BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Remember The Titans

Average Rating 5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    The Greatest Movie Ever!

    Do you like movies about football and/or civil rights? If so you will love this movie. This movie is amazing because it¿s funny, has a lot of action, and it¿s very heartfelt. This movie is about white and black people on a football team. They have to come together to make a football family. They also have black and white coaches. They have a lot of arguments and miscues but come together and have an undefeated season. They went to the championship, but the game or two before their team captian, Gary, is in a car accident and has to be hospitalized and can¿t play. They win the championship without Gary. Gary went on to the wheelchair olympics and 10 years later Gary died. This movie is very funny because the players are always singing. This is one of my favorite part of the movie. They all sing while they walk out onto the field for the last agme before the championship. Another thing that makes this funny is the songs they sing. They sing songs from a long time ago (but that is when this movie was made). One song they sing is ¿Ain¿t no mountian high enough¿. Another reason I like this movie is all the action. They show a lot of some of the games, especially the championship game. There is also a lot of fights between the players in the beginning. My favorite part in the movie is the end because the action in the last game is so detailed. It show petey running down the sideline and sunshine running infront of him getting blocks so that petey can score the game winning touchdown. Another thing about this movie is it was very heartfelt. An example is the way the crowd gives a standiung ovation to Gary¿s mom when he gets in the wreck. Another way is the friendship showed during the movie. Julius and Gary become best friends throughout the movie. And the whole team comes to the hospital to see Gary. And the really big player doesn¿t think that he will go to college but in the end he has a C grade average. This is a great movie because of all the things I described. This movie is funny, has a lot of action and is heartfelt. You should get this movie and see what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of Denzel's best movie!!!!

    This movie is AMAZING!!!! Its based on a true story. You know ive alway been a big fan of denzel washington but this movie was phinominal!! I definitely recommend this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good mov ie

    here's the rundown. Coach Boone took the white man's job, in late 80's, people got mad and the titan's went 16-0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of those movies...

    This movie makes me laugh and cry on and off. When I laugh it's because something funny happened and when I cry it's because something either made me very happy or very sad. <BR/> The friendship that grows between Gerry and Julius is enough to make you want to jump up and down and dance. The support that they have for one another is something that everyone could learn from. <BR/> The acceptance that Coach Boone and Coach Yoast have for each other in the end is great to see. <BR/> While some of the facts about the school and other things were a little off from reality, this is one of those stories that you can't help but like. It makes you look at life and people in different ways and it is a really touching story. I would suggest this to anyone who loves sports movies or underdog stories. (Possibly, even to someone that doesn't care about sports!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I want to rate this Movie!

    This movie is so good. I almost cried while I was watching. It was also funny especially the part where "Sunshine" kissed Gerry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A New Classic

    A movie with a great deal of heart and pride. My entire family loves this film and that's really saying something...it's hard to get them all to agree on most things! Denzel Washington and Will Patton are well-cast as the coaches forced to meld their teams during the integration of the early 1970's. Highly entertaining and loaded with lots of future "stars" and a fabulous soundtrack!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Review by Tim Elmergreen

    Remember the Titans There are movies that you go see that make you think if anything like that happened in your life and then there are movies that are made to just entertain you which don’t make you think about if that happened in your life. There is one movie that did just that to me and that movie is Remember the Titans. This movie makes you think about your life and things that have happened in your life. This movie made me think about what has happened to me in my life that was like the movie and there are a few things that happened in my life that is like the movie in a way. One thing that happened in the movie is where the boys were at football camp there where a few things that happened that somewhat happened to me in my life. Have you ever been at a camp where you did not know anyone but you saw certain people that you wanted to get to know better, well when I was a boy scout I got to meet people that I never new and I got to know them better. In the movie Coach Boone, played by Denzel Washington, made the boys meet other boys from a different race them there own and it did not work as well as he wanted at first. Even though I meet new people when I was at all the camps that I went, I wish that I got there mailing address to keep in touch. Have you ever meet someone and became friends then eventually become really close friends even like family. This has happened to me in my life when I meet someone and know we are more like brothers now. We meet just before High School started and we have been there for each other since then. By time we were Seniors in High School, 2 we were more like brothers and we have been close for years now. This reminds me of when two of the football players became close by the end of the movie. The two people were Julius Campbell and Gary Bertier. At first they did not like each other were they even had a fight in the beginning of camp but by the end of camp they were somewhat friends. When school started they were the ones that kept the team together so that they did not fall apart and there were a few different things that happened during the movie that made them become very close. By time the team made it to the championship they were like brothers. Have you ever been at work and you have been doing a good job but your work hires someone better. This has not happened to me but in the movie that happened to Coach Bill Yoast when the school hired coach Boone and Yoast was going to leave and coach at another school after a year. Yoast decides to stay after the white players talked him into staying. At first the two coaches did not get along but by the end of the movie they were really close friends. If anyone wants to see a good movie that makes you think and that makes you think about more every time you see it, you need to see Remember the Titans. This movie is so good that I would recommend that you see it time and time again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Attempt

