Customer Reviews for

Queen of the Damned

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of the damned kicks ass!!!!!

    Stuart townsend made this movie so fantastic, its the best movie to ever be made, he played a sexy seductive vampire, with might i add a very cool name :) Aaliyah played a good part in this movie, as the queen of all vampires ''Akasha'' it rocks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of the Damned

    The queen of the damed is the best movie ever!! I asked 24 people who actually saw the movie and all said it was great. One said '' Best movie of movie history. Anne Rice must have a gift of writing good books like these. We are lucky people actually produced this.'' If you have not seen it, Make sure you see it A.S.A.P!!!!!!!!!!!! :)PS-Make sure you like Blink-182!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!mark,TOM,tRaViS is cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it

    Ahem, it may not be like the book which i have not read yet, i just got the first book in the chronicles, but Stuart Townsend is a god. he had lestat's overall sexyness. he really captured the character of lestat. Even though lestat's looks was changed cause Stuart didn't look good as a blonde i still think he did a wonderful job. i mean come on, Tom Cruise as lestat in QOTD!? no way! he is oooooold! he has no sexyness! i really liked the way stuart walked around almost all the end of the movie with no shirt on. it really gives you something to drool at. i would never in my life even think about drooling over Cruise. any way...Aliyaah,or however her name is spelled, did a great job as Akasha....personally akasha looks better as a dark-skinned, egyptian with green eyes...not some white chick with black hair and black eyes. thats just plain creepy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    I have never read any of the Anne Rice books but ever since I saw Queen of the Damned it made me want to. I have to say that of all my fav. movies (which are all vampire movies) I loved this one the most. It was intense and had everything I would ask for in a vampire movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lestat: sexy & seductively hot

    All I can say is, this is THE only VAMPIRE movie that turned me on. Stuart Townsend was awesome, those tantalizing eyes, gave me chills and made me want to see it over and over again...I would of really like to see Lestat at least kiss Jesse even just once, though. Loved EVERYTHING about the movie; music was right on on every part of the movie scenes, actors were great, on and on. I wished, I saw it in the big screen. Please let there be a part 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sooo...It's not exactly the book...I still loved it.

    I'm a die hard Rice fan and have been for too long to admit - that said - o.k. so the movie didn't exactly stick to the books - it's still a great movie. I'm not sure about Marius making LeStat instead of Magnus, but considering that Magnus jumps into a fire, what, an hour later - who can blame the writers for changing the story a little for a movie. Plus, I liked how Marius was played so it was all good by me. I thought that Stuart Townsend beat Tom Cruise hands down in the portrayal of LeStat. So in all, I have to give this movie two big thumbs up and say that if you're an Anne Rice fan - try to pretend that you had never read the books...or at least some parts of the books and just enjoy. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of the Damned was excellent

    I loved Queen of the Damned. Aaliyah was great. Everything about this movie was perfect. Stuart Townsend was great as Lestat. The music fit the mood of the movie 100%.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wow..just wow.

    this movie is so wonderful. It isnt quite as good as Interveiw with the Vampire, but i love it all the same. I love the whole idea of the movie, i love the gothic edge it has to it...it has defenitly given me motive to go out and read the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yay!

    i heard that the book was getting made into a movie years ago and then it never happened... And just as I lost all hope, there it was! Awesome movie (also an awesome book)!!! Everyone should see it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    the music was catchy and the special effects were amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    =)

    This is the best movie, ice seen it 15 times and plan to buy it...someday. The movie also has most of my favorite songs and bands, like Static-x, Kidneytheives and Jonathan Davis from Korn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AALIYAH'S PERFORMANCE SHINES

    When i heard they were making a sequal to my favorite movie of all time(Interview with a Vampire) i was so excited. After two years of waiting the movie got released. I loved the movie from beginning to end, and i loved all the actor's. The shining star of the movie was the great late r&b songtress Aaliyah. Her performance of Queen Akasha was one of the best vampire acting i've seen. The way she enter's the movie, makes your blood turn cold. She has to be the most beautiful vampire character in any movie by far.The ending departs from the book a little, mainly because the book version is to long for a movie, but none the less it's really impressive. It's so sad that we had to lose such a gifted young person as Aaliyah. She died last summer in a plane crash at age 22. Her two upcoming roles in Matrix 2 and 3 would have made her a superstar and a household name. If your a fan of Anne Rice, Interview with a Vampire, or vampire movies in general, go out and see this movie.You will not be disapointed, and it might be the best vampire movie you will see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!! Kick arse sound track too!!

