Customer Reviews for

Rosemary's Baby

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Easily the best horror movie ever

    Best horror movie, if not one of the best overall movies of all-time. Forget the exorcist, which is out dated and won't scare anyone today anyway. Unlike every horror movie from the 80's and older, Rosemary's Baby is not outdated at all and could still be a smash hit today if it were re-released. This is a genius movie that starts out like a soap opera and slowly turns into a terrifying psychological masterpiece. This is not your typical horror movie at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Fantastic film...one of the genre's best, no question about it.

    Fantastic film...one of the genre's best, no question about it. But how it could receive the Criterion treatment without *any* audio commentaries at all is nothing short of baffling. Colossal fail. Consumers pay extra for Criterion releases, largely due to the supplementary materials. Why anyone would drop upwards of forty bucks on a Criterion release that, again, doesn't have ANY commentaries whatsoever is baffling to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    One of my all time favorite horror films of all time! The acting

    One of my all time favorite horror films of all time! The acting was great, the plot was spooky, and the characters were amazing. The suspense is incredible, and the atmosphere is very creepy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    By the middle of the movie, my hand was gripped tight to my seat

    By the middle of the movie, my hand was gripped tight to my seat and my heart was pounding, especially during the telephone booth scene. The build-up of suspense is INCREDIBLE in this movie. I loved every single minute of this film. Stellar cast and acting. Great writing and cinematography. A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Clever, enjoyable masterpiece.

    Clever, enjoyable masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My recollections of this movie: I accidently took my wife to se

    My recollections of this movie: I accidently took my wife to see it while she was pregnant. Ooops! But I also accidently took her to see DELIVERANCE, thinking it was a travelog, when she was preggies again. Can you imagine how my kids turned out? My third kid loves ALIENS. Go figure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rosemary still mesmerizes

    This is the greatest horror film, and one of the greatest films ever, period. Everything in it works. From that terrific tag line to the creepy poster art, to that off kilter lullaby Mia Farrow croons, to every single performance, line of dialogue and scene. The cast is perfection. The terror is palpable. The extras set the movie in its time, but the movie has surpased its time and become, like all true classics, for the ages. The Bramley will never be razed for a parking lot. Ira Levin's superb novel was blessed by Roman Polanski's film. Both are landmarks touched with more than a little genius.
    The movie is wickedly funny, deliciously entrancing, groundbreaking "real" because it's horror is set in present day New York; also, the elderly couple next door, who are the coven leaders, are played to the hilt by nosey Ruth Gordon and the intriguing Sidney Blackmer; therefore, it's easy to come under their spell. Blackmer especially gives an almost noble performance that is rich and wise. The entire cast is at the top of their game.
    Maurice Evan's Hutch is the hope and comfort of the film, the logical reality against what is inexorably happening, while Ralph Bellamy's Dr. Saperstein (he was on "Open End," you know)is that soft spoken easygoing evil that you just know hides a little below the surface of most of his ilk. It's also fun seeing Hope Summers (Clara Edwards of "The Andy Griffith Show") as a Satanist. Not out of character here, really. Did Aunt Bea ever find out?
    It's ironic that the movie probably could not be made today. The current crop of puritans would rail against it; odd, since the bare bones of the plot hew to what they say they believe. But while those lame Left Behind movies and the others artlessly propound beating foolish stuff into its audiences heads, "Rosemary's Baby" plays knowingly with fiction, with what ifs, with the paranoia come true, all in a twisty gripping eerie exciting film, produced by the great William Castle, who has just the right cameo that comes with the chill first, then the laughter.
    Mia Farrow's heart wrenching Rosemary Woodhouse leads us into her terror and pain, then into her first goose bumpy nightmare come true reaction to her son, propelling into that final reaction, maybe even scarier, as the camera wisely pans to the window and the outside of the Bramley. There are some fine character actors as well, always dependable Elisha Cook, Jr. Philip Leeds and Patsy Kelly.
    John Cassavetes, as Guy Woodhouse, also creeps us out as he sells himself and Rosemary, and I guess, their baby, and the world, to Satan, to further his acting career. Being in bit parts in "Luther" and "Nobody Loves an Albatross" can only take an actor just so far. Priorities, after all. So settle down with some "plain old Lipton Tea," a bowl of "chocolate mouse" and a Vodka Blush, and watch a classic again or for the first time. Watch out for mouse bites, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is not a horror film!!!!

