Customer Reviews for

Queen of the Damned

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    The main plot is between Lestat, Jesse, and Akasha. There are al

    The main plot is between Lestat, Jesse, and Akasha. There are also several subplots involving David, Maharet, and Marius - each is connected to one or more of the main characters.

    Akasha and her mate were the Original Vampires. Vampires worshiped them as Gods - they were the source of all Vampirism. To every Vampire they were the Creators. After countless centuries of life they'd lost the will to carry on, they'd become Living Statues. Marius had eventually become their caretaker.

    At the beginning of the movie Lestat was intomed in a crypt. He too had lost the will to carry on. Eternity had become too much to handle, so he'd slept for several generations. Eventually he sensed that society had shifted, he found a reason to rise.

    He turned himself into a Rock Star, declaring to the whole planet that he was a Vampire. Naturally society as a whole didn't take that seriously. As a Rock Star he was worshiped by countless fans. He also gained an endless supply of prey. Fans came to him, not realizing their danger until it was too late.

    Jessie was part of a secret society. One that recorded Vampire Activity, but was sworn to never interfere. David was her mentor, and a father figure.

    David had been studying Marius for many years, unaware that Marius had been doing the same with him. After the final battle Marius comes for David, presumably to turn him.

    Through David Jessie gained access to Lestat's journal. That journal told how Marius made Lestat a Vampire. How Lestat had eventually found Akasha. For the first time since Marius had cared for her, Akasha moved. She offered him her wrist - her blood. A tiny taste of her blood had made him quite powerful.

    Jessie became obsessed with Lestat. She found him in London, and followed him to his concert in Death Valley. The chemistry between those two was beautiful. She wanted to become a Vampire, she wanted to be with Lestat forever. She was also connect to an ancient Vampiress - Maharet.

    Maharet had been made by Akasha herself. Before being turned Maharet had born a child. Even as a Vampire she'd taken care of that child. She'd followed each generation of her descendants. As a child Jessie had believed Maharet was her aunt. Near the end of the movie Jessie learned the full truth.

    Lestat's music, boldness, and defiance had spread across the entire planet. Eventually it was enough to wake Akasha. She took the King's Blood, absorbed his power. Then she came for Lestat, wanting him for her new King. She and Lestat shared a night together. Metaphorically feasting on each others flesh, and literally feeding on each others blood. Akasha's blood gave Lestat the power to walk in daylight.

    Maharet and Marius allied themselves with several other ancient vampires. They were terrified of fighting Akasha. It wasn't just that they weren't sure they could beat her. They didn't know if the Vampire Species could survive without it's creator.

    When Akasha arrived with Lestat they refused to join her. She ordered Lestat to kill Jessie, to punish Marharet. When Lestat demanded his crown, she didn't hesitate. Akasha had believed Jessie's death would solidify her hold on Lestat, instead he'd broken it.

    With her veins open, Akasha was vulnerable. The ancients all attacked. 2 died in battle. Then Marharet finished her. Marharet took the last of Akasha's blood - she became a living statue, the New Queen of the Vampires.

    Afterwards Lestat gave Jessie his blood. The movie ends with the two of them heading off into eternity together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Akasha Wow!

    Akasha Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i luv it ! .. i have it on dvd & i watch it like 3 times a

    i luv it ! .. i have it on dvd & i watch it like 3 times a month yes i'm a huge vampire fan & i love the way stuart towsend played the roll as the vampire lestat! & the soundtrack is awesome !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    I love this movie!!!

    Some of ya might not like this movie but i love it from beginning to end and has a great soundtrack too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    So not true to the Novel

    Director Mike Rhymer should have read the book before beginning the film. The cinematography is wonderful as well as the locations where the film was shot and great soundtrack. I understand he wanted to focus more on Lestat, but the main story of the twins, Enkil and Akasha were never properly delved into. If you are a fan of Anne Rice's novels, I would not recommend this movie for you. Characters not properly portrayed or just simply missing are a major disappointment as well as the origin of who made Lestat into a vampire. Save your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A-MA-ZINGGGGGGG

    Wow. I love this move. Besides the fact that Jesse is very annoying throughout the movie. She sort of changes to be with Lestat which i find totally dumb for her to do (and he notices). She stalks him a lot. Lestat on the other hand is what MADE the movie. I haven't read the book, which is probably why i find this movie so amazing. I like how they used Korn and Disturbed (i believe) as Lestat's singing voice. It's quit different how the queen is beautiful and has color despite the fact that she's a vampire and most people would imagine her to be pale. This movie was way different than all the other vampire movies and is a lot better than twilight. BUT warning. If your looking forward to the queen coming in the beginning of the movie... you are in for a wait.
    One thing I'd like to add is... the movie seems to be wrong when it comes to the name. I haven't read any of the books and This was the first movie i've seen... but is it jsut me or is Queen of the Damned... The Vampire Lestat? I just read what the vampire Lestat is about and it seems to me that that book is this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This movie was bad

