BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rent

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RENT is amazing--even on screen!

    This musical never ceases to blow me away. This movie was the best thing I've ever seen!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i absolutely love RENT

    i first saw this movie in the theater, and cried my eyes out. then i got into the musical. both are different but amazing at the same time. now i own this movie and ive probably watched it about 30 times. it never gets old. its filled with such incredible songs and such heart, you get so attached to the characters (im a mark fan!) buy it now!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST movie ever made!!!!!

    RENT is AMAZING!!! I couldn't find the movie ANYWHERE, but then I looked here and found it and just about fainted! I was so excited I forgot to breathe! EVERYONE must see RENT so they can also love it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Amazing Movie Ever : )

    This movie will change how you look at the world and this movie touched me and is the most amazing movie I have ever seen. Definetley recommended but it is PG-13 for a reason so listen to the rating because if you are under 13 you should definetley have parental advisoray

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I love the movie, I love the soundtrack! 'Rent' was just beautiful and I watch it again and again, not tired of it yet!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend IT!!!

    I just love this show its a good store of friends, lovers and hard times. Plus drugs and HIV.. I think it is a MUST SEE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome movie from my favorite movie director!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    love it

    Absolutely mesmerizing. I had heard some of the songs when I got the soundtrack CD as a gift- only then to find out about the DVD production. I'm a big fan of broadway so this was an definite "must have;" but regardless, this movie will pump you up and draw you in with its strong characters and vivid scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE RENT!!!!!!!

    This movie is one of the best movies I have ever seen! I can never get enough of it. I saw it in the theatures about 10 times and saw it live. I feel this musical makes a very bold statement and really opens your eyes as to what really does go one with AIDS and it shows how love is love regaurdless if it is s gay or straight relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not my cup of tea

    I did not care for this musical at all. The subject matter was probably more off-putting than the music. It was extremely dark and depresing. Not what I generally look for in entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG!!!

    this is the bestest movie i have EVER seen ... really! i luv Angel, he isnt afraid to to show his- i mean her true colors! and mark is such a sweetheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva La Vie Boheme!

    Rent is a musical movie based off the Broadway musical. Rent examines the lives of a circle of friends in one year’s time, and how they support one another, and their struggles with their relationships. The cast of characters includes a struggling filmmaker, a musician who is HIV positive, a stripper who is addicted to heroin, a drag queen street drummer with AIDs, a performance artist, a lawyer, and an out of work teacher with HIV. The songs are excellent, some of my favorite being ‘Seasons of Love’, ‘Light My Candle’, ‘Today 4 U’, ‘Out Tonight’, and ‘I’ll Cover You’. My favorite scene of the whole movie is when the entire company sings ‘La Vie Boheme’ on the tables of a bar. The energy that they emit makes you want to dance on tables next time you go out with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Day but Today

    I don't usually go in for musicals or homosexuality per se, but I stay open-minded. Rent was a good departure from what I watch usually on film or TV, which is gratitutous violence or sex, which this doesn't have. This has a powerful message of pervading themes like friendship, hope, freedom of the human spirit, and optimism even in the face of the despairing face of death, AIDS, illness, addiction, and poverty. Inspiring, with great riffs and varied music from Larson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yeay!

    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen! When I first saw it I watched it almost every night! My favorite characters are Mimi and Mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mimi-Huge Fan!

    I loved this movie so much! This movie had a great story line, which can get confusing the first time you watch the movie-like I did-but after you watch it again you really begin to understand the whole story. This is one of the best movies I have seen that has been a broadway play too since Fiddler On The Roof! If you love musicals and don't mind a movie that is depressing at times I recommend you to see this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    rent

    i love this movie. its fantabulous, darling, fantabulous. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One word:SWEEEEETNESSSSSS!!!!

    I love this movie so much i actuuly remember some of the songs! Here's some of my fav. songs AW who am i kidding i LOVE all of them!!!! Exsept "Rent" (too Fast) and "You'll See" (DON'T LIKE BENNY! Short and Sweet)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moving,beautiful,eye opening musical

    This is the best musical I've ever seen. It's gritty and real yet has a touch of humor,sweetness,and even sadness to it. RENT is stirring,touching and very liberal. It has the overall message of hope,love,compassion,equality. No day but today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply perfect - you need this.

    I can't say a single thing I didn't like about this DVD. The movie and the special features are simply spectacular... Do yourself a favor and get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6