Customer Reviews for

Queen of the Damned

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    The main plot is between Lestat, Jesse, and Akasha. There are al

    The main plot is between Lestat, Jesse, and Akasha. There are also several subplots involving David, Maharet, and Marius - each is connected to one or more of the main characters.

    Akasha and her mate were the Original Vampires. Vampires worshiped them as Gods - they were the source of all Vampirism. To every Vampire they were the Creators. After countless centuries of life they'd lost the will to carry on, they'd become Living Statues. Marius had eventually become their caretaker.

    At the beginning of the movie Lestat was intomed in a crypt. He too had lost the will to carry on. Eternity had become too much to handle, so he'd slept for several generations. Eventually he sensed that society had shifted, he found a reason to rise.

    He turned himself into a Rock Star, declaring to the whole planet that he was a Vampire. Naturally society as a whole didn't take that seriously. As a Rock Star he was worshiped by countless fans. He also gained an endless supply of prey. Fans came to him, not realizing their danger until it was too late.

    Jessie was part of a secret society. One that recorded Vampire Activity, but was sworn to never interfere. David was her mentor, and a father figure.

    David had been studying Marius for many years, unaware that Marius had been doing the same with him. After the final battle Marius comes for David, presumably to turn him.

    Through David Jessie gained access to Lestat's journal. That journal told how Marius made Lestat a Vampire. How Lestat had eventually found Akasha. For the first time since Marius had cared for her, Akasha moved. She offered him her wrist - her blood. A tiny taste of her blood had made him quite powerful.

    Jessie became obsessed with Lestat. She found him in London, and followed him to his concert in Death Valley. The chemistry between those two was beautiful. She wanted to become a Vampire, she wanted to be with Lestat forever. She was also connect to an ancient Vampiress - Maharet.

    Maharet had been made by Akasha herself. Before being turned Maharet had born a child. Even as a Vampire she'd taken care of that child. She'd followed each generation of her descendants. As a child Jessie had believed Maharet was her aunt. Near the end of the movie Jessie learned the full truth.

    Lestat's music, boldness, and defiance had spread across the entire planet. Eventually it was enough to wake Akasha. She took the King's Blood, absorbed his power. Then she came for Lestat, wanting him for her new King. She and Lestat shared a night together. Metaphorically feasting on each others flesh, and literally feeding on each others blood. Akasha's blood gave Lestat the power to walk in daylight.

    Maharet and Marius allied themselves with several other ancient vampires. They were terrified of fighting Akasha. It wasn't just that they weren't sure they could beat her. They didn't know if the Vampire Species could survive without it's creator.

    When Akasha arrived with Lestat they refused to join her. She ordered Lestat to kill Jessie, to punish Marharet. When Lestat demanded his crown, she didn't hesitate. Akasha had believed Jessie's death would solidify her hold on Lestat, instead he'd broken it.

    With her veins open, Akasha was vulnerable. The ancients all attacked. 2 died in battle. Then Marharet finished her. Marharet took the last of Akasha's blood - she became a living statue, the New Queen of the Vampires.

    Afterwards Lestat gave Jessie his blood. The movie ends with the two of them heading off into eternity together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    If you've read the books you may or may not like this movie. I think it's great, though! I liked it much better than "Interview w/ the Vampire"....Tom Cruise w/ blonde hair was not Lestat to me as much as Townsend is here. He may not have "the look" but he definitely had the attitude to play the role! This movie is worth the time & money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Vampire film not to be missed.

    Even though the movie did not follow Anne Rice's book to the letter I still loved this movie. Stuart Townsend was so hot in this movie. I do wish that the ancients would have had more or a role in the film. Here they all were and you did not know any of them except Maharet. Louis and Lestat's mother Gabrielle were completely eliminated from this and that was a grave error by the filmakers. I love the soundtrack. I watch this movie over and over and never get tired of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of the Damned

    although this movie was good in itself, it didn't stay close to the book at all. lestat was NOT made by Marius and vampires do Not fly!! The movie was good though and stuart Townsend was gorgeous!!! Although I think Tom Cruise did a better job portrayting Lestat. At least he was Blonde! I'm a huge Lestat fan and i think that if Lestat was blonde and not in love with Jesse the movie would have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb Style -- Needs more substance.