    WHen i first watched this movie, i'm not gonna lie i loved it i thought it was amazing. Just this past year i have read the book,and let me tell you the movie was nothing like the book the book is the best vamprie book i have ever read. They changed so much like made Marius turned Lestat into a vampire what the crap, Magnus was the one who turned him. IN the movie they killed off Pandora and i think that might have been Khayman not sure if it was Khayman, but if Pandora is dead how the h*ll is there going to be a book called Pandora. I'm really shocked that anne didn't get that upset from this poorly done adaptation of her amazing book. The only part i liked in this book was Stewart Townsend but he aint even good looking enough to have made this movie any better then what it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I wish i could rate ZERO

    WOW what a waste of time... sorry ppl if you are going to make a movie based on a book DO IT RIGHT.. it's like taking Mein Kampf and making it into a romantic comedy. Lestat turned into a fool and sorry just because aaliyah died doesnt make it any better, she did such a bad job. I saw an Interview with Anne Rice and she herself said she was dissapointed with the movie... dont you remember interview when she said Tom would make a horrible Lestat... and he was the best so far.... so all in all if you are looking for crap then watch, life you are looking for entertainment then read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best vampire movie i have ever seen!!!

    This movie is the best!!! who cares if it doesnt follow the book! I love Anne Rice and i have read this book and I think that both are really great. but dont hate this movie because it doesnt follow the book! yes they changed thins, but they made it more relateble towards the new days with what kind of music we listen to how we act and dress. But it gave its points on how and why lestat was woken up, how he becomes famous, how he pretty much tells the secret of vampires, and how he falls in love with Akasha. And Staurt Townsend is so hott!! And that really shows the sexuality of vampires which is a main thing with vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sucky . . . even by vampire standards

    One of the worst adaptations of a book that I've ever seen. The only think this movie gets right are the characters names . . . which are, for the most part, mispronounced. Do yourself a big, big favor - read the AMAZING novel by Anne Rice of the same name. Or go rent Interview with the Vampire and get a proper feel of what The Vampire Chronicles are all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    addicted

    this is a great movie its so on the edge and thrilling it has taken me a while to figure out the name of this movie i went crazy over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    If you've read the books you may or may not like this movie. I think it's great, though! I liked it much better than "Interview w/ the Vampire"....Tom Cruise w/ blonde hair was not Lestat to me as much as Townsend is here. He may not have "the look" but he definitely had the attitude to play the role! This movie is worth the time & money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    so what?!

    so what if the movie is nothing like the book? anne rice didn't make a screenplay and i watched this movie not to read a book...if you like the book, then just read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this moVie roCks mY socKs

    this is absolutely the best movie ever made, the music rocks the whole thing is really well made

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HORRIBLE

    I absolutely loved the book - Lestat is my hero. he is by far the most inriguing vampire, but this portrayal of him was pathetic. Interview with the Vampire was excellent (except Antionio Banderas, he ruined Armand) and if your looking for a decent vamp movie, thats it. he wasnt even blond in this one (and, yes, when it comes to Lestat, that matters). i know its cliche, but the book was much, much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pitiful

    This movie was horrible. Nothing like the book! Horrible acting! The guy they chose for Lestat was terrible. He portrayed none of the emotional depth of the Lestat of the book. Overall this movie is trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No other vampire movie could compare

    This movie is absolutely the best vampire movie ever. I have not read the book, but I've seen the movie itself a million times. I highly reccomend it! It's one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!

    Look even though it did not follow the book the fact is that the movie is great. Who cares if Lestat is not blond, who cares if Akasha is a different skin color and who cares of Louis is not in the book . I mean thats not important. The important thing is that the movie it self is OUTSTANDING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this movie!!!!

    This is a great movie!! I loved it! Even though it doesnt follow the book all that well, i still thought it was great. Stuart Townsend did an awesome job, not to mention that he's absolutly gorgeous! Anyone who likes Vampire movies, you'll love this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not like the book

    I love the Vampire Chronicles. They are superior books and I was really looking forward to this movie. When I did see the movie I have to admit, I was confused. The movie is absolutely nothing like the book. The only thing the same as the books was the names. I do like the movie, though. Stuart Townsend is gorgeous, and the other characters were likeable, too. If the movie had followed the book a little more, and not butchered the story line, like having Marius make Lestat a vampire, I¿d probably like it more. Now, the only way I can enjoy the movie is if I forget that it¿s supposed to be the same story as the book. If I don¿t forget I spend the whole movie saying: ¿That¿s not how it happened, that¿s wrong.¿ If you haven¿t read the book and like vampire movies, this is a good movie for you, but if you¿ve read the book and are easily angered, this movie¿s not for you. I give it three stars because not even Stuart Townsend¿s looks could make me forget about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6