Customer Reviews for

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love This Movie!!!

    I love this movie!!!! I like just about anything that has Kevin Costner. My only problem with this DVD is half way through the movie you have to flip the DVD over to watch the rest. That was WIERD!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Anyone but Costner

    Yes it is true Kevin Costner was not the right person for the role, however, the supporting cast makes it a film worth watching. It is also important to note that the addition of the Moor character, as well as differences in other characters, is all derived from the short-lived Robin of Sherwood series, which I HIGHLY recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Robin Hood the original film

    This version of Robin Hood proves to be as good as the remake, Kevin Costner definitely made the perfect Robin for the film and I can see why, he shines in the way he speaks to masses making him the perfect leader! The feel of this movie is more fun than then the remake but with a hint of seriousness. The characters are different as well, Marion is the king's cousin while Robin is the son of Lord Locksley. The heart of the film was wonderful and the plot was very fun! Marion and Robin are very different yet the same! It is hilarious to see them banter with each other! The hilarious moments made the movie extremely watchable too! Check this out if you love the remake and to see Alan Rickman "Snape" from Harry Potter in one of his earlier roles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves extended version

    I didn't know there was an extended version of Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves until I went to buy it. I love the added sequences featuring Alan Rickman and Mortiana the Witch. Alan Rickman was so good in the first version I saw and to have 12 extra minutes is Icing on the Cake. I guess I'm like a lot of people who wonder why Kevin Costner didn't get a dialect coach and use an English accent. Also there is a mistake concerning The Sheriff of Nottingham's clerk when he follows Mortiana's advice. Oops! It is still a wonderful movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Costner's best performance (not saying much)

    Costner as Robin Hood, as usual, was overly focused on emotions than on overall performance. Morgan Freeman, as usual, asserts his position as a great performer in whatever role he pursues. He outshines everybody, which makes the movie move more flowingly than just Costner in it. The score of the movie made dividends in a highly romanticized version of who Robin Hood was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A good movie, but would've been better without Costner

    This movie inspired me to become a Robin Hood fan. When I first saw it, I loved it: I liked the action sequences, 'realistic' costuming, sense of humor and creative new characters. I still like the movie, but since then, I've watched a variety of other Robin Hood films. Kevin Costner is by far the worst portrayal of Robin of them all. His accent is terrible (so terrible it that I think it inspired the parody 'Robin Hood: Men In Tights') and his character is so unlikable that we want to see him loose. Robin Hood fans have severely criticized this movie (I'm surprised there are not more bad reviews on this site). However, the classic Errol Flynn version really can't be compared to a 90's action-adventure movie. If you miss the quality classic films and don't like the newer special effects stuff you probably won't like this movie. Otherwise, I recommend the movie - just don't be too disappointed when Robin wins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rickman, Yes..Costner, NO!

    I enjoy this movie very much (at least once a month!). But I found Costner's acting very wooden and boring. But the Sherriff of Nottingham!!! The sole saving grace of the movie! Alan Rickman not only chews the scenery, he DEVOURS it! What a performance! The first time I watched it(and to this day), I was pulling for the Sherrif to kill Robin and get Maid Marion! Can't get enough of Rickman!I tend to fast forward to his parts! This movie turned me into an Alan Rickman NUT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Exciting!

    I am not a very big fan of Robin Hood, but this movie is so auesome I have to like it. This movie will be a good movie for all you that want a action packed movie. This movies is so thrilling that your actually up and standing! Rated: PG-13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1