Customer Reviews for

Purple Rain

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sounds awesome

    Purple Rain ah Prince the Legend a movie that has got to be the very best Prince at his best performance you can't beat Purple Rain its got Jungle Love ohh ohh ohh i think i wanna know ya my jungle love and the song i would die 4 you love that song oh Purple Rain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    About purple rain

    The purple rain movie was very good. I really love the songs and prince in the movie was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Purple Rain remains one of the most contemporary and entertaining films of its decade

    This movie is soooo 80’s and watching this last night had me dying while bringing back some fond memories. This semi-biographical tale of Prince's struggling to make it in the music industry is hit and miss throughout. For those who haven’t already seen this the film is really nothing more than a feature-length music video marking Prince's acting debut he is essentially playing himself here, and is surprisingly charming. Prince is no actor...he mumbles his lines and resorts to melodrama in serious scenes...but his performance truly conveys a great deal of pain and conflict. For a musician in his first role, he is actually quite good. Morris Day is a virtual scene-stealer the "Time" leader plays, who else, Morris Day and his performance is inspired and funny. Prince's then-band mates Wendy and Lisa also shine as well as Apollonia who is adequate as The Kid's love interest. Clarence Williams III ("The Mod Squad") gives the best performance here as The Kid's father his rage, confusion, and guilt truly come through in a brilliant performance, and his role should have been bigger. "Purple Rain" is certainly an ego trip for its star. But Prince certainly deserves to have a big head because the music in "Purple Rain" is nothing less than awe-inspiring. He deservedly won an Oscar for his score, and the excitement of his live shows are truly on display here. The Time is also fun to watch "Purple Rain" includes their performances of two of their biggest hits, "The Bird" and "Jungle Love." "Purple Rain" is not without its imperfection. The film doesn't fully investigate The Kid's home life with the exception of a few throwaway scenes. Despite the charms of most of the performers, the acting is amateurish and often laughable. Despite its shortcomings, "Purple Rain" is a modern classic, the quintessential 80's picture. If you get a chance, rent or buy this DVD, the quality is great and the music is even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hi there

    i would like to order purple rain by prince the movie if you can let me order it i can order but i don't have credit card just C.I.B.C. card and i would like to order Johnny Cash sing Hurt thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!

    Prince is the almighty Purple one! He is excellent in this romantic musical. I loved every second of it. The movie shows the emotional and hostile side of Prince. I felt as if I was in the club during "Purple Rain". I actually started crying. His best movie despite all the critics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Film.

    When I rented this movie with some friends, I really began watching it thinking, Its just another artist who wanted to be a movie star. But, the truth is, Prince CAN do anything. He's one of the greatest artists of all time, and also an excellent actor. Purple Rain, was an amazing film that I would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The absolute best comedy movie to come during its time

    Watch Prince have Hissy fits and do wierd things (oh yea he does, just watch) He is the top attraction at a popular Nightclub in Minneapolis where I am sure Jesse Ventura went to have a few beers in his time,. His competition, MORRIS DAY AND THE TIME, One lesson to learn Ladies, If 2 clowns aproach you in an old 69 Yellow Cadillac??? and say that they can give you a good career, trust me that they dont have 2 nickels to rub together, and be sure that they are probably the telemarketers who are annoying you at this very minute. I would have more trust in some dude in a gray Ford pickup. Anyway, I didnt mean to get away from the moive, Enter Appolonia Kotera, the apple of Princes eye and also for that matter Morris Days, You will see the abusive home life that Prince has to endure but you will see him fight his way back to the top. The best action film since rocky

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1