Customer Reviews for

Requiem for a Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Truly Intense

This is one movie that stuck in my head for days! The images of the phases of drug addiction are not only intense and realistic but disturbing in a fascinating way. If I ever thought of using hard core drugs, this movie changed my mind.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Requiem for a dream

I personally enjoy darker films, but this movie was without a doubt the most intense movie that ive ever seen.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "I like thinking about the red dress..."

    'Requiem for a Dream' is a sobering look at the life of drug addicts, both young and old. The story follows the lives of Sara Goldfarb, her son Harry, his girlfriend, and his best friend. Sara is a lonely widow living in near poverty in Coney Island. Her first addiction is to television and then to eating. She remains blissfully unaware of her son's heroin addiction, even though he steals her TV regularly and pawns it for drug money. Sara is given what seems to be a chance at happiness when one of her favourite TV shows offers her a spot on an upcoming episode. She never makes it on TV and ruins her life in the pursuit of her dreams of being thin and being able to wear her red dress on television. While Sara is breaking down, Harry and his friends are trying to feed their heroin habits by dealing in the drug themselves. Everything seems to be going fine until a few mistakes are made and then they have to face the harsh realities of the situation.<BR/><BR/>One thing I really like about this film that keeps bringing me back to it is the authenticity of the emotions in the story. This is a movie that will make you feel something, even if the feelings aren't always good. When I first saw 'Requiem,' I left the theatre feeling emotionally drained. It's the kind of movie that gives those willing to watch it raw emotion and experience without the facade of false hope and happiness. The cinematography is another key part of the success in the storytelling. It's a visually appealing movie that tries to bring the viewer into the harrowing world of heroin addiction through images and sound.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Intense

    This is one movie that stuck in my head for days! The images of the phases of drug addiction are not only intense and realistic but disturbing in a fascinating way. If I ever thought of using hard core drugs, this movie changed my mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    REQUIEM

    Frighteningly real; you see the raw meat of addiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to forget

    When this movie was on I was glued to the screen, but afterward I wanted to be brainwashed to forget it. I lent the movie out before returning it (misery loves company), and when I inquired about it I was told, "I wish I didn't see that", I felt satisfied that I wasn't the only person with that reaction. As disturbing as the movie was I couldn't shut it off, so it must have had some sort of strange entertainment value. I would have liked to have read the book first, the written word always hits harder. I think I'm going to check out some of Selby's other novels to see if they have the same effect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional, creepy, thought-provoking, and just all around mind-blowing

    I had been told by numerous people that this film was top-notch. I was told that it was very emotional and was one of the best films out there as far as realism goes and just about getting the point across. This definitely does it.<BR/><BR/>You follow Harry, Tyrone, Marion, and Harry's mother, Sarah on their journeys into one of the darker areas of society: addiction. While the three teens are heroine addicts and Sarah is addicted to diet pills, all of their share of painful effects and hardships.<BR/><BR/>This is a film not for the faint of heart in any way. If you are easily offended or sickened, do NOT see this movie. You'll need a strong stomach and an open mind to see it through.<BR/><BR/>While the ending was not quite what I had expected, I found it to be emotionally draining. I was left sitting there, listening to the music of the credits, just thinking "Wow..." The final scenes are so mind boggling that it might take a while for your brain to wrap around it.<BR/><BR/>The acting is very well done and all the characters are very believable. The way some of the scenes are done are so wacky and abstract that you yourself feel as if you're on something. Even though the main theme is replayed many times in the movie, I never grew tired of it, as I personally find it to sound beautiful.<BR/><BR/>Again, this movie requires a strong stomach and a very open mind. Don't go into this thinking it's a "friendly" film. It's not. Probably one the darkest movies I honestly have ever seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent film!

    All around, this film is an excellent portrayal of addiction on all levels, from the early stages of recreational use with the best of intentions to the inevitable late stages manifested by each individual character. As with all movies based on books, however, there is some discrepancy between the drug mentioned in the novel and the one portrayed in the film, as certain physical effects of the substance are not shown accurately. The desperation of those addicted is well-characterized, and the soundtrack adds to the intensity of the screen-play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing.

    "Requiem for a Dream" is one of the most brilliant movies ever made. I felt completely different after watching. It made a huge impact in me. I watched it multiple times before giving it back to my friend who let me borrow it. This movie is a must see. You will not regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There are no words to describe it

    This is, arguably, one of the best movies ever made (yes, I know it's a very tired saying, but I'm serious). As to the people who gave it one star, they are too impatient, and they must watch the movie again. Ellen Burstyn gave a performance above and beyond any award she could possibly have received. This is just one of those movies that MUST be seen and appreciated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A modern masterpiece

    There is so much to say about this movie... it is schocking, beautiful and brilliant. It definitely will not appeal to everyone, and i dont recommend it for fans of mindless action movies. I also don't recommend watching this movie out of sheer curiosity, because one of your buddies told you it was schocking and vile and dirty (which it is). Requiem is a true piece of art, sure to change your life after seeing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Be Warned- This movie Delivers!

    "Requiem" is a simple 'any-addicts' story that comes alive through superb acting, suck-you-in cinemetography/directing and a spellbinding realism that leaves you mourning the characters' fates. This movie will gobble you whole, shake you up, and spit you out. It left me with my head spinning. Not so much a heartbreaking movie as a thought inspiring one. A horrifying and bald essay on addiction. Awesome flick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO TITLE MY REVIEW

    exelent movie, very eye opening, the scenes with Harry's mother were amazing! there were some scenes that were really hard to watch but over all incredible movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Selby an Urban Sage

    The movie was incredible...the interview with Selby by Burstyn as an extra gives us a real look at Selby's genius. He is a valuable elder in our society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Yet VERY DARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This has to be one of the best movies ever written!!! :) Not only did it contain raw and dark scenes, but the movie also consisted of a beautiful love story. What more can you ask for!!! It can turn around anyones life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A once in a lifetime

    This movie was beautiful. I loved it, but the exprience was much to painful to watch again. It gave me a new outlook on life and changed the way i perceive those around me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Requiem for a dream

    I personally enjoy darker films, but this movie was without a doubt the most intense movie that ive ever seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievable Content!!!!

    Requiem For a Dream is simply one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It has an incredibly strong message and delivers it in such a way that touches everyone who sees it. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is looking for anything different and compelling in their cinematic experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Connelley nude and I still couldn't bother to watch it

    Wow this is bad. Not as bad as, "The Sheltering Sky", but more boring. I mean, just a badly acted, badly directed, boring, boring, boring movie. See "The Wrestler" for an example of what this director can do right.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Drugs Are Bad

    Drugs are bad because they'll turn your arm green and make you want to put the Wayans Brothers in your independent movie.

    We know someone is getting high after a series of quick edits. The whole movie is nothing but quick edits. I used to edit home movies like that, but I had to stop after relatives got sick.

    This film showed many addictions, but none were to scratch-off lottery tickets. They're my only weakness, my ONLY weakness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    Absolutely great! A character driven emotional thrill ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hours of my life I'll never get back

    After hearing people I know rave nonstop about this film, I decided to check it out for myself to see what the big fuss was about. Not only did I not 'get' why everyone was claiming to have had their life changed by this movie, but after watching it again (to see if maybe I was just crabby the first time I watched it) I found that it was just not a great movie in any way. The acting was poor and I just think it could have been done a lot better than it was. Thankfully, I didn't have to pay for it the second time I rented it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4