Customer Reviews for

Romeo & Juliet

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most Wonderful and Absolutely Timeless Film Ever

    In my 9th grade English class, we read the original play ''Romeo and Juliet.'' While I enjoyed it greatly, it was not until I saw Franco Zeffirelli's film version that everything came to life. This movie has a unique quality about it that makes it different than any other film that I have ever seen. Usually in pictures, and other film versions, Romeo and Juliet are shown as adults, even though they are written as teenagers in the play (Juliet is only 13, about to be 14). Seeing Olivia Hussey, age 15, and Leonard Whiting, age 17, play these roles made the story more real to me. It showed that love has no limits or restrictions, including age, and I think that is one of the themes Shakespeare was trying to convey. I am 14, close to Juliet's age in the story, and could not imagine anyone my age experiencing what Juliet did until I saw this film. Every single scene was so touching and emotional, I felt as though I was in Verona, watching all the action first-hand. This movie is the best example I can think of to illustrate why Shakespeare is still being read and preformed today- because the themes are timeless. I hope everyone has the oppertunity to see this film and have the same experience that I did. Hopefully, it will change your ideas about Shakespeare.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Franco Zeffirelli's Romeo and Juliet

    I was a fan of this movie when it first came out in 1968. I was only 14 at the time. No matter how many countless films I have seen over the years, this film has remained my all-time favorite movie! Leonard Whiting and Olivia Hussey are perfect in the starring roles. Michael York's performance as Tybalt is powerful, and John McEnery's Mercutio is unforgettable. This is a film both you and your children can enjoy together. It's a great introduction to Shakespeare.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Colorful costuming and a tuneful Nino Rota score is no substitut

    Colorful costuming and a tuneful Nino Rota score is no substitute for the Bard being performed capably. With a few minor exceptions the line readings are embarrassing, the greatest offenders being the lead duo Olivia Hussey and Leonard Whiting. Michael York, at least, displays some bravura, but Zeffirelli's film is ultimately a silly rendition of the most overrated of Shakespeare's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    We were reading this in my 9th grade class for high school, and

    We were reading this in my 9th grade class for high school, and I enjoyed it greatly. If someone asked me if i would want to read it again, I would say yes. I found this book very interesting because it shows they way people were back then and the style of writing was used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    nice

    this one was nice better than the new one so romantic and yet so sweet a true love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I Love it..

    This movie is one of my top favorites. I will never get tired of this film, I love how it just brings the play to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Version!

    I have read Romeo and Juliet multiple times. Of all the movie versions, this one is BY FAR the best. This movie is art at its best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovely version of Romeo & Juliet

    As an 8th grade Literature (ELA) teacher I bought this to show to my class. It is an authentic and lovely version of the play and the students truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Only Romeo & Juliet Movie

    I saw this movie as a child and I think it made me fall in love with love. I watched the version with Leonardo Di Caprio and I felt as if it was blasphemy to the name of Shakespeare. This is the only true interpretation of this work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good but...

    Okay I'm siting in my English 9 class at, what, 7:30AM ready to see the next bit of this awesome R+J movie. The substitute mumbles something about breif nudity and starts the DVD, and BAM! I wouldn't call that breif! If they had toned down the nakedness it would be almost perfect. Another thing is that the fight between Tybalt and Mercutio is portrayed as really a joke gone bad but in the play it was ment for them to be serious. Other than that great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Boomer weighs in on a fabulous movie

    Granted, I was a college student in Boston when this film came out,but it so portrayed the passion and angst of the leads -even the music-that when my then-boyfriend and later ex divorced, neither of us wanted the album because it still made us cry. To those who thought the leads too young and sexual, look at youth today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely wonderful!

    i think leonard whiting is so hot in this movie, but besides that it's an excellent movie and i read the book and that's wonderful too! i love romeo and juliet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From School Collection to Personal Collection

    We were reading Romeo and Juliet in class and when finished watch the movie. I'd never seen a movie adaptation of the play and didn't think it odd to see young actors. Nonetheless I thouroughly enjoyed the movie and bought it the next week. And while there are many descrepencies from the original text, it's a great movie and I recomend to everyone of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Beautiful

    I just loved this movie. I didn't think that any film adaption could do Shakespeare justice, and unfortunately for me, I saw the 1996 Luhrmann film first, which thoroughly scared me (don't watch that- a waste of time). Then I watched this. The acting, scenery, costumes- just breathtaking. Leonard Whiting and Olivia Hussey are both amazing, and I really loved the castings of Benvolio, Mercutio, and Tybalt. It was how I had always imagined the story. Definitely the best Shakespearean film adaption I've seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I like Tristan and Isolde better!

    Okay, first, the girl that was shown half naked was probably fifteen or fourteen. Also, too boring for any one's own good. Bottom line, watch this movie only if you're smashed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!!!!!!!

    WOW!!!!this is an excellent movie. I couldn't stop crying at the end. I love the way Romeo and Juliet were portrayed. That is exactly how i pictured Romeo and Juliet. they did an ecellent job in bringing this famous tragedy to life!!!Romeo is sooo Hot!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT

    I thought this movie was excellent. It wasn't exactly the same as the play, so if you haven't read that, you MIGHT get confused, but you'll still enjoy it. The acting was also really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good job

    it was great!! the actors portrayed the characters wonderfully! olivia hussey was SEXY when she was naked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING

    This is the best version of Romeo and Juliet. The other two versions were not so good. When I begun to read the book i thought it was pretty good the movie was really close to all the details. But Romeo however did spend a lot of his time in trees!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sigh

    This movie wuz awesome in comparison 2 some other versions. Whoever said that new movies were better were wrong! the characters were way into their parts, especially when it came 2 kissing 4 some reason. that's the 1 reason i rated it a star low. if you've read Shakespear's play as many times as i have you'd know that Juliet wished 2 be virtuous & accepted a few kisses just not as many as those. Juliet is portrayed by a wonderful actress however as is Romeo w/ the actor, must comment that even though they're probably around 50-something now Romeo is pretty hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3