    Would somebody please tell my why everyone is classifying this as a horror film. There wasn't anything horror about it. Don't get me wrong, the movie is excellent with some top notch acting and cinematography. However, I found the movie to be completely misleading in the direction in which it was going, teasing you with some creepy singing at the opening credits, but going nowhere for the first half of the movie. There was some disturbing imagery in it, but nothing to the level of an actual horror movie, this was more of a psychological/supernatural "drama". Half way, i found myself frustrated and begging for some actual progression. Thankfully the story started to take off in the second half, but I was still frustrated that I was not actually watching a horror film, and I wasn't expecting blood and gore, and some guy with a chainsaw, but you would think a film that labels itself as horror and with a Devil worshiping story, would have similar horror qualities like the "Exorcist" or "The Omen" which are true horror movies and blow "Rosemary's Baby" completely out of the water. For those of you interested in a Disturbing drama, then go for it. For those of you looking for a psychological/supernatural horror, look elsewhere.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    rosemary's baby

    this was creepy and just plain weird film i've ever seen. the only thing you should be watching for is the ending and nothing else. sick way to get a woman pregnant and just sad on the ending as well. this is about a couple who move into a house and then later something happens to the wife rosemary where later she finds out she's pregnant and begins to have weird events that lead up to the finale and the birth. it is slow pace and interesting though not one i would like to see. watch it for yourself then decide.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Classic Horror

    This movie is absolutely wonderful. I hope the Hollywood honchos never try to remake this classic. It's creepy without being slasher. Psychologically is where it gets you, just like the Omen. Mia Farrow is perfect as the wife who looks seems paranoid. John Cassavetes is wonderful as Guy, the actor husband who sells out his first born. I love the atmosphere of the movie and the odd couple who latches on to Guy and Rosemary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece

    I have seen a lot of scary films in my time. I've seen Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Scream and I thought they all sucked. Rosemary's Baby is the only film I've seen that literally scared the s*** out of me. Even the music creeps you out. If you are a serious movie goer like I am, watch it. You will find a little piece of movie history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great but boring

    i personally liked the Omen more because it was scarier than this. This is like a drama with a dark side.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ROMAN POLANSKI'S MASTERPIECE

    THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE FILMS OF ALL TIME. I LOVE THIS FILM, BECAUSE IT DOESN'T HAVE ANY TO DO WITH SLASHERS AND SERIAL KILLERS, IT DOESN'T HAVE GORE AND BLOOD. IT IS A RARE AND SPECIAL FILM THAT PEOPLE CLOSE TO YOU CAN HAVE EVIL SIDES. THEY DON'T MAKE FILMS LIKE THESE ANYMORE. ALSO, THEY SHOULD COME OUT WITH A SPECIAL COLLECTOR'S EDITION OF THIS ALL-TIME GROUNDBREAKING CLASSIC CHILLER. IT SHOULD HAVE MORE EXTRAS LIKE DELETED SCENES, AND MULTIPLE TRAILERS, INSIGHTFUL COMMENTARIES, SPECIAL INTERVIEWS WITH THE CAST AND CREW, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY: IT SHOULD DIGITALLY RESTORED AND REMASTERED IN CRISP CLEAR DOLBY DIGITAL 5.1 SURROUND SOUND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Behind the Scenes of Rosemary's Baby

    Classic Horror at it's best, less on gore, more of a thinking man's horror. If you like the movie and want to know more about the behind the scenes making of Rosemary's Baby, check out two available titles - Curse of the Silver Screen - Tragedy & Disaster Behind the Movies chronicles troubled productions of many Hollywood features including Rosemary's Baby, The Exorcist, The Misfits, Rebel Without a Cause and more. Also, check out Scare Tactic - The Life & Films of William Castle. Castle was the producer of Rosemary's Baby and the book details this film as well as his other classics like House on Haunted Hill and The Tingler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2