Customer Reviews for

Repo! The Genetic Opera

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    bought it for my daughter

    She loved this movie called it her generation "Rocky Horror Picture Show"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Why the bad rap

    I do not understand how so many critics can give this movie a bad rap claiming that it is unoriginal, boring, cliche, poorly made, and has lame music. What movie were these critics watching? If you ask me, this movie is everything that critics like Kurt Loder said it wasn't. The dark seedy futuristic world that this movie takes place in is the perfect setting for the dismal, gruesome, and at times heart wrenching story that it portrays with just the right ammount of humor. Definitely worth a watch. The music is great and catchy, the visuals are incredible, and the acting is amazing. Throw in an original storyline and an emotional plotline and you are in for a treat. Please give it a chance. It is definitely the cult movie that so many critics don't think it is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love Love Love Love

    It's everything that makes a fantastic opera.
    The music is fantastic.
    It's sad and heart-wrenching.
    It's happy, it's funny
    It's creative, it's artistic.


    It's just...awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!

    BEST OPERA EVER!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a little glass vile

    Violence and gore combined with a truly amazing and eclectic cast plus the stunning visual effects and you've got Repo the Genetic Opera. It's a rock opera and compares to no other. It moved to my favorite film slot very quickly after my first time seeing it in theaters. I've seen it 3 times in theaters. I bought the DVD right away (last copy at store) and then I ordered two more copies (one for brother, one for sister) because yes, it's that awesome. I cannot recommend this film enough, unless you're a very bland and boring person that likes boring and bland films. If that's NOT you, then grab a copy. The cast was just incredible and the songs are fantastic (3 are up for Academy Awards) and you WILL find yourslef singing them. So, if you want to be instantly cooler, watch this film and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    Amazing play! As well as movie! The music was brilliant and witty! By far one of my favorite films!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    TESTIFY!!

    Repo! has been such an amazing experience for myself and a few of my friends. It isn't only a movie - it's an event! The music and performances are absolutely outstanding. Repo! is one of those projects that just brings people together. If you're a fan of horror films and great music - Repo! is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic surprise.

    Intense, stylish, and over the top, a great addition to cult classic collections. The lyrics sometimes felt a little forced, it could have afforded a bit better writing in that respect, but the music made up for it. Paris Hilton was really surprisingly good in this, I didn't once want to stab her face. *Listens to Zydrate Anatomy on repeat*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG!!!

    oK I LUV THIS MOVIE! THE MUSIC ROCKS AND THE ACTORS ARE AMAZING! i GOT IT REALLY FAST OFF b&n!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good. I Love Paris Hilton

    the movie was great and for all haters, Paris Hilton did very good in this movie at singing and acting. even my mom was surprised. i was never a fan of her but after this...i gained alot for her.great movie and its like a gothic wizard of oz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely amazing!

    I saw this movie the other day with a few friends who had been wanting me to watch it for a while. I was slightly nervous, it seemed to be too gory for my taste, and I thought it would be filled with bad acting (I mean, Paris Hilton? Enough said) and mediocre music. But nevertheless, I watched Repo!. Not only did the movie completly blow me away, but as soon as I got home I downloaded all of the songs onto my computer. This movie is amazing, the music is outstanding, and it is easily one of my favourite movies of all time! And for Paris Hilton; I may not be a fan, but she did very well in this movie. I loved it! I'm buying it tomorrow actually, and am greatly looking forward to watching this over and over!
    Easily a cult classic, one I'll show to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Never thought it would be SO GOOD!!

    I simply loved this movie! It did everything it was supposed to do...and more. I have had my friends over many times to watch it! It WILL make you laugh & cry and also root for the "bad guy"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cult Classic

    Nothing is better than Anthony Head, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, singing as the Repo Man. This was truely a new Rocky Horror Picture Film and just as amazsingly beautiful too. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Testify!

    This has to be the best cult movie of 2008. With it's catchy Rock ballad songs such as "Zydrate Anatomy" and "Chase the Morning", it's easy to see why so many people are becoming obsessed. It's sung from beginning to end (hence "Opera") with minimal dialog, which makes it hard to understand some lines.<BR/><BR/>Despite the low budget, Repo's sets, costume, and quality are beautiful and make you want to live in the futuristic world. This is not just a slasher film, although there is plenty of violence to keep gore fans happy, there is a very interesting and unique story being told here. In fact, a whole world has been created in Repo and there is plenty of room for more stories to follow. Unlike many sequels, a sequel to Repo would be completely justified.<BR/><BR/>Now don't be fooled by seeing Paris Hilton's name on there. Her role was minimal and in my opinion, she was quite good. And I have to say I was deeply amused to hear Ogre's voice as Pavi. Hilarious. <BR/><BR/>The originality of this movie is a breath of fresh air. I highly suggest you see it. <BR/><BR/>I recommend the Blu-Ray because it comes with deleted scenes and features that the DVD does not include.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow.

    A friend and I cought this film at a primiere in Ca though its played in two different countries. It's awesome!!! This film will make you think. The music is catchy and phenomenal!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2