Customer Reviews for

Rudy

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!!!!

    This is a movie about believing in yourself and pursing your dreams even if people doubt you along the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Move Made Me Cry!

    When I first saw this movie when I was younger,I didn't consider it this "Amazing" movie,but when I was twelve,I rewatched it and at the end,I swear-I still cry!The movie "Rudy" inspired me so much to believe and find hope in achieving my dreams someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF MY FAVIROT MOVIES.

    I just love this movie and how he 'rudy' never gave up on his dream to play and go to noter dame. The only one that was ever behined rudy was his friend pete then when his friend pete died in a acsident at work rudy then made the decision to go to norter dame. He had a rough time trying to get in to noter dame but finaly got in, and then he went out for the football team and made the team to and at he finaliy got to play and the crowd went nuts the new coach had to put him in because the team and the fans started to chaer his name and rudy only made one play but the fans went nuts and rudy was carried off the felied. you must see this movie. joanna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspired and Inspirational

    'Rudy' is the perfect sports movie.Sean Astin was born to play the role of Rudy.His character triumphs over all odds just to fulfill a childhood dream of playing football for Notre Dame.His family members don't believe in him but he gets support from mentors and friends he meets throughout his life.His character teaches us many things:work hard,believe in yourself,don't care what other people think,follow your dreams,and don't quit.The score and key moments are very uplifting.'Rudy' is a movie that proves the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quiters never win and winners never quit! Go Rudy!

    I'm not going to summarize the plot of 'Rudy' or review the cast of characters in this film. Others on this page have already provided this information and done quite well. By now, everyone knows about the story of Rudy and his dream of attending the University of Notre Dame and playing football for the 'Fightin Irish'. I don¿t think everyone needs to read the same information about this film over and over again in each new post. Although 'Rudy' is a good movie, it¿s not a great movie. First, to me, Rudy Ruettiger comes off kind of crude! First, he barges onto the Notre Dame campus in the middle of the night and 'demands' to be seen 'right now'. Second, he barges in to see coach Parsegian and just pushes his secretary aside (me..me¿me) to make his pitch. Third, he leaves his lifelong girl friend behind at home to pursue his own dreams of an education and then gets upset when she acts on her own dreams though it was a little low of her to go after Rudy's brother. However, although Rudy is a tad insensitive in terms of his social skills, he does have a good heart (why didn¿t they bring this out in the movie :) ). The story of Rudy is very special to me mainly because it closely resembles my own life experience and ultimate success in gaining admission to Notre Dame in 1989. No, I wasn¿t interested in playing football for the Irish like Rudy (I wish) since I was 39 at the time. Like Rudy, I had applied to Notre Dame (Graduate school) and was denied admission until my third or fourth attempt. In the movie when Rudy reads the letter that provides him with the good news about his admission, he was sitting on the same bench I used to sit on to rest while jogging around that lake. More important, the premise that makes Rudy an especially appealing movie to me is that besides being a story that I could personally relate to, the movie is based on the fact that without definite goals, persistence and the drive to be successful, life¿s events are likely to take you in a direction away from your dreams. The message in Rudy is valuable whether you plan to attend college or not. I felt that Rudy was much like Richard Gere in 'An Officer and a Gentleman' in that Richard Gere wanted to fly Jets for the Navy, lost a friend during training, and was constantly on the brink of 'washing out'. Also, like Richard Gere, Rudy 'had no where else to go' if he didn¿t make it into Notre Dame for his Junior year. Sometimes, you just have to go 'all in' with your chips and go for broke when pursuing your life¿s dreams. Also, the sound track really made this movie. Go Rudy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    When a movie almost makes you cry in front of your brothers you know its a great movie. The story of Rudy is that of a man hoping to show his friends, family and the world that anyone can do anything. This movie is one of the best I've ever seen because it draws real emotions from the characters and the viewers. At the end when Rudy's dad is shouting saying,'' Yes! Yes!'' and he loses all his words and says ''Oh Rudy'', that is the kicker. Sports movie, dramatic feature, or moving story: you decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dreams Do Come True

