BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Princess Mononoke

Average Rating 5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the coolest movie ever!

    It combines all the elements of anime with the adventure of fantasy, and results in a movie that will guarantee that you will pretend to be fighting demons for at least the next 24 hours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best anime of all time

    this movie is by far the bets of all time. it is an epic adventure and will leve you wanting a sequal (witch i guss they never got around to) and th9is is the mivie that turned me to anime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this movie! ^-^

    Three words... Best. Movie. Ever. The animation is beautiful and the characters are so real that you wind up forgetting that you're watching animation. Miyazaki does a spectaculer job with the details and story line, but the people who did the voices also did a wonderful job. All in all, i give this movie five stars, and i hope you do to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was amazing!

    I thought that this movie was VERY well done. It had wonderful animation, even for Hayao Miyazaki. I thought that the storyline and the characters were amazing. This movie is worth every penny of your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Enough To Be Worth Being Bought For DVD.

    Quite the film that has clashing sides and the fast plotline, that combines our perceptions of magic and science as we have known it. Princess Mononoke is an incredibly strong animation it has fast frames per second (because you can frequently see grass blow in the wind, shirts ripple, and characters blink -all without breaks) subtly placed 3-d rendering, and other little things that make it very pleasurable to watch. If you're looking to buy a movie, but despise most brands of anime, just know that Princess Mononoke has a better plot than most fantasy flicks we have these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Miazaki Masterpiece!

    This movie is so beautful, but what can I say? It is, after all, a Miazaki film. This movie not only tells an epic story about a prince looking to rid himself of a curse, but it is also a metaphor for humanity's effect on the environment. This movie will delight, haunt, and touch the hearts of those who watch it. I should know, I myself was stunned to silence at many parts of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding!

    Oh, this movie is awesome! I love animals and nature so I could really relate to the storyline. I really love the main character, sometimes I feel like he's my twin when I watch this movie (even though I'm a girl!). This movie is about the prince, who gets a deadly curse. He leaves his village to "see the world with eyes unclouded by hate" and meets a wolf princess, who really wants him to leave. But he still wants to help her save the forest anyway. I love the voices in both the Japanese and English. The art is spectacular and the story is excellent. I hope you'll give this movie a chance, it's so good! By the way, the girl who sings the song in the credits is Sasha Lazard. Her CD is really cool, that song's on it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spell Binding

    This has to be one of the greatest works in animation. I enjoy animation both as an art form and the technical aspects of how it is made. Princess Mononoke is exquisite in on both levels. Others here have commented on the story I will look at the technical side of the work. There are many things you look for in animation to ascertain it's quality. The first thing you look for is the edges of the animated characters. What you are looking for is how steady the lines are this shows two things the number of cells used to animate these objects and the attention paid to make sure all of the line are in the same place when the individual cells are photographed. Princess Monononke has no such movement everything is very smooth and natural. The individual cells are in themselves are works of art. The deals of the blooming plants, The Red elk, the dappled lighting in the forest, etc. All of this and much, much more show the commitment the animators in this movie had to not only fashion a moving story, but at the same time create a work of high art. Folks it just doesn't get any better then this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning

    When I first saw this movie I had no idea of what to expect - a film presented in a foreign method with a foreign culture. But by the end of it I was so enthralled and absorbed, any grudges I might have held had disappeared completely. The picture itself is absolutely breathtaking and the music was epic. The characters are all highly multifaceted, and there is such an incredible attention to detail that there is something new each time you watch it. While there are some gory scenes of battle, this movie is otherwise meant for anyone who loves stories equally balanced with mythical fairytale and universal realism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Princess Mononoke

    This has to be the best anime movie out there. It has excellent color, story including characters of course. The story is interesting and smart. This movie si entertaining and I LOVED it very much and would never get tired of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love this movie!!! One of Miyazaki's best!!

    This movie is so awesome! The English voice acting is decent but still pretty good. The art and animation is outstanding! This movie also teaches you to love your environment and be in tune with nature. It has some bloody scenes though so keep this away from young children. If you get the DVD, you might be dissapointed from the fact that there isn't any really good special features on it. But this is NOT to be missed by any person on this PLANET!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Princess Mononoke

    Princess Mononoke is one of my favorite animes out there. i wish that the would do a 2nd so you could see what will happen in the main characters future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Anime's Best

    I simply loved it. Romance, Action, Drama, everything you want. You will love it too. It will never be forgoten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    I simply loved this anime because it had a meaning to it. That meaning was that we need to be more ecologicaly minded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie

    Read the heading! Its great. this movie isnt just stunningly animated, Its got a moral- thingy. actually 2. 1 is-help the enviornment, 2 is -well its what the movies about. its about life. another thing I liked was that no one was a bad/good guy. everybody was the good guy on their own side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended For All

    Princess Mononoke is an excellent anime movie to watch as a family, for it not only unfolds deep symbolism that the mature audiance will understand but it also proffers excellent, fluid graphics for the younger auidance to get rapt in. I have watched the dvd on numerous occassions, sometimes while i was trying to complete my homework, and to say the least, it is a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning Anime.......Like You've Never Seen Before!

    Princess Mononoke was a truly excellent product of Studio Ghibli. As an anime lover, you probably think, oh, yeah, same old stuff, but really! This is a great film. The only thing you might not particularly care for is the violence (it gets pretty bad) and the ending, which was sort of depressing to me. The music was fabulous, and, as all we anime lovers should say (but don't quite yet), 'Anime totally rocks, man!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Creativity at its height

    What can I say about Princess Mononok* that many others haven¿t realized? Probably nothing, but for those who have never heard of this movie please consider how amazing this movie is. Princess Mononoke is set in a land of mythical creatures, gods,and other fantasy creatures. Ashi, the protagonist of this movie is cursed by a mean god after coming into contact with him. Ashi is then kicked out of his village to never return. He sets out on an adventure of a life time to find a cure to his curse. He comes into contact with many different characters a fort full of men and women mining for coal, a mischievous monk, small tree spirits, a pack of wolves who cared and for a human girl named San, and the holy spirit himself. This movie will take you through an emotional roller coaster, some parts will make you laugh and others will make you want to cry. One thing this movie won¿t do, though, is make you want to turn it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic Next To Spirited Away!

    Oh yes, this movie will get you. A movie not to forget nor to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Ever

    Princcess Mononoke is probably my favorite Miyazaki movie.It is full of everything a good anime should have.There is violence(well how else are you supposed to protect somthing),gods and demons(how cool),and great animation(what do you expect from a Miyazaki movie).Princess Mononoke is a movie you will watch again and again.It's a very good movie for all ages to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9