Customer Reviews for

Ratatouille

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Way better than the previews...

It will make you laugh, make you cry, if you think you've seen the preview, you gotta see the movie!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Maybe not for younger children

I was shocked to hear the word "hell" in this G rated movie. I watched this movie before giving it to my children, and they will not be seeing this movie anytime soon. I also didn't like that when they were describing each chef and their "creativeness" one was describ...
I was shocked to hear the word "hell" in this G rated movie. I watched this movie before giving it to my children, and they will not be seeing this movie anytime soon. I also didn't like that when they were describing each chef and their "creativeness" one was described as a killer. I don't think that is something a 5 year old needs to hear or even know about. That is why I gave this 2 stars. However, I did enjoy it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way better than the previews...

    It will make you laugh, make you cry, if you think you've seen the preview, you gotta see the movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Smart, It's Hip, It's Pixar!

    I was not too sure about my feelings for the movie throughout as I watched it for the first time in theaters. And then the closing lines played, and I realized what a beautiful film this was. I watched it again and a again, and like most Pixar movies, the film grew better and better with each viewing. I don't know how they do that, but that tells me that Pixar means for their movies to withstand the test of time (and as proof, I need only to mention Toy Story 3 ...the most anticipated movie of 2010; 16 years after the original release). Ratatouille will make you laugh (but most of the humor is subtle and not childish), and will revive your hope that yes, there are still millions of fresh new ideas out there waiting for movie-makers to stretch out and grab them. The orginilaity of the story, the music, and the BEAUTIFUL artwork alone will keep you plastered in your seat. Don't miss out on this movie. While it is SAFE for kids to watch - as well as enduring - it is also perfect for any adult to watch even without the kids (and unfortunately that idea has been taken too far by other animated movie reviews, but it really stands true for this movie). Watch it with an empty tummy but make sure your dinner will be ready as soon as it's over or else you'll be famished!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ratatouille

    I always loved this movie. It is especially enjoyable because the DVD home version has extra scenes than was shown on the TV version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ratatouille is great

    My two year old grandson loves this movie and watches it over and over. A sweet story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Artistic, beautiful and entertaining!

    What a terrific film! The animation is incredible and the characters are great! I absolutely loved the music and the artwork - and the core story was great. It's wonderful for children, but great for parents who want a visual treat. I also recommend going right before dinner because you'll come out feeling hungry for a sumptuous meal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Art for the digital age

    I'm a grown woman, but loved this movie with the heart of an 8 year old. What beautiful animation and great storytelling. Recommended for a foodie or anyone who just enjoys the magic of the movies!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ratatouille

    Ratatouille by Disney Pixar was a different kind of movie. The Movie was not confusing. It was not boring, and it was mostly full of excitement. Since the movie was animated, it was funny to watch. The movie was a little to short, and it had some boring parts, even with these downsides the movie was outstanding!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bon appetit!

    Like other Disney-Pixar features, "Ratatouille" does not disappoint. This story about a gourmand rat and satirical look at the five-star restaurant scene is entertaining from start to finish - sharp and beautifully done. I agree with a previous reviewer, though, that - though this is certainly family fare - it may be over the heads of small children. Bon appetit!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming animated film

    This film is so whimsical and charming as entertaining for adults as it is for kids. I wouldn't recommend it for very young children, possibly for ages 7 and up. But for older kids and adults, it's a must watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for adults, not for kids

    I enjoyed the movie a lot, had a lot of laughs too but there are many of the scenes and language in the movie that children should not see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF DISNEY-PIXAR'S BEST!!!

    I was simply blown away by this movie when I saw it this past summer. Everything about it was absolutely WONDERFUL!! The characters were adorable, the story was exciting and very funny, and the animation was breathtaking (the best animation Disney-Pixar has ever done). Even the music was outstanding. I recommend this movie to all ages. You will LOVE it. Can't wait to own it on DVD. I think it will be nominated for an Academy Award...and will win!! BRAVO Disney-Pixar...Keep up the great work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    My husband and i saw this movie and totally enjoyed it. This movie is great for ALL ages, my teenager sons even want to see it again. The message is great, the graphics are incredible and the story itself is well written. This movie was never boring and kept us entertained the entire time! We dont buy too many movies but this is on our list to buy soon for the holidays!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Great storyline and incredible animation. Suited for all ages though the beginning is a bit scary for little children. - Noga Rosenthal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    simply the best

    Pixar has done it again. It does not have to be violent to be a smash hit. A movie for the family. Hopefully we have more of those in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pixar has done it again!!

    this movie was so greatly written and has such beautiful animation recommend it to everyone!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Maybe not for younger children

    I was shocked to hear the word "hell" in this G rated movie. I watched this movie before giving it to my children, and they will not be seeing this movie anytime soon. I also didn't like that when they were describing each chef and their "creativeness" one was described as a killer. I don't think that is something a 5 year old needs to hear or even know about. That is why I gave this 2 stars. However, I did enjoy it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Personally, this is, without a doubt in my mind, Pixar's greates

    Personally, this is, without a doubt in my mind, Pixar's greatest film of the 2000s; second to Wall-E. As with many (I would say "all”, however, I do not feel this way for "Cars") of Pixar's creations, this film can be enjoyed by all ages. Further, Ratatouille is a true inspiration of hope in light of the fact that many of the movies coming out of the film industry are simply dole and dependent on previously produced material. The use of “innovated” directing such as the constant shaking of a camera to simulate some form of reality in that what audiences are watching is actually in fact happening or did happen – tell me, in what reality to people talk to one another while moving their heads around like a bobblehead – is simply a poor distraction from badly written acting and storytelling; this is not the case of Ratatouille. One may question, “how can a film such as Ratatouille give have great or poor action” – simple: in the creation of any animated film in which human being are portrayed or even anthropomorphic animals/rodents, it must done in such a way as give the audience a sense of what is happening from, for example, facial expirations when no dialogue is being used; Ratatouille does this with such profound excellence I cogitate that it must have been quite difficult, requiring much skill and patience. Having said, this is not a film to be missed! Ratatouille is significantly different from what the film industry has been producing of late, in that they can still create original stories without having to resort to excessive violence, drugs, language, and sex and/or nudity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ratatouille

    This movie is so hilarous but there is a good story behind it,It is unique because it is told from the perspective of a rat named Remy.Have to credit Pixar for creating totally original storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pixar's Best

    This is not only by far Pixar's best, but one of the best animated films in history, and one of the best films of its year. It also sets a new standard in the quality of computer animation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4