Customer Reviews for

Queen of the Damned

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    So not true to the Novel

    Director Mike Rhymer should have read the book before beginning the film. The cinematography is wonderful as well as the locations where the film was shot and great soundtrack. I understand he wanted to focus more on Lestat, but the main story of the twins, Enkil and Akasha were never properly delved into. If you are a fan of Anne Rice's novels, I would not recommend this movie for you. Characters not properly portrayed or just simply missing are a major disappointment as well as the origin of who made Lestat into a vampire. Save your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This movie was bad

    WHen i first watched this movie, i'm not gonna lie i loved it i thought it was amazing. Just this past year i have read the book,and let me tell you the movie was nothing like the book the book is the best vamprie book i have ever read. They changed so much like made Marius turned Lestat into a vampire what the crap, Magnus was the one who turned him. IN the movie they killed off Pandora and i think that might have been Khayman not sure if it was Khayman, but if Pandora is dead how the h*ll is there going to be a book called Pandora. I'm really shocked that anne didn't get that upset from this poorly done adaptation of her amazing book. The only part i liked in this book was Stewart Townsend but he aint even good looking enough to have made this movie any better then what it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I wish i could rate ZERO

    WOW what a waste of time... sorry ppl if you are going to make a movie based on a book DO IT RIGHT.. it's like taking Mein Kampf and making it into a romantic comedy. Lestat turned into a fool and sorry just because aaliyah died doesnt make it any better, she did such a bad job. I saw an Interview with Anne Rice and she herself said she was dissapointed with the movie... dont you remember interview when she said Tom would make a horrible Lestat... and he was the best so far.... so all in all if you are looking for crap then watch, life you are looking for entertainment then read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sucky . . . even by vampire standards

    One of the worst adaptations of a book that I've ever seen. The only think this movie gets right are the characters names . . . which are, for the most part, mispronounced. Do yourself a big, big favor - read the AMAZING novel by Anne Rice of the same name. Or go rent Interview with the Vampire and get a proper feel of what The Vampire Chronicles are all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HORRIBLE

    I absolutely loved the book - Lestat is my hero. he is by far the most inriguing vampire, but this portrayal of him was pathetic. Interview with the Vampire was excellent (except Antionio Banderas, he ruined Armand) and if your looking for a decent vamp movie, thats it. he wasnt even blond in this one (and, yes, when it comes to Lestat, that matters). i know its cliche, but the book was much, much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pitiful

    This movie was horrible. Nothing like the book! Horrible acting! The guy they chose for Lestat was terrible. He portrayed none of the emotional depth of the Lestat of the book. Overall this movie is trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of the Damned

    Ok, maybe I'm overreacting, but still, this movie sucked! Why even bother basing after the book? Marius did not make Lestat he made Armand, Louis was never even in the movie, Lestat does not fall in love with Jesse, they completely skipped the whole dream about the twins, which is important and that's just part of what they left out. If you read the book , don't bother with the movie. Also, Stuart Townsend, although closer to Lestat's true age, didn't do that great of a job. One, he wasn't even blonde and he was a little to arrogant. tom cruise portrayed him better although he was older. stick to Interview with the Vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Might as well have been an original...

    I hated it. I mean, why couldn't it be true to the book? This might as well have been a completely different project altogether. I mean, Lestat in love with JESSE? No, he was with Louis (who wasn't in the movie) at the end, people. And he DID love Akasha. But that wasn't the biggest problem. Akasha (who was white in the book)'s reasons for destroying mankind were completely different, and she believed that what she was doing was a good thing. Mekare wasn't in the movie, even though it was she who fulfilled her own prophecy by defeating Akasha and becoming the Queen of the Damned, with her sister, Maharet. Lestat's maker wasn't Marius, Lestat was blonde (which is a big deal to Lestat fans), Lestat only kills evildoers, and Lestat didn't turn against Akasha like that. Not to mention that more than half of the book was forgotten about. In other words, if you like punky vampire movies, then this is for you, I guess. If you're an avid Vampire Chronicles fan, and you want to watch a movie about it, stick to 'Interview With the Vampire', but I suggest NOT watching 'Queen of the Damned'. Though I must say, even if I didn't read the book, I would have hated this movie, too. It was awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the book is always better

    ohhhh! this movie made me mad! The Queen of the Damned is great for the non-die-hard fans of Anne Rice. if you watch the movie then you might just like it. but for people like me who have read all the books (twice even) then this movie is a BIG disappointment. they left too much out and added to much also. just go read the Vampire Chronicles. you'll love em if you love Interview With A Vampire. (which i loved)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what a dissappointment!

