Customer Reviews for

Religulous

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Yes, it's about time

Funny as heck. Bill Maher should be applauded for simply approaching this subject. So many lives have been lost throughout the years in the name of religion. Larry Charles directs with verve and a keen sense of curiosity about all of his subjects. Excellent!

posted by BelindaThaxter on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

An editorial and opinon piece not a documentary.

I would first like to say I have no problem discussing issues with those who disagree with my worldview, or a have differing opinon. This is not the issue. Bill Maher is a man with a view and an opinon. This film is labled a documentary and I understand that it cant ...
I would first like to say I have no problem discussing issues with those who disagree with my worldview, or a have differing opinon. This is not the issue. Bill Maher is a man with a view and an opinon. This film is labled a documentary and I understand that it cant be under any other genre but this film is nothing but an opinon piece. First, he discusses Religion generaly but he only interviews, talks about, mocks and touches the surface of the religions that have come out of Judism, Christianity and Islam. He doesnt even discuss Buddaism, or Hinduism at all. Perhaps its because his main argument at the end of the film, which is also in the opening scene, is the aspect of war. War in the name of a religion.
I would whole heartly agree with him and I do that it is ridiculous when people go to war in the name of religion, especialy when they are acting contrary to that religion. Bill Mahers interviews are the worst part of the movie. His approach is crass, non-inquistive, and he really doesnt seem interasted in a real sober intellegent discussion. instead he feels to demand the person he is interviewing to have the knowledge desired but when the person being interviewed states something as fact or truth, which they may not cite where they got the information from, Maher responds curtly "no it isnt, thats not true" etc... Its not a discussion or even a debate its one mans opinon going place to place to support his opinon and degrade others with out any honest investigation. He doesnt take a persons word if its something he disagrees with but takes a persons word as truth if it supports his opinon. I watched this film because I enjoy talking, discussing and hearing other points of view regardless if they are contrary to my own. Being open to that helps us not be dogmatic and be critical minded.

Maher it seems is not subscribing to the one chief rule in debating and ascribing to a worldview. Critizing and scrutinzing your world view under the same expectations you hold over others. He stands on the "honest doubter", which appears as a cop out. because he is never on the other side of the inquisition and doesnt explain his views with sound arguemts. He discounts arguments as weak and a cop out with his own weak presentation and cop out arguments.
Maher may have a better argument than "because" but he didnt present a convicing one in this film.

As a film, creative editing is about the best I can say.

posted by Quixotic_Noble on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Kingdom Come, Thy Will Be Done...

    Relevant, irreverent, hilarious, and indecent; this movie is a lot of things. It's shocking to see someone actually talking about religion, the Great Taboo, without a herd of morons with pitchforks somewhere nearby. And Palin's in Alaska, so no need to worry about that. Bill Maher delivers an excellent comedy and an in-depth documentary of the religions of the world. No religion is spared, except maybe Shinto and possibly some of the Mystery Religions. Most people will say that Maher is attacking religion in this movie, but he is really just asking questions Socrates-style and letting the religious buffoons mock themselves. And, boy, they do a great job! If you have a sense of humor or an ounce of curiosity, you will like this movie. Yes, even if you are deeply religious. It's a roller coaster ride through That Which Can't Be Spoken Of Without Offending Some Fool Somewhere. In a world surrounded by fundamentalists, Armageddon-worshipers, and people who like to kill each other over their imaginary friends, this documentary is important and wonderful and should not be missed.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ya Gotta Love This...

    Realistic, entertaining, funny, and true. Bill goes out there and puts his ass on the line for all of us and points out the fairytale flaws that so many adults take to heart as a serious way of life.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    On my GOD :-)

    I loved this !! I now worship at the feet of Bill Maher !! I have no idea how he managed to do this without losing his mind as people are NUTS !!

    These are questions that I have asked for years and was looked at as if I had killed Bambi.

    Hats off to you Mr. Maher and Mr. Charles and crew.. it couldn't have been easy, after all you WERE using LOGIC !!

    A MUST SEE !!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Outstanding critique of religion!

    Let me begin by confessing that I am an atheist. And let me point out that I am not an anti-religious person. But I am critical of religion, and I feel that religion is an issue that needs debated and questioned. Bill Maher is a voice of reason, skepticism and comedy that perfectly sums up the problems and absurdities we have with religion while doing so in a way that should not be taken too offensively.

    Bill travels the globe, meeting people who are devoutly religious and simply asking them questions about their faith. After revealing some background information, throwing in a few jokes and debating the devout, Bill Maher adopts a serious tone addressing the issues he has with religion and why it needs to change.

    In a humorous, critical and thought-provoking way, Bill gets us to ask the questions we need to start asking even more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Why is it only comedians make us THINK, these days?

    I saw Religulous in the theatre and bought it as soon as it came out so I could share it with family and friends who didn't get to see it.

    Maher is always provacative - sometimes to the point of making me uncomfortable, but sometimes we need to be pushed out of our comfort zone to see another point of view.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    God save us from God!

    This movie is both hilarious and (should be) frightening at the same time. You know what they say about discussions concerning "religion or politics" and I am sure the "pundits' will monumentally attack Bill Maher's approach and opinion. There is much to critisize about the approach and its pretty clear that it was scripted and edited to support his opinion, which I was a bit surprised to hear so strongly at the end. But I was also enthralled by how well this last part was written. This is because 4 years ago I packed up my 45 "staunch" Episcopal years of extremely active participation and just calmly and quietly put it out of my life. They talk about the blissful feeling of "finding" Christ. I am sorry to offend anybody, but I experianced a blissful epiphany "un-finding" Christ. It was like being set free, and I have never been happier in my life. Religion is a frightening concoction that is lethal in its rationale and is poisonous to the primitives that inhabit this planet. Our society is the equivalent of a teenager out on a friday night in dad's sportscar. We are just barely old enough to qualify to drive a deadly weapon, yet may not posses the wisdom to properly handle it. Though people will vehemently try to rationalise that we do. Yes, we do have a LONG history of getting it wrong. And people need to wake the "frack" up to the fact that religion is a massive reason why the future is so frightenly precarious. As he said "wake up or die". Harsh, but I find I can't argue with that. Others I am certain can, and have every reason to waste there lives doing so. You have my sincere pity!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Grow up.

    Pretty simple.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    this movie is extremely hilarious and informative. it should be

    this movie is extremely hilarious and informative. it should be seen by every religious fundamentalist

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2