Customer Reviews for

Psych - Season 1

Average Rating 5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    This is a hilarious show that has a reference here and there. Still this is a show to watch. Gus and Shawn are awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do you miss your 80s childhood?

    Psych is one of the funniest shows out there... It constantly has me in stitches. What I love best is the on-screen chemistry between James Roday's Shawn and Dule Hill's Gus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Psych is #1!

    Psych Season One is an incredibly humorous television series about a faux psychic, Shawn Spencer, and his best friend and partner Burton Guster (commonly known as Gus). With Shawn's brilliant mind and the help from his loyal best friend, the two of them open their own psychic detective business called "Psych." Through this, they are often hired by the Santa Barbra Police Department to solve crimes. Each episode is packed with mystery and suspense, but sugar coated in some really great humor.

    While each episode is a thrill to watch, due to the whole mystery aspect, the main focus of the show is to make you laugh. Throughout the first season, you will notice that Shawn hardly ever takes anything seriously. He is always making fun of things, goofing around, and cracking jokes. He is truly the epitome of the grown up class clown, and he will take it as far as people allow him to. Throughout the first season, we really get to know Shawn's character, and they do a good job of establishing necessary personality traits about both Shawn and Gus. Just from season one, you will feel like you truly know who Shawn Spencer is, and he will be the character you grow to love.

    But Shawn is not the only character you will like; From Shawn's tough but loveable father, to the cranky and serious detective, Lassiter, you will love them all. Each character is wildly hilarious in their own way, which is what makes the show so incredible. I really like that it incorporates many different types of people and personalities, because things never get boring. You will see that there are characters that are serious, dorky, sweet, clueless, and everything in between. I love watching them all interact with each other, and they all play a role in making the show so amazing.

    Although humor does play a prevalent role, I also like that this show is not just a constant feed of one liners and goofiness. I love that there is actually a different purpose and plot, and that there is always a mystery being solved. The intensity and mystery adds a nice balance because it mixes well with the humor that is seen throughout each episode. Psych combines two of the best television genres together, and creates quite possibly the most entertaining television show on the face of the planet.

    And while it is still a show full of mystery and crime, do not let it scare you from watching it with the whole family. Psych is appropriate for most ages because the main focus is humor, not violence. It has good intentions and is supposed to be really harmless and funny. So while it may be slightly inappropriate for very young children, it is really a show that you can watch with almost anyone. With four disks, 15 episodes, bonus interviews and a blooper reel, you are all bound to enjoy it. So if you like to laugh and are ready to be entertained, go ahead and buy Season One of Psych. Pop in the DVD, make some popcorn, sit back, relax and enjoy the show. I'm betting that you'll fall in love with it just as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best!

    Psych has got to be some of the BEST TV that there is, I laugh out loud with every episode, most times having to pause it so that I don't miss anything. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best show ever.

    Psych is hilarious, it will invite hilarium into your life. It's like a cartoon with people, people that aren't drawn. I highly recommend this show to anyone who likes intelligent humor, but isn't averse to laughing at sight gags as well. My credibility consists of liking The Simpsons (the first 10 seasons mainly), Seinfeld and The Office. If you like those shows I think you'll like Psych.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Underrated - and Amazing

    I love this series. As a comedy, it has surprisingly well-developed characters and a great cast. There is great chemistry between Shawn (the fake psychic) and his partner Gus, as well as every other character on the show. The comedy can often be unexpected, making it a smart and witty comedy. The drama side of this show is also amazing. It can be fast-paced and suspenseful, as well as hilarious. It's well structured, and worth watching over and over. I highly recommend the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty and fun!

    This series revolves around a slacker savante who pretends to be a psychic for the Santa Barbara Police Department. Shawn Spencer manages to upstage the other detectives to solve crimes while dragging along his childhood friend, still bickering with his dad, and wooing another female detective. In each hour-long episode you'll be entertained, intrigued, engaged, and tested on your 80's trivia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!

    psych, steve franks is a genius. these characters are entertaining and loveable to the end. the relationships between all the characters is what keep the show going. the relationship that shawn and gus have is just the greatest, shawn keeps you laughing and gus is there to add humor along. lassiter and jules, very simple yet funny with him being very proper and her laid back. the mysteries are great as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My personal favorite show

    Ok this is definately the greatest show out htere right now. Other then monk. Law and order and spongebob, (jk,jk) Greatest show ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I love this show...it makes me laugh over and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Psych's first season mixes comedy and drama well. It starts out great, very organized, so in can set sail into a perfect season of entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Overlooked, so much....

    I have been a fan of USA's Monk, for many years now. As the spark of the show wore off, I decided to give "Psych" a try. I still watch Monk, but Psych is definately one of the best shows on television. People do now see how this show can be good, being on a different station than other big shows, but it tops every other show on TV. This show is funny, suspensful, and has great plots. It is my new favorite show, and needs a try by everyone hearing about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Psych Season 1

    You have a fake looks into the future kinda guy with his pal that starts off after catching a suspect thus having to go on with the charade till i guess he gets caught. Entertaining though next to Monk. A show that has comedy mixes with drama. One of my favorites shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2