Customer Reviews for

Princess Mononoke

Average Rating 5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is what you want to see

    Princess Mononoke is actually a simple story (good vs evil and story of greed) but enjoyable. The heroic actions, the love story, the superiority; they are all so realistic. I love this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Cult fave among My friends and me

    Wow...that word sums up the movie pretty good. The story was great, the action was beutifully animated (and pretty violent!), and the charachters were some of the most well-drawn ones I've seen in an animated movie. My father hates it (I quote ''I haven't seen a Miyazaki film I've liked yet...'') but he's only seen the violent parts, and he has a pretty weak stomach. Many of my friends who have seen it loved it (one even said he wished the events really happened and he was there to see them) and I still don't own it (I feel so ashamed!) Buy it, you'll love it. I know I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best anime movie in the world!

    I really liked this movie a lot. I had never seen a movie as good as this one and I would watch it again and again. San was the coolest person in the whole movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best

    The sensual feeling this epic gives you is only found in a handful of such works. The quality of the animation is first rate. the setting is beautiful, and historically accurate. The violence is in context. Be sure to look at the tiny details which at first you might not notice, but is perceived at an unconscious level. This work is a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i love this movie, but i have a few complaints...

    i absolutely love princess mononoke and if you do not watch and love this movie, then you must be crazy. but isn't it a little stupid to buy a dvd of this, and it doesn't even have the japanese track? it has the french version (j'aime le francais, mais...) but not the japanese version. am i the only one to find this strange? especially since the japanese version is different than the disney english version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME ANIME!

    my friend got me hooked on Anime and this is definatley a good movie if you like movies where a female is the main character and they are kinda wierd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you love anime T.V. shows watch this movie

    I simply loved this movie.It had demons and in the end were all the plants grew back and that soft music playing it would warm anybody's heart.I give it an outstanding performance and I could watch it all the time.Princess Mononoke is very beautiful and she is determined.Plus living with wolves coooooool!!!-_~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A film which is Magical, Unforgettable and wonderfully Anime

    If you only see one Anime in you life see this one!! It is a wonderful story WITH A PLOT. Great acting and as something which almost everyone can relate too. This is my fav. movie of all. Skip Star Wars, Gone with the Wind, Lord of the Rings...See this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet the best

    It has to best kind of plot. The animals and people are very detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I absolutly love Miyazaki's work-but this has got to be his best!

    Princess Mononoke is a violent yet sweet story. This movie has gore and blood, but it has sentimental parts too. I was very moved by the characters emotions and personalities.I would suggest this film to anyone who's looking for a very entertaining story that will stay in your heart and mind for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectaculer! Like nothing I have seen before!

    I will keep watching this over and over!More movies like this should be made.I want to see as much japanese animation as i can.I was actually disapointed that the movie ended.This movie should have made the theatres.And this is a movie to be treasured forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Anime of All Time!

    I *heart* Miyazaki! In my opinion, Princess Mononoke is one of his best works. It's geared to a slightly older audience due to the occasional blood and gore. On the other hand, everything is amazingly realistic and the plot was fantastic! The English dubbing was all right; Minnie Driver did an excellent job of portraying Lady Eboshi's emotions and attitude through voice. The entire movie was accompanied by beautiful music...take time to enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SIMPLY STUNNING

    Normally, I am not into the Japanese Animation scene. I don't care for it all that much. So I was a bit skeptical at first when my friend urged me to rent this, and seeing Gillian Anderson in the credits, being the avid X-Files fan I was, I decided to give Princess Mononoke a try. Boy, was I blown away! Miyazaki's story is beautiful and simply stunning, the story surges along and leaves you at the edge of your seat. It was even surprising to ME that I LIKED IT! Even if you are not into ''anime'' I would suggest you see this movie, not for the animation, but simply because it is an excellant film. Miyazaki is a genius, and this made me want to see his new one, Spirited Away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Anime Movie

    After my brother and I saw it in theaters, we vowed to buy it when it came out. When it did we serched for several weeks in stores but we could never find it, so we went online and ordered it on e-bay, when it came we watched so much I have memorized every line in the move!!! This is by far the best anime movie I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! IT IS THE GREATEST!!!

    This is absolutely the best Action Anime movie I have ever seen. ANd believe me, that's saying something! Don't leave this site without ordering it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh Boy What a movie...

    I'm in love with this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Princess Mononoke Rules!!!

    I loved this movie. The storyline is unlike any other Miyazaki film to date. The movie follows the travels of Asitaka, a boy from the eastern lands, who is inflicted with a deadly infection growing from a scar on his arm. He travels west to a land where animal gods and humans are colliding in a battle that may change everyone's life forever. Asitaka meets San, a human girl about his age who was adopted as a baby by Moro, the Wolf-God. He decides to help this girl and her ''family'', and this causes some serious problems. I liked this movie because it contained so many deep characters and understories. I thought that the English dub was fairly well- done, but if you have access to the Japanese subtitled version, rent it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Movie Ever!!

    Princess Mononoke is the best japenese anime I have ever seen.Since my friend told me about it I had to see it. As soon as I heard the very first word of the movie I knew it was going to be good. Everything about this movie is brathtaking. I really liked the music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best FIlms that I have seen

    I have been into anime since I was in middle school (21 now). There have been few movies that stirred my emotions such as this one. Of course I watched Dragon Ball and other action oriented movies. The ones that have a plot so thick with symbolism and lessons are the best. Like Macross, Do you remember Love? (Not for sale in America) is comparable to this movie. There were moments when I lost my breath and was lost in the story. This animator has been around for a while but one thing that I learned about animation is that the story is the most important part (Listening Disney?).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Princess Mononoke'' is breath taking

    Princess Mononoke is fascinating. It holds your interest during the action sequences as well as in the scenes that are purely visual. It has a sense of quiet wonder and the animation is truly beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9