    A great chronicle in the one of the stories of our greatest controversy in this country-race. I say attempt because they sort use the metaphor of football I think too much as a symbol that we could all get along if only... we could play football. Another great misnomer in the American lexicon of information. But Denzel Washington, like he almost always is was uniquely powerful on screen whether it be black or white actor, with the exception of Brando and DeNiro. Of course, Washington didn't get an Oscar until he was a dirty cop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not your traditional Football film, but something much more worthy!

    You can’t ask for a better movie than this! This is based on a true story about a high school football team known as the Titans. It is set during the 1960’s at the beginning of the desegregation of black and white students. Denzel Washington is the coach hired by the school to plan their offensive strategies and help the colored students acclimate to the change and Will Patton is the veteran head coach who is asked to step aside and co-coach the team to keep the veteran white students with the team. The team must learn to accept each other for who they are instead of what they are regardless of the school students or local town folk may feel about them. This is truly a rare gem these days as the film is rated G! Can you believe it?! I think the last PG-rated film I saw was The Transformers Movie! A great family film with some excellent life lessons to be displayed. PG- (how rare! There is nothing wrong with this movie!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome.

    This is honestly the BEST football movie I've EVER seen in my whole life! Coming from a high school where the football team isn't so good, I can really relate. We hardly ever win games, but next year I'm prompted to become a football manager--I want to see our football team rise up just like the Titans did. I'll probably get this for Christmas--it's an instant classic! You watch the Titans go from zero to hero in this movie--the first time I saw it, it made me cry like no other sports' movie ever did. I never really liked sports' movies, but this one is absolutely the BEST EVER if you enjoy football like I do. Titans makes you spill out every emotion inside you--you get to know the team--and it's why I LOVE FOOTBALL. It has all the ferociousness of football, the dedication of the coaches, the grime, the pain--and the sweetness of victory. GO MUSTANGS FOOTBALL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Remeber The Titans" a movie to remeber.

    The movie was a hit. It was a great example of leadership and team spirit. The society that the players grew up in was filled with hate and discrimination torwards black americans. The intergregation of schools stirred up more conflict amonst the players. By the team getting along and winning, the community supported them and in a sense put their differences aside for the team. That's what I liked about the movie. That's what made it a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Excellent Movie!!!

    Remember the Titans is an excellent movie to watch with the entire family. It mixes comedy with drama, which makes it a really good movie. In this movie it shows the treatment of African Americans in the 70's and one coach's determination to bring a racially divided football team into one big family. This movie is very touching, especially the part when they begin to accept each other as brothers not black or white. I highly recommend this movie to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie I've Ever Seen!

    This is the best movie I have ever seen. I first watched it three years ago and have seen it countless times since. This movie touches on many different topics, such as prejudice, respect, teamwork, friendship. But most of all it touches your heart. All of the other movies I have ever seen do not compare to this once-in-a-liftime-flick. I highly recommend this movie to anyone with enough time to sit down with some popcorn. *smiles*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER

    Remember the Titans is one of the finest football movies ever created. It has the basic elements of any great football movie (like how the struggling football team always seems to win in the end), yet Remember the Titans is so much more. Based on a true story in 1971 in Alexandria, Virginia, Coach Boone, a black football coach, played by Denzel Washington, is the new head football coach at a school that has been just segregated against the town’s wishes. To make matters worse, the former head coach, Coach Yoast, was white and lost his job due to the arrival of Coach Boone. All of the players are at odds with each other constantly. They constantly argue, pick on, and continue to segregate themselves and do not like or trust one another. Coach Boone bolds goes where few football coaches had ever been before. He attempted to unite this racially segregated team and eventually succeeded with his compassion, grace, and absolute love of the game of football. This movie shows just how powerful one person can be in the ability to change the lives others and overcome extreme obstacles like prejudice and get a crowd of totally opposite guys to love and respect one another, football players none the less. Not only does the football team unite, the whole town gains a new perspective on one another as the Titans begin winning and overcoming the racial barrier that was so prevalent at the beginning of the season. This movie is laced with humor and strong emotion. On top of all of that, it’s the greatest movie ever because it is enjoyable, family-friendly and truly "feel-good". It makes you want to be friends with all the players on the Titans football team. Remember the Titans will forever be my favorite movie. I can watch it again and again, yet the plot line never gets old and neither do the raw emotions that go along with it. If you haven’t seen it, you are missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remember the Titans Daily

