Customer Reviews for

Resident Evil

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Movie is Just Plain Cool!

    4.5 out of 5

    When Alice (Milla Jovovich) wakes up on a shower floor inside a mansion with no memory, she has little time to try and get herself together. Soon the place is infiltrated by commandos, who then take her down beneath the mansion to an underground train and into a place called the Hive, a hidden underground facility where the powerful Umbrella Corporation was conducting secret experiments.

    The problem is something had gone wrong before the team got there.

    And the dead are coming back to life.

    Alice and the commandos dodge zombies, the Hive's super sophisticated security system--called the Red Queen--and teammates who have secrets of their own.

    It would be a miracle if anyone makes it out of the Hive . . . alive.

    This movie is pure suspense. Every little sound, thump and bump make you wonder when a zombie's going to pop out of nowhere and devour one of the living. Keeping things even creepier is the Hive itself. It's location: a half mile below Raccoon City. Space is limited. Time is running out. You feel the tension all the way through, right from when Alice wakes up till the blood-soaked climax.

    I loved this movie. The only reason I'm knocking off half a point is because the plot is super simple (though they make you feel otherwise). However, this flick serves as an awesome back story for what's to come because there have been two sequels so far (Resident Evil: Apocalypse and Resident Evil: Extinction) and a fourth one to come in 2011, currently called Resident Evil: Afterlife.

    This movie definitely served its purpose of setting things up for the saga to come, and wasted no time going through zombie origin stuff before getting hardcore into the action, mystery and carnage. Director/writer Paul W.S. Anderson nailed it with this film. Though--according to my Mrs--this flick was different than the game, I enjoyed it big time and have been a fan of the franchise since. Guess I owe my wife one for introducing it to me back when this film came out.

    Zombie fans will love this movie and it's easy to see why Resident Evil has the following it does.

    Recommended.

    A.P. Fuchs
    Canister X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Movie!

    This movie is an amazing movie! The movie is a good action movie, that almost anyone can enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie is awesome, but in some ways unlike the game

    Th Resident Evil was awesome with the content, but i have one little thing to add. Where is Jill Valentine? Where is Chris Redfield? and the rest of all the S.T.A.R.S that went in to the mansion. It was an awesome movie but why would you want to add new characters to it like to team that went in was nothing like the team from the first game. I would also like to know where the big bad Tyrant is and why some say the antidote to the Tyrant-Virus(T-Virus) is the G-Virus because if anybody ever paid any attention to the second game the G-Virus was made by William Birkin as a more potent virus the mutated human cells at a much greater rate than the T-Virus does. Not only that but the plot in the game was much more intense than what they had in the movie because there was a much bigger traitor than there was in the movie. Albert Wesker had played a really big part in the first game as captian of the S.T.A.R.S team, but was also a big part of the plot i don't see why they wouldn't add him in along with Chris and Jill heck even add in Barry, Rebecca, and Brad because they were also survivers of the Arklay Mountains Incident. I just think they should of tried to stay true to the game not change chracters and some content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Milla ooooooooooooooo

    ok let me try to stop thinking of my girlfriend milla here and concintrate on the movie. and the movie was cool. i liked the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this movie, its my favorite.I am so glad they made the game into movies. And to any REsident EVil fan that doesn't like the movie, I just have to say how can you call yourself a fan of the game . To be a true fan you have to like the movie even if you think it is horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A DECENT ZOMIE MOVIE

    I was really surprised that this movie had so little action in it after watching it. It was a decent movie, but certainly didn't meet my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was great!

    I thought this movie was awesome! The action and special effects were phenomenal. All to go along to a great soundtrack by Marilyn Manson. Great movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very poor Zombie Flick

    The only creatures that looked scary was the licker and the zombie dogs, the zombies didn't look as real as the ones in the dead trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must SEE!!!!