    I'm not one of those fans who constantly compares the movie to the book. I realize that things need to be changed to fit a big screen adaptation and that directors often take certain liberties. I can forgive the fact that it strays so far from the book, but i'm sorry this movie was still lame beyond comprehension. The makers of this film obviously put a lot of work into trying to make this film sleek, sexy and cool, but they failed big time. Not only is it lacking in story and intrigue, but in veritable acting performances as well. The cast, however talented, just does not acheive that alluring, erotic, arrogant, preternatural feel that caracterises vampires. Instead what we have is a bunch of feeble-minded, semi-good looking wimps with fangs. With all due respect this ongoing petty music video was an absolute failure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS MOVIE WAS AWFUL

    Are we all going crazy, I mean the film was so bad that I thought that I was not going to get through it, what about the vampire lestat film, there is a big space that needs to be filled from where interview with the vampire took off. This is just a 90 minute music video, and it sucks so bad that any anne rice fan with brains would agree with me, this film was awful, no more than awful, horrible, who wasted their money on the production of this film????????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen without a Clue

    There are certain truth's in a revolving pop-culture world. For example, to destroy the integrity of the work to gather dollars from the masses. And the term ''sold out'' or ''sell out'' can apply to this particular type of blatant irresponsibility. It was once understood that Anne Rice challenged the move to let Tom Cruise play her beloved Lestat; a move that proved to be an exceptional one. What happened this go-around? Stuart Townsend doesn't have the range, versatility, or skill of an accomplished actor like Cruise who redefines ''performance'' and ''believability'' to his characters. Cruise also has the perfectionism to study both the script and the book to set a foundation for the character. Townsend makes a mockery of Lestat from the very beginning and gives the feel of a ''Crow: City of Angels'' feel. Maybe he researched Vincent Perez's character, or he took some pointers from the supporting actor who plays Marius. Either way, the integrity of Lestat is destroyed. Aaliyah is another example of miscasting. While you sit through this movie, one tends to wonder whether Anne Rice has any creative control over her works. As an author, it should be your sworn duty to protect that which you have labored, regardless of the dollar signs flashing from studio executives. I'm sure that cult enthusiasts will label this movie as a high point, due mainly to setting and Gothic tone of the movie in the same way they flocked to ''The Crow'' and ''Blade'' sequels. Bear in mind, however, that the pop attitude to this film has left the story high and dry. It's a long way off from the book and the engrossing, engaging, and exciting (the 3 E's which every storyteller should adhere to) ''Interview with the Vampire.'' In layman's terms: Leonard Nimoy was Mr. Spock, William Shatner was Captain Kirk...get me? Cruise, Pitt, and Slater pulled off a film of a lifetime with the first one, now Justin Timberlake is Mr. Spock and Freddie Prinze Jr. is Captain Kirk. Robert Eldridge is the author of: ''Amber Spirit: Poems & Stories'' (Hats Off Books, 2001) and the dark poetic book, ''Offbeat'' (Writers Club Press, 2002.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you like the book, skip the movie

    This movie was very disapionting, as a ''Vampire Chronicles'' reader, I expected more. It did not follow the books at all. If it was just a Vampire movie, it would be ok. But being called ''Queen of the Damned'' I expected it to at least keep information somewhat similiar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give me a REFUND!

    If you are over 21 and do not actually WANT to be a vampire SKIP THIS MOVIE! I am a long-time huge fan of Anne Rice, and that is the only reason I rented this. Just let me tell you that the movie went downhill VERY fast right after they say that Marius sired Lestat. In what alternate universe did THAT happen? Pandora is NOT from India, why does Armand look like Lars from Metallica? Why did they introduce Maharet and leave out the entire Legend of the Twins? Why is Jesse begging to be made a vampire all through the movie? Why didn't I turn it off? Because Aaliyah. This movie is just awful awful awful. I'm not sure what all the other people who rated this so highly were smoking. Aaliyah did her role a great justice, and that is the only redeeming quality. Put the movie down and step back from the shelf please...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1