Customer Reviews for

Rachel Getting Married

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring

    I LOVED this movie, I'm no recovering drug addict but I could totally relate to Anne Hathaway's character. We've all made mistakes, some we feel are unforgettable, and this movie is about trying to pick up the pieces and start over again, even if people don't really believe in you or trust you...it was a tear jerker...least for me it was. But a great movie, i highly recommend you give it a try.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not your average hollywood blockbuster

    One of the best written films I've seen in a while. It has a rare form of emotional intellect and realism that isn't easy to find. I think its pretty typical that the popular and well liked movies have heavy, convoluted plots and not much emphasis on character. This movie offers the exact opposite formula and I think that accounts for a lot of the negative reviews. The directing and overall cinematography does take a while to get used to but if you take the effort to connect with the characters and the story, I don't think its hard to understand or appreciate why the movie was shot in that fashion. Rachel Getting Married is meant to be personal. And the style of the writing and the directing relays that very well. This is a very cohesive project that does require a little give and take from the viewer. But ultimately its a very moving character piece well worth a watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Misunderstood Masterpiece

    This movie was incredible. I have studied film, and I can tell you what technically makes a good film, and what makes a bad one. The people giving this movie bad reviews are obviously of the group that have no intellect concerning movies beyond what entertains them and grabs their spastic attention. I have heard people say there are awkward scenes and long gaps of silence, and even pointless camera angles. This is a load of hogwash. The director chose to shoot every angle for a specific reason. The entire film was shot with a handheld camera, which distinguishes it from other films in the same category. The plot was emotional (for those of us with similar experiences). The "boring" parts were actually there for emphasis and drawing-in, but people obviously cannot wrap their brains around that. Just because there isn't a giant robot sending a missile hurtling toward the planet does not mean this movie is boring. I hope more people will give this film a chance, because at this rate it will end up as the diamond in the ruff of misunderstood masterpieces. After seeing this movie once I know it is one of my favorites. (And I have seen A LOT of movies.) Anne Hathaway said herself that by the end of reading the script she was on the floor crying. This is the film I wish I had written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awful

    Couldn't get through it. Shot in an annoying hand-held jittery camera style. On top of this, it also had an "ad-libbed" writing style. I thought this movie was horrible.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Unsuspectingly Good

    I bought this movie after seeing a trailer and it didn't come out in my state. This was a good movie though I was really surprise at the complexity and how well it was. It almost shot in a documentary style and it feels at time like you are watching a documentary. The way the music is presented is vary different from most movies. The family in it seem vary real. Ane Hathaway gives a memorable performance and show just hard addiction can be. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is willing to take a chance on something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Avoid this movie more than the H1N1 Flu

    I am an Anne Hathaway fan however this movie is a complete train wreck. Not even Anne's acting ability was able to salvage this clunker. The dialogue scenes were way too long and annoying. I am not sure what the director was trying to accomplish other than complete boredom. I want my time back!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    love Anne Hathaway...hate the movie

    Omigosh....do not waste your time or money....I watched the whole thing but wished I hadn't....wished I had not spent the money but who knew that Anne Hathaway would be in such a yucky movie....and she was nominated for some award....Puhleeze!!! Bad movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just plain BAD.

    Imagine watching an amateur home video of a bunch of annoying strangers. Now imagine watching it for almost 2 hours. That's what this movie is like. Anne Hathaway's performance is good, but no where near enough to save this train wreck of a movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can this really be a Jonathan Demme Film?

    RACHEL GETTING MARRIED proved to be an entry card for Anne Hathaway's Oscar nomination, and while she turns in a strong performance, there is really very little else to recommend this film so unlike the work of Jonathan Demme. Written by Jenny Lumet, the story of a dysfunctional family on the weekend of the marriage of daughter Rachel (Rosemarie DeWitt) being upturned by the arrival of daughter Kym (Hathaway) on temporary leave from a rehab center and the clashes that occur from this planned happy event being replaced by the revelation of occult demons from the past is the nearly two hour noisy ennui that forms this film.

    There are a few moments of interest (Kym's AA meeting revelations, the tragedy that drove Kym's mother - adroitly played by Debra Winger - away in divorce, and the clash between Rachel and Kym), but the bulk of this film is noisy partying that goes on forever and adds very little to the tension that should have been the focus of the film. For this viewer the performance (albeit brief) by Debra Winger is the reason to sit through this otherwise pretty boring film. One would expect the presence of the fine actress Anna Deavere Smith to heighten the action, but she is given little to do except fade into the woodwork. It is an interminable wedding celebration that only at the end finds a center. Grady Harp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1