    Got to see this movie! I found myself playing the concert in Death Valley over and over. Stuart Townsend was really gorgeous! He just oozed sex appeal and confidence and was perfect for the part of Le Stat. I loved the whole concept of the movie and loved the music, (had to go buy the sound track straight away) I didn't find a dull moment from beginning to end and rate it amoung the best of the movies I have seen (I have seen hundreds and hundreds of movies) Excellent movie and well worth 5 stars in my opinion. (the critics didn't seem to like this movie but I think they got it wrong)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lestat -- The Modern Vampire

    Lestat is most certainly an antagonist to Louis in INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE. In QUEEN OF THE DAMNED, Lestat becomes the protagonist. Vampires in literature, while relentless in their vicious and sadistic pursuit of blood, are moving more often into the realm of heroism. Television shows (Angel, Forever Knight, Kindred: the Embraced) affirm this, and films are beginning to tell such stories. The definition of a hero is one who embodies the most prized values of a culture. In some ways, vampires embody (if only on the metaphorical level) modern values. They are seductive and provocative, often portrayed has highly erotic, but they indulge themselves without consequences. The vampires of the modern world, such as Lestat, act with great freedom. Many of their weaknesses from earlier works of fiction are removed: allergy to garlic, fear of crosses and running water, death by a stake in the heart. Akasha, and for a short time Lestat, is even immune to sunlight. If you want to see an interesting and fun vampire movie, QUEEN OF THE DAMNED is at least worth a look. This film, along with INTERVIEW, tell tales that parallel the rise of the modern, democratic world. Freedom ironically comes at a high price, and the concept of immortality for either a person or a society is nearly impossible to bear. You'll have to decide for yourself if you consider Lestat a true ''hero.'' For me, I say that Anne Rice and the filmmakers did a fantastic job of creating a believable character, who is probably not a ''hero'' by traditional definition. He is, however, a true protagonist -- someone who struggles for or against something with whom we can sympathize. Lestat struggles for power, while simultaneously struggling against his inner savagery. Conflict is the fuel of a good story, and the conflicts shown in QUEEN OF THE DAMNED are both though-provoking and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie was great

    the movie was great....if only aaliyah could c what a great film she had made... all i can say is AALIYAH was great in the movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally, someone worthy of the name Lestat!

    I found the movie exciting and very sexy. It was refreshing to see faces not as famous. Aaliyah was great, and I found her movements graceful and frightening. I believe you should be an Anne Rice fan to enjoy this movie, or at least a vampire fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it

    I loved this movie. I can't stop watching it. It is really, really good. If you are into vampires I think you will love this. This is one of the best movies I have seen. You won't be dissapointed unless u are mad because it is almost nothing like the book. It is good though. The way the acting was done was excellent. I would buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To Be A Vampire?

    Well, lets begin with the movie. I think the movie was great. Only one small problem. I wanted to see more i wanted it to be longer. I would have stayed to watch all of it if i had the chance. This movie gives us a world i think we would all like to live in. I know i fantisize about it. But these vampires give us a world we would never imagine. And Aaliyah did a wonderful job, she would have done so many successful things but her soul is at rest and that is the best for everyone. Stuart did a pretty good job, but Aaliyah and her movements made us think she was someone else. This movie is very very good. If you are a true fan of vampires then you will not judge it by effects and storylines to the book but about the imagination this movie can give you that only we can dream about. This is a highly recomended movie and do not base it on sales or popularity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Akasha Kicked A**

    It was action packed, Aaliayah was a great akasha and stuert was a great lestat, i really enjoyed this movie more then interview with the vampire it was just a blast and im for sure buying it 8/27/02.latz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spellbinding!!

    I now have proof that Lestat walks the Earth, now all I have to do is find him! Aside from everyone being up in arms about the movies discrepancies from the book....take this movie for what it is.....just an interpretation based on the books. And a pretty great one at that. The best thing they ever did was finding Stuart Townsend to bring Lestat to life (so to speak), what a beauty he is. I myself was under his power. I think you'll agree. This movie is wonderful and worth seeing! Easily 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4