazing, the animation is amazing, the...need I go on? Basically, this is hands-down one of the best movies I have ever seen. I was blown away. BUY THIS. Trust me, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Princess Mononoke

    Great Great Great Movie. I've watched it about 20 times and it never gets old. A must have! =]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BEST ANIME Moive EVER!!

    I love this moive! great family moive. SO 5 star rating! I am So buying it!! an I only buy moives that I realy love. for example I only own like 5 moives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful world of a great master.

    Masterpiece. Nothing to add.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All around good movie

    This movie is a beautiful work of art. The story is a techo. vs nature story that will really have you thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another great Miyazaki work

    One of Miyazaki's best known works, Princess Mononoke fits solidly in the groove of his themes of environmental awareness, and the devastation caused by industrial greed. Like almost all of his films, it has a strong female protagonist--something we could all do to see a bit more of these days. While not my personal favorite in the Studio Ghibli ouvre, it has plenty of excitement and creativity. It's certainly worth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A powerful,beautiful and tear-jerking film

    Ive been a Miyazaki fan, since I was alittle child. This one, I saw when I was 11 I cried my eyes it so beautiful, the music breath-taking.Joe Hisaishi is a wonderful , Haoyo Miyazaki is a Genuis!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful 3

    Simply Amazing i loved everything about it 3 some parts i was like ehhhh and it had me on the edge of my seat lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I think it's the best movie ever. My most FAVORITE!

    I loved everything about this movie. Most people would think a movie with the name princess in it. It would be girly. It's far from it. I'd say a perfect movie for boy and girls. I'm a boy and Ilove it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest anime from Miyazaki

    Princess Monoonoke is the greatest anime movie i ever seen it better than Ghost in the shell, Akira, and Blood. This is Miyazaki's more mature movie that he made, and it is visually stunning if you like hardcore anime I think you would enjoy Princess Mononoke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The animation was enchanting beyond imagination!!! The most original!!! So in love!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievable

    I have watched it at least666 times! It is the best movie ever made!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beauty in essence

    This work is beautiful! A fairytale of proportions... It's capturing, original, fantastic and it worderfully describes human nature in a yin/yan story that does not choose sides, as in all aspects of life, there's always two sides to a story... It is a joy, I've wathed it about 50 times... Instant classic!! I could go on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9