    This movie sent chills down my spine when Rudy was carried off the field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ANOTHER DREAM CAME TRUE

    when i saw the movie rudy i started to think that when you try relly hard you could acomplish anything that you want and to not let anyone stop you from your dreams.I also think that rudy was the person who made me think that if u work relly hard at it u can acomplish anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A True Hero

    I loved this movie, to make a long story short: Rudy was a kid whom always dreamed of going to Notre Dame and to play football there as well. Notre Dame is one of top university's in the country, Rudy was NOT bright but he also had dyslexia, he also had no money and no athletic ability. Yet he got into Notre Dame despite 3 years of trying, still got high grades with a severe learning disability which would normally push anybody aside, and he also played football for Notre Dame. During this Rudy faced little to no emotional support and was doubted and laughed at by many, yet he accomplished what many could never do even if they were smart and had no learning disability, this movie is about the human spirit to the fullest form. I persoanlly related to this movie more than anything else, it was an experience to watch someone struggle without any hesitation on why he should quit even though he had no reason to try. Watch this movie, based on a true story and a true hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A DREM COME TRUE

    I THINK THE MOVIE RUDY HELPED ME FOLLOW MY DREAMS THAT OTHER PEOPLE SAID I WOULD NEVER DO IN MY LIFE TIME SO I THANK RUDY THE MOST CAUSE HE WAS LIKE A ROLE MODEL TO ME.THANK YOU RUDY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fighting Irish!!

    RUDY!!!!!!!!! That is a really good movie I cried when Rudy tackled the Georgia Tech QB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Inspiration-''Rudy'' Ruettiger

    Based on the true story, the film Rudy is one of the most inspirational movies ever created. It sends the powerful message that if you have a dream, you must follow it. Rudy goes through a tremendous ammount of set backs but simply never gives up on his dream to play college footbal at the University of Notre Dame. Rudy is very short person, not nearly physically capable of playing football for the University of Notre Dame. Or so they thought! The film 'Rudy' tought me that if you have heart and the will to oppose defeat, your dreams are always in your grasps. It was so movingto watch Rudy at footbally practice; getting crushed but always getting up for the next play. He would bleed, but Rudy would never break. Everyone, his family told Rudy he was crazy, his fellow teammates told him he was going to get killed on the field, but this did not break Rudy. Rudy had a dream and he was going to achieve it; his utter persistance touches me to this day. The message that the film Rudy sends should inspire everyone to achieve there dreams. What was torture to anyone else, was not at all to Rudy. The pain, agony and even torture on the football practice field was all worth it to achieve his dream. Rudy not only made the football team, but he also got to play on the field. Facing multiple hardships and setbacks, Rudy never feared failure. Well, failure was simply not an option to Rudy. This type of attitude should be grabbed by everyone. Rudy will never have any regrets in his life again. If you want to search for your true dream in life, then watch the film Rudy, and it will give you the inspiration to achieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dream Big

    This is one of the most inspirational movies I have seen in a long time. If you or anyone in your life needs encouragement to follow dreams or goals, this movie is definitely worth two hours of your time. The acting and photography are great and really add to the story. Even if you are not a football fan (which I am not) you will still find something in this movie to take away with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rooting for Rudy Ruettiger

    All of us could learn a lesson or two from Rudy Ruettiger, a teenager who has hopes of playing football at the University of Notre Dame. He is not the smartest kid in his high school nor does he have the best athletic ability, but he does have the most heart, which he uses to achieve his dream of playing football at the University of Notre Dame. Even though his family, friends, and teachers do not believe in his capability to achieve his lifelong dream, he never loses hope. He is his strongest supporter andnever gives up on himself. Rudy shocks everyone by following his heart and achieving what he has always wanted. He works extremely and is admitted into Notre Dame. He eventually walks on to the football team, where he works and practices harder than anyone. By the end of the movie, he has won the respect and admiration of everyone and fufills his dream of playing in a Notre Dame football game with all of his family and friends there to cheer him on. He sets the example that one should not give up on his dream, but should proceed with hard work and determination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2