    Actually the movie itself I give three stars (and would be tempted to give two stars had it not been for Stuart Townsend's breath-taking performance). The DVD rates an extra star from me for two of its special features -- three full length music videos featuring Lestat and his band 'performing' Forsaken, System and Redeemer. (Stuart Townsend is deliciously slinky-sexy in all three.) The second bonus is full length concert performances of two songs, one of which is Slept So Long. I had read everything up to Memnoch the Devil when QOTD came out and upon watching it felt that if someone had watched the movie w/o reading the book they would be very confused. Although having read the book, I felt that the plot had been too simplified and that the movie would have been so much better if the writers/directors had focused on this small but glorious aspect of Lestat's life and created a less complicated conflict to drive the film. Otherwise, I thought Stuart Townsend was just stunning as Lestat. He turned Lestat into a sensuous, half cat/half serpent creature that just radiated on screen. I really liked the music that they wrote for the film. The costumes of the bandmembers, Lestat and the nightclub inhabitants were just superb. I couldn't get enough of them. (The director modernized Lestat's rock star career to fit the new millenium and I'm glad. I had always felt that for the most part Anne Rice was really great at historical descriptions but tended to make things in the modern age a little corny. I'm so glad they didn't mention the names of the other band members in the film -- one of which in the books was 'Tough Cookie'. -- See What I mean by corny?) The movie as a whole was visually quite stunning until the last I'd say 15 minutes when it got kind of hoaky with all the vampire fighting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????

    Let's see... The movie cuts off at least 90% of the stuff in the stories. Also, the actors were not that good at portraying the characters, but they were indeed very difficult roles how Rice made them. The characters just seemed empty...unlike Interview with the Vampire which had a movie with characters well portrayed. The good points, it has one of the best soundtracks ever. I actually thought the music videos in black and white were pretty interesting, but the concert scene was not good. All the pretentious idiots who think they're hardcore will probably diss this movie, but it would not bad if they had named the film something else. The actors mostly looked somewhat the part...except Armand and maybe Lestat. Armand looks awful. Go rent or buy this movie and judge for yourself. You might find it especially alluring if you haven't read the books yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do not mess with the Queen.

    A well made and carefully developed film and was great to watch from beginning to end. Each actor was the perfect individual for the role they portrayed and did not hold back at all. Aaliyah was the perfect actress for the role as Queen Akasha and I loved every moment of her acting. This movie is recommended to anyone who likes to watch vampire films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Damn!

    This was the best movie i had ever seen up until I read the book. I loved Stuart Townsend as Lestat though. I just think that they should not have combined The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the Damned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Townsend is out of this world.

    I never read the book so the movie was very entertaining. I thought that Stuart (Lestst) was very good. His attention to emotions thru his eyes were extremly intense. Although the parts after feeding looked a bit unreal and sloppy,the story was still what it is a vampire movie. In the romance area for a vampire to love is un common since there only need is to feed on the living, the movie delivers on the romance to some degree and i do believe that woman and men will like the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it and Hated it!

    As a movie watcher, I loved the movie, but as an Anne Rice fan, I hated it... The movie was sugar coated, with Stuart Townsend. When I first saw the movie, I analyzed it and hated the changes that were made to the stories. The thing I hated the most was that, in the movie Marius makes Lestat and in the books Lestat is made by Magnus. I don't think that was necessary. Honestly the only reason why I saw the movie more that once was because of Stuart Townsend, and I'm sure I'm not the only one that feels this way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stuart, please continue in Tale of the Body Thief!

    I have been an Anne Rice fan since 1988 and don't understand why the critics have been so vicious with this film! It's wonderful fun and most of that is because I think Stuart Townsend does a fabulous job portraying Lestat's sensuality and ego. There are things I wish would have been portrayed differently--Lestat is *not* bitter in the novels, at least for very long. He's awesome! He deals with his circumstances and can't be kept down for long. I also think Lestat's past (killing the wolves threatening his village would have been an awesome scene!) and the Ancients could have been fleshed out a bit. Those who are unfamiliar with the characters from Anne Rice's books might be lost at points. Some of the critics have said that this movie is unimaginative in that it repeats ideas in other tv shows and movies. What these critics don't understand is that Lestat's story was written *before* these other stories and I think the reverse is true--I think Anne Rice's ideas of portraying the vampire as protagonist has been capitalized on without her receiving the credit she's due. Anyway, Aaliyah is great (bless her always) and Stuart rocks--I loved this movie. The full-length music videos and concert sequences on the DVD are fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not bad...

    I did like it as much as I liked Interview with the Vampire. The only dissapointment was the choice of actors. The person who played Lestat did not fit the proper description of an angelic/beautiful evil, blonde, blue-eyed vampire. I loved Aaliyah and I think she did a great job and she was really beautiful, but she doesn't fit the description of a ''porcelain pale queen''. Also Marius is supposed to look old, since he was made into a vampire at an old age. Anyway, with the exception of the choice of actors, I think this was an excellent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie Rocked and Rolled

    This movie was the best! Ihave it all over my room! I think AALIYAH, Stuart Townsend,and the rest of the cast did a great job on the film! I think Michael Rymer did an excellent job of making this film! Stuart Townsend (Lestat) was good at singing R.I.P AALIYAH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aaliyah Rocks Queen Of The Damned

    Talented and beautiful, Aaliyah stars in Queen of the damned. Sexy and Evil, what a combination. The movie is a twist on traditional vampire movies, and creates a modern image of vampires. Special effects as well as an awesome soundtrack finish off an incredible movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1