    Remember the Titans is a movie that should be owned by every American. It is a movie that stands out and represents every good quality a movie should have, but more importantly it is based on real life experiences. The movie exemplifies the struggle of our pasts and struggles within a sport and shows the overcoming factor. The movie takes place during a time when America struggled with the integration of black students into public schools and showed how a football team brought everyone together. While the football team at first had issues with playing with one another, the coaches encouraged team unity. It was not until the football captain and a black player became friends that the school began to change its views. The leadership that these boys possess is a quality that every movie watcher can gain something from. In a time when it was “taboo” to be best friends with a person of different color, these two boys played sports together, ate together and rose above prejudice. They learned to respect one another’s values and ideas. Remember the Titans also displays the ups and downs of a team. The intensity of the practices and the excitement of the game is enough to satisfy any sports fan. A tragedy at the end gives the team motivation to play with their hearts and as one. The overall movie is appealing to children, men, and women alike. There is clean humor, drama, and the “on the edge of your seat” that leaves you feeling a part of the Titan’s football team. At the end of the movie you get to view the real life footage of this team. Seeing their faces and connecting them with the actors in the movie, makes you feel some how connected. The mood portrayed through these old footages leave you feeling that you have known them your entire life. Remember the Titans is a movie with great values for everyone to see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Sports Movie of All Time.

    "Remember the Titans" is one of the best sports movies of all time. Many sports movies can stake their claim as being the best sports movie of all time, but "Remember the Titans" has one of the strongest cases for the claim of best sports movie of all time. "Remember the Titans" is a true story set back in 1971 when segregation in schools was beginning its downfall. The school, in an attempt to ease the desegregation, hires a black coach (Denzel Washington) to be the head coach of the football team. With desegregation and a new head football coach this team has many adversities it must cross in order for greatness. One thing the head coach must do is unite his team, one of the dominate themes in the movie, and look past color in order to become a strong and competitive football team. As the team unites they become stronger and form many firm friendships which will ultimately prove to be something that outlast football. Once the team forms its strong bond they prove to be unstoppable. The fact that this team fights through the many adversities throughout the football season is amazing in itself but what they do in the end is even more amazing. Do not worry I will not spoil the ending for you, but I will tell you that this movie will have you on the edge of you seat as if you were at their games and a long time fan of the team yourself. This movie is one of the greatest sports movies of all time because of the many lessons you learn about life. You may think that this movie is no different than any other sports movie but it is. "Remember the Titans" is one of the greatest sports movies of all time because it is about a team that must fight through many adversities to attain greatness. I know you are saying that it is just like all other sports movies in the fact that its about a team that must fight through great adversity to attain its greatness. But the adversities this team must fight through are totally unlike any others portrayed in sports movies. The fact that this movie is based on a real team that really had to fight through all these problems is another reason it is one of the greatest sports movies of all time. This movie is a great movie that everyone should invest in buying or at least seeing, because it will teach you many lessons about life while keeping you on the edge of your seat with great sports action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    I'm a woman, and one of those women who hates sports--HOWEVER, I absolutely loved this movie. It's all about pulling together as a team. Very heartwarming and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moving

    It was a movie that touched my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A POWERFUL FILM

    I USUALLY DON'T BUY MOVIES, BUT I WILL BUY THIS ONE. DENZEL WAS GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    If I could sum up this movie in one word, it would be GREAT!!! I know it's not the best word for something so awsome, but it's the best one I could come up with in three seconds or less. This movie, based on a true story, is one that will touch your heart. It makes you think about what life would be like back when blacks weren't welcome anywhere. Great learning as well as great descution movie. It has a lot of substence to it. One of the best movies that Denzel Washington has done. He was amazing in this movie. Overall, great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4