Customer Reviews for

Reign of Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action-packed dragon movie

    I'm a bit of a sucker for movies with dragons in them---I even watch those terrible low-budget dragon films...or try to watch them, anyway. So of course Reign of Fire, a theater-released dragon film with special effects and one of my favorite actors, was a must-watch. I found it to be a little darker than I was expecting, but definitely enjoyable. The film's concept of dragons, that they create ash because it's what they eat and that they die off and come back in cycles just as locusts do, is convincing and unique and eerie. The acting is great: Matthew McConaughey was so unlike his usual self that I didn't realize he was in it until almost the end of the movie. And the action sequences are clever and just intense enough that they drew me in without completely overwhelming me. Overall, Reign of Fire is a fun dragon film I'd enjoy watching more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reign of Fire - Who doesn't love Dragons?

    I remembered I saw this at a friend's house and just fell in love with Christian Bale (well Little Women was the first I saw him in but this and that are my favorites). He looks better with longer hair and sometimes with a beard. I love dragons and liked the movie. The special effects weren't that bad either. This is the story of a group of survivors after dragons have taken over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What smells in here? Oh, It's This Movie !!

    As Bart Simpson would say, this movie both Sucks and Blows ! While the dragon effects are cool, nothing else is in this movie, which should've been titled "SuckFest 2020." The concept is interesting, but the "plot" is hackneyed, the acting bad, and it just gets worse from there. They couldn't even be honest in the commercials. Matthew McConaughey is not the star of this movie, it's Christian Bale (two roles of which were as a psycho killer in the universally panned American Psycho, and as a JFK Jr. clone in the fairly awful re-make of Shaft. THAT's star power, baby! The new Batman will be trying to live down this fiasco as well). Particularly good is the unending use of every tired cliche in the movie book. Post-Apocalyptic world? Let's make it look like Mad Max/the Road Warrior, and give everyone an Australian/British accent. Who comes to save the day? Americans, of course. Let's make sure the two heroes neither like nor trust each other... until they have to team up to defeat the bad guy at the end, of course. Add one attractive female for a love-interest. And the teenage boy who won't listen to Dad, and wants to fight himself. Or the tough-as-nails, always screaming, army sergeant, chewing the stub of a cigar. And there are just too many inconsistencies, even for a fantasy "dragon" movie. For people who are starving to death and are, as they say "leading lives of quiet desperation," they sure know how to party when they kill a dragon: with lights and wine and Jimi Hendrix's "Fire" blasting from the stereo. (For people who watched dragons burn up the whole world, would YOU be blasting "Let me stand next to your fire" ?) And where IS the stereo in this bombed-out Keep / Castle / Cave they're living in? And where is the electricity, or how do they make it? And with no water source around, where do they get water for drinking and their fire-hose equipped trucks ? And all these "starving" people have quite a bit of muscle-tone, don't they? Where do the Americans get the fuel to run their helicopter and tanks, and whatever troop carrier they used to get from the U.S.A. to London, England? It's movies like this that made TV popular in the first place. * * * * * * * * * * Rating: D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Breathtakingly awsome......

    the dragon's fire so realistic and it seemed as though they were actually afraid for they're lives for bringing the mythological to life disney is ahead of they're time....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's hard to NOT like this movie...

    I admit this movie wasn’t designed to win any Oscars, it was meant to enjoy. Reign of Fire is a horrific vision of the future where mankind struggles to survive as dragons rage across the planet, destroying all they come across. Only a few humans have managed to live, by going underground and living a hand to mouth existence. I won’t give away much more because I don’t want to blow the movie with any spoilers. Mathew McConaughey transformed himself in this movie, looking different than ever before, playing against his normal type, and it works to perfection. Christian Bale is also strong in this movie. As the leader of the British survivors, he shines in his quiet heroism. The special effects aren’t anything earthshaking, but they’re good. My only question with the special effects was why do the dragons have holes in their wings? The story line leaves a few plot gaps, but like I said, it wasn’t meant to be art, it was meant to be what it is: an action charged, explosive packed, fun filled, blood and fire packed movie, that’s great for the action movies buff in all of us. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    Some of the FX are good, but this movie is absolutely the WORST film I have ever seen. The acting is execrable. I like Christian Bale, but this is definitely NOT his finest hour. Matthew McConaughey chews the scenery with brio, and is the only one I really liked in this, primarily because he just seemed to be having a good time. I saw this film with a friend of mine, who said afterwards that if this were the inflight movie on a plane and they were giving away the headsets, he would decline. Wouldn't you know...the next time he flew, Reign of Fire was the inflight movie!! Ever since we saw RoF, it has been our measure of a bad movie. So far, we haven't found one that can top it for being bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reign Of Fire Reigns

    This movie is a journey into the world of pure entertainment. Forget about the plot, forget about the reality, this movie takes you on a rollercoaster ride for 1 1/2 hours. Dragons, castles, guns & heroes. Dosen't leave much room for much else. So sit back, enjoy the ride & take it for what it is. An adrenaline ride into the world of myth & legend, mixed with 20th century weapons.This movie is a must see & worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BLECH

    worst dragon movie. too slow and boring. not even worth a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MONSTER FLICK

    RoF has a great sense for what would happen if the Earth was overrun by dragons, it ain't pretty. The movie shows off it's grafics well, and even if there is no villan on set, the cuts are great. I found two problems. 1 - the rubber gun prop bent and they didn't cut it out. 2 - The Apaches on the poster aren't in the movie, what a disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Misleading

    Great movie, but the poster was very misleading. It showed multiple Apachies or Cobras, im not shure which. However, in the movie there was only one helecopter and it was a standerd type. Mayby a Bell. I think the movie would have been alot better if they had showed a few major fight scenes before socioty went under. I'm not shure weather it would have worked, but it would have made me happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It could've been better, BUT STILL COOL!!!!

    I have to give Rob Bowman (The X-Files) some credit here. The movie has enough action to satisfy any actioner. The special FX are very appealing to the human eye, but it could've been more. Hey, I'm not saying I was disappointed; I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is Great

    In this movie it shows many kinds of characters (and their ways of living) clash together so they can beat the dragons plaguing the world. This movie is a great movie and there's no violence or any really gorey parts......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Hot Movie

    The citics didn't care for this movie but I really enjoyed it. It's too bad more people didn't see it at the theatre. The action and special FX were great. All the actors did a fine job as well. A dirty, gritty movie with a slam bang ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but should have been great.

    Reign Of Fire had all the makings of a modern day sci-fi gem. A great plotline, excellent cast, and magnificent special effects. The plotline of Dragons as the dominate species with mankind struggling to stay alive in modern times is great. The cast led, by Christian Bale, Matthew McConaughey,and Gerard Butler is excellent. The FX are great too. But somwhere the film loses it's juice. In certain spots the Reign of Fire is a action fans dream. The airborne assault to kill dragons is exciting and the film could have used more of it. The opening sequence involving the awakening of the master dragon and the destruction of civilization is well done also, capped with a narration by Bale. But the film loses it's pace off and on in the film. The dragons are not shown enough. The opening sequence should have been longer, showing how the dragons physically destroyed earth. The climax involving the master dragon was a real disappointment. The film could have used more action sequences, more dragons, and a longer running time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2