Customer Reviews for

Romeo & Juliet

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most Wonderful and Absolutely Timeless Film Ever

    In my 9th grade English class, we read the original play ''Romeo and Juliet.'' While I enjoyed it greatly, it was not until I saw Franco Zeffirelli's film version that everything came to life. This movie has a unique quality about it that makes it different than any other film that I have ever seen. Usually in pictures, and other film versions, Romeo and Juliet are shown as adults, even though they are written as teenagers in the play (Juliet is only 13, about to be 14). Seeing Olivia Hussey, age 15, and Leonard Whiting, age 17, play these roles made the story more real to me. It showed that love has no limits or restrictions, including age, and I think that is one of the themes Shakespeare was trying to convey. I am 14, close to Juliet's age in the story, and could not imagine anyone my age experiencing what Juliet did until I saw this film. Every single scene was so touching and emotional, I felt as though I was in Verona, watching all the action first-hand. This movie is the best example I can think of to illustrate why Shakespeare is still being read and preformed today- because the themes are timeless. I hope everyone has the oppertunity to see this film and have the same experience that I did. Hopefully, it will change your ideas about Shakespeare.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Franco Zeffirelli's Romeo and Juliet

    I was a fan of this movie when it first came out in 1968. I was only 14 at the time. No matter how many countless films I have seen over the years, this film has remained my all-time favorite movie! Leonard Whiting and Olivia Hussey are perfect in the starring roles. Michael York's performance as Tybalt is powerful, and John McEnery's Mercutio is unforgettable. This is a film both you and your children can enjoy together. It's a great introduction to Shakespeare.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    nice

    this one was nice better than the new one so romantic and yet so sweet a true love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I Love it..

    This movie is one of my top favorites. I will never get tired of this film, I love how it just brings the play to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Version!

    I have read Romeo and Juliet multiple times. Of all the movie versions, this one is BY FAR the best. This movie is art at its best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovely version of Romeo & Juliet

    As an 8th grade Literature (ELA) teacher I bought this to show to my class. It is an authentic and lovely version of the play and the students truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Only Romeo & Juliet Movie

    I saw this movie as a child and I think it made me fall in love with love. I watched the version with Leonardo Di Caprio and I felt as if it was blasphemy to the name of Shakespeare. This is the only true interpretation of this work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Boomer weighs in on a fabulous movie

    Granted, I was a college student in Boston when this film came out,but it so portrayed the passion and angst of the leads -even the music-that when my then-boyfriend and later ex divorced, neither of us wanted the album because it still made us cry. To those who thought the leads too young and sexual, look at youth today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely wonderful!

    i think leonard whiting is so hot in this movie, but besides that it's an excellent movie and i read the book and that's wonderful too! i love romeo and juliet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Beautiful

    I just loved this movie. I didn't think that any film adaption could do Shakespeare justice, and unfortunately for me, I saw the 1996 Luhrmann film first, which thoroughly scared me (don't watch that- a waste of time). Then I watched this. The acting, scenery, costumes- just breathtaking. Leonard Whiting and Olivia Hussey are both amazing, and I really loved the castings of Benvolio, Mercutio, and Tybalt. It was how I had always imagined the story. Definitely the best Shakespearean film adaption I've seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!!!!!!!

    WOW!!!!this is an excellent movie. I couldn't stop crying at the end. I love the way Romeo and Juliet were portrayed. That is exactly how i pictured Romeo and Juliet. they did an ecellent job in bringing this famous tragedy to life!!!Romeo is sooo Hot!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good job

    it was great!! the actors portrayed the characters wonderfully! olivia hussey was SEXY when she was naked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romeo and Juliet

    I enjoyed the story when read the book. The movie brought it to reality. The potrayal in Romeo and Juliet by the characters even made it more real. Shakespeare in general has boosted my language prowess. I have read a lot of Shakespeare's works. I enjoy his sonnets. I thought I would become a literature teacher some day but that changed. I am a programmer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Period Piece

    The four leads were superb. With period costumes, and Shakespearian English, this is as close as you are likely to get to the Globe Theatre in London while watching a movie. The scenery, all done in Italian streets and buildings, is kin to taking a tour of Italy. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best Shakespeare Play!

    I think that this movie was awsome!! I liked Friar Lawrence the best because he was wise, intelligent and wity. The music was excellent, also the Latin song at Juliet's funeral was beautiul!!! The Perfect Movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie from an amazing story

    This movie was so good that i came home after we watched it in class and i just had to have it. The actors were so into there roles that i actually began to imagine them as the real Romeo and Juliet. And the actor who played Romeo was very hot so that kept my attention even more. It is the best version of Romeo and Juliet ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romeo & Juliet

    I thought the movie was great. I think the actors did a very good job in expressing the feelings of the characters. I also would like to point out how good Leonard Whiting looked in this movie. For these reasons I am now researching as much information as I can on the movie and am planning on buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romantic & Timeless

    I saw this in the theater when it came out & it is not to be missed! This film makes Shakespeare come alive, even for a teenager. It helps if one has to study the play in school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Most Excellent Movie

    Romeo and Juliet is an awesome play, and this movie does the play justice. Plus, Leonard Whiting is hot in this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    The 3rd Cival brawl

    I think Romeo and Juliet is a great film and we r watching it in English this term i think leonardo is cute so does my teacher too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2