Customer Reviews for

Road to Perdition

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Irish Anger is Terminal

    A brilliant and lasting crime drama set in Depression-Era America with such superb actors as Tom Hanks, Jude Law (who was very twisted in this flick), and the always dominating Paul Newman. Tom Hanks was the morally corrupted Michael Sullivan and enforcer for John Rooney, Irish mob boss to the Italian stars in Chicago. Newman was purposefully subdued in his role in this revenge drama where his son betrays everybody, the not-so-scrupulous Daniel Craig playing Connor Rooney. Sam Mendes' most mature film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than exepcted

    Movies shows every aspect of the depression- from the underground brothels/nightclub to going into chicago to the farm house going towards perdition. But what more can you have with Tom Hanks/Jude Law. Definately worthwhile to rent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    2nd best movie of the year!

    What happened to the Oscar.. loss of memory. Tom Hanks is great, the story is interesting. Dare I say it's the best mob film since the Godfather film a few years back. See it! That's an offer you should not refuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hanks & Newman Shine / Perdition Falls Short

    Personally, after reading so many raving reviews of this great new epic by director Sam Mendes (''American Beauty''), I was expecting nothing less than ''The Godfather'', ''Bonnie And Clyde'' or ''Good Fellas''. What I got was a cross between ''Paper Moon'' & ''Miller's Crossing''. The acting was superb...and with Tom Hanks, Paul Newman & Jennifer Jason Leigh it always is. The cinematography was excellent, the backdrops and effects were top notch. Then how come I am sitting here feeling like I have been cheated of a grand epic type gangster movie that I was promised? The story is old. Father is a hitman...son sees father whack someone...father now has to protect his own, or they will be eliminated as well...they turn to past friend...past friend is already in father's enemy's hip pocket...secretly, past friend wants father to off enemy but will not help him openly...and it goes on and on and on. Any of that sound familiar? You can find similar storylines in just about any gangster movie out there today. Only a few can rise above mediocrity and I did not feel ''Road To Perdition'' accomplished that. Everything intertwined in the storyline was weak. The only reason I appreciated it for what it was worth, is Hanks & Newman. They were superb. Put any two other actors in their roles, and this movie is nothing more than mediocre. The strength of a movie should never have to fall on the shoulders of the actors. ''Road To Perdition'', unfortunately for us mob movie fans, does. You would be just as good off by watching ''Bugsy'' or ''Carlito's Way''...(which in my opinion, had MUCH better storylines and plots....now those were good mob movies). ''Road To Perdition'' may find a space on my home shelf, but will pale in comparison to the other greats sitting there next to it. See below for those titles. Nothing beats ''Good Fellas''...not yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Tom Hanks Greatest Movies

    Tom Hanks, Paul Newman, and Jude Law. Who else can you ask for? This is possibly one of the better Tom Hanks movies. He was a superburb actor in this movie and Jude Law's crazyness adds suspense to it. Based in early time, i suggest you buy it.... i know i have. :)djoey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie falls shorts of my expectations

    This was a great movie don't get me wrong but it the critics made it to like the godfather (not many movies are). Neverthe less Tom Hanks and Paul Newman turn in class A performances but the films best perfomances are made by Jude Law as the Hitman/photographer and by Tyler Hoechlin as Tom Hank's son. The Cinematography was superb, they did a magneficent job recreating depression era Chicago. This is a great movie, even though it is no Godfather it is still a great accomplishment and well worth your viewing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen! It was great! Tom Hanks was amazing in this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tom hanks at his best

    IT is a great tale of revenge. an excellent but sad movie. well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Featuring the Real Ol Blue Eyes

    At least a few readers have watched Robert Blake grow from Red Ryder's kid sidekick to whatever he has grown to now , and a few more have seen Ron Howard grow from Opie Taylor to Ritchie Cunningham to Oscar-winning Director Ron Howard. Part of the fun in seeing Road to Perdition is predicting the direction of the career path of Tyler Hoechlin, who plays the role of Mike Sullivan, Jr. to Tom Hanks' Mike Sullivan, Sr. This lad is at least half the glue which holds the film together. The other half is Paul Newman's character. If Newman lives to 100+, there will always be a role which he can land and master. The magic of Road to Perdition is that is lives in a milieu of grim depression, but does not drag the viewer along with it. Gray wintry days in depression-rident Qual Cities, Ill. don't extinguish the light of this movie which somehow sends a message of hope and anticipation for the future. Some viewers have already seen the beacon of Hanks' potential as a serious actor, but for many, Road to Perdition marks the first hint that Hanks is anything but a one-dimensional performer. Several supporting actors and a few more bit-part players round out the cast which strengthen the impact of the film. The reader is urged to pay close attention to all the performers.There are some names here which you are going to be hearing again---and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Duo of Legendary Actors

    The acting of Tom Hanks as father who would do anything for his son risks his life against a head boss man(Paul Newman) that was a father to Tom Hanks but steps the line because the boss man's son is corrupt is quite a story twist and the feelings and actions that Paul Newman and Tom Hank made so believeable was amazon and genius the way they were able to play the roles. The twist with Jude law was just something else. A Third character would pop in while you are caught up with the main plot was just something else especially the character Jude Law plays is so good that weird, mysterious, and some what unnatural type of character. Over all the movie plot, the actors,and the directing are simply legendary. Beautiful done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it!!

    I wached it twice and loved it twice it rocks.I love the father son part of it really butiful,there is a ton of voilance but the good acting pays it off.But do not watch it if you don't like Tom Hanks and Paul Numan(who dosent?)So overall I love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Amazing Cimematic Experience!

    This is one of, if not, the best movie I have ever seen! It had everything anyone could want in a film, and is defenatly the best mafia film since the Godfather. If I didn't know any better, I would say it was better than The Godfather. I've been waiting for a release date on this film, and I have it on reserve. I loved this film and I know you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This year's Godfather.

    Wow. What a film. This is for fans of The Godfather. Tom Hanks plays, yet again, another great role. The movie is very sad and pretty violent at times. Go see it; it's a movie to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING

    A must see for all movie lovers. Tom Hanks is amazing in this movie. A glorious triumph between right and wrong. TWO THUMBS UP!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2