    Watch this movie!!! Then watch Resident Evil Apocalypse, then Watch this movie again!!! it'll be even better tahn before!!!!!!!!!!! EXCELLENT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have

    This movie rocks my world. I am always in the mood to watch it. Finally a action flick that really kicks butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    outstanding Thriller, Action, Adventure

    Ok ladies and gents, even though the movie is different from the games IT IS AWESOME! The movie starts out in the hive, were the queen of The Umbrella Corp. is living. She is a hollow graphic little english girl, or a computer, with a mean attitude. In the hive Umbrella is creating a boi-enginered T-virus, that brings dead cells back to life, but they are of the dead, and eat the living. a single bite or scrach from these zombies, can mutate you into one yourself. One day the virusgets out into the hive, so the queen has no choice but to kill everyone in the hive so it won't get out. A few days later a S.T.A.R.S team(Special Tactics And Rescue Squad) is sent in to investigate. But they do not know what creatures are lurking behide every corner. Along with them is Alice, one of the s.t.a.r.s members,her husband, and a cop named Matt, which all have lost there memory from being gased. Alice's and her husband's marrige was to cover up the hive's location.When the team gets into the hive, they split up, and of cource all the sudden Alice is separated from the group, and is being chased by mutant dogs. Elsewhere Rain and J.D. are being herasted by a mutant human. And for the peoplr who like disecting, you will love the laser hallway to the queen bee. After a few members of the team are invected, they relise that there is a cure, called the G-virus. Who will live? Who will become a zombie? Will the zombies ever be stopped? Watch the movie and you will be able to answer these questions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie

    I thought this movie was very good. who cares if it's not like the game, it's still good. yeah their special effects aren't the best, but the movie is still worth a check. yes they did put every monster out except for one, but it's still satifies me. In my opinion it's a break away from the game. It would have been better if they added more monsters, but like I said, it's still good. worth a rent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    This movie is awesome. The best part is the laser room where they get cut in half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better take some happy pills.

    When I saw this title on the shelf of the video rental store, i thought it's about time to check it out. But first, I check the back of the video case to see reviews and etc. I read the info about the movie's plot and cast. One line said 'eye-poping special effects'. So I'm thinking, this will be pretty good. The results were disapointing. And I thought The Mummy Returs had the worst special effects. The special effects looked more like claymation. Try watching Chicken Run with Downsyndrome and get drunk. The story is different from the game, along with the characters. But this does not bother me. It's the special effects and a little bit of the storyline. Now, it's time to review House of the Dead and possibly get disapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Resident evil horror!

    Resident evil is an excellent movie which me and some other mates watched with me.One person hated it and said the zombies didn't look real!You can't get much more real than that.Great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I liked it....but I had one problem.......

    Well I really liked the movie...but I didn't give this movie the last 2 stars for 2 reasons....1:I feel,along with many others,that this movie didn't do a very good job with following the guidelines of the resident evil games or books...and 2: I think they should have thrown a few more of Umbrella's twisted,mutated,experiments at the team....hopefully the next movie will be alot more satisfying....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Less than Impressed

    I gave it two stars for effects, but if you don't know the storyline, you have no idea about what's going on for the first 40 minutes of the movie. A lot of sequences were slow and not descript. If you don't know the game, DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A truly addictive cast!!!

    Resident Evil is one of my favorite films because the storyline is great, the special effects are excellent, and the cast was phenomenal. I really loved the whole Special Ops thing. I first saw the movie 5 days ago, and I am still mad because Rain died. I don't think the sequel will be half as good without her somewhat thugish presence. Overall the movie was good, but I am VERY disguested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Where's Wesker?!?''

    This movie is terrible. I thought George A. Romero was supposed to direct this! Why was he off the project? Paul Anderson is a hack! He should have stuck to Mortal freakin Kombat. The actual video games are creepier! In fact, I stopped this movie and played Resident Evil Zero. And I had a great time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A - To a GREAT Horror Flick

    The best thing about Resident Evil is that it combines a great plot, jokes, scientific mumbo-jumbo, and action. Not only does it have these things, but it also combines them well. Also, the jokes come at just the right time, and though the effects aren't too good, the sets and transition from scene to scene is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3