Customer Reviews for

Sabrina

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Customers beware, shipping takes FOREVER!!!!

    I ordered this and a few other classic movies. I was weary of doing so but I had a gift card that was given to me, so I went ahead and orderd. To start, the shipping says "within 24 hours" and the item read "in stock", The item has yet to ship and I ordered it 5 days ago!. I payed extra for faster shipping, thinking I would receive it prior to the end of my vacation. I called after 3 days, and it turns out one of the items "An affair to remember" was not in stock, even though the item read as "in stock" when I purchased it. What a horrible experience. I am never ordering from Barnes & Noble again. Next time I will try Borders.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My absolute favorite

    This is by far my absolute favorite movie. I actually saw the remake first and did not like it. I was delightfully surprised when I caught the original on cable one day. Audrey Hepburn was fabulous. Humphrie Bogart played Linus so well. I watch this movie over and over. It is true magic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Billy Wilder directs this Cinderella story with sparkle and wit and sophistication.

    Acquiring Samuel Taylor's hit Broadway comedy "Sabrina Fair" for the movies, Billy Wilder cast the title role with Audrey Hepburn as the Long Island chauffeur's daughter, who ages from nineteen to twenty-one during the film, the title of which was abbreviated (except in Britain) to a mere "Sabrina". The twenty-four-year-old Hepburn's leading men were William Holden (thirty-six) as her employer's irresponsible "young" playboy son and Humphrey Bogart (fifty-five) as his soberly work-oriented older brother. Wilder had intended the latter role for Cary Grant (forty-nine), who declined to play a "stuffy businessman," so Bogart was a last minute replacement. Playwright Samuel Taylor collaborated with Wilder and Ernest Lehman on this adaptation of Taylor's play, which lost some subsidiary characters and gained others. And it was "opened up" to allow for the Parisian sequence where Sabrina grows from awkward teenager to a chic, sophisticated twenty-one, as she studies French cooking. "Sabrina" uses the Cinderella theme of Taylor's long-running Broadway comedy. It's a Hollywood picture--wealthy characters, Long Island estate, Wall Street associations, Rolls Royce and Paris gowns. Wilder takes Taylor's play and spreads it out over the rich, luxurious area that was only suggested on the stage, thereby adding a great deal of atmosphere to it and endowing it with credibility. Slick wisecracks abound, and Wilder gleefully lets his audience know the outcome long before his screen characters perceive it. This is really Audrey's picture, since she has the title role and has come to it trailing her triumph from the previous year's "Roman Holiday". And indeed, she is wonderful in it--an actress of extraordinary range of sensitive and moving expressions within such a frail and slender frame. She is even more luminous as the daughter and pet of the servants' hall than she was as a princess. "Sabrina" is pure pleasure. "Sabrina" was a commercial hit. Paramount Studios shrewdly capitalized on the fact that the film boasted a total of four Oscar winners--Bogart for "The African Queen," Hepburn for "Roman Holiday," Holden for Billy Wilder's "Stalag 17," and even Billy himself for "The Lost Weekend". The director, finally, was getting to be a kind of star. "Sabrina" was Billy Wilder's last film for Paramount--a good-bye present that brought in enough money to make up for the previous excursion into the lower depths of "Ace in the Hole" (1951). [filmfactsman]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Cindrella Story Worth Watching Twice (at least!)

    Audrey Hepburn does it again whe she plays Sabrina Fairchild, a shy girl turned charming playgirl. When she returns to her house, where her father drives the sons of a wealthy man around, the youngest of the two brothers falls for her at first sight (the famous romantic scene at the ball where you can't help but cry for Hepburn). But as part of a business deal, the older brother must keep her away from the other, and the older brother falls for her instead. This is the most charming movie ever and you'll fall in love with Audrey Hepburn in this movie from the diretor of 'Some Like It Hot' and 'The Apartment'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cute!

    This is a cute movie but I found Sabrina to be a little too neurotic. Yes she came back from Paris looking sophisticated and beautiful but I never got the feelng that she changed emotionally and was still the same neurotic girl and there was no chemistry between Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart who rumor has it didn't like Audrey because he wanted his wife Lauren Becall to play Sabrina and I think the friction definitely showed and there was just no chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classy classic!

    In no movie can you find three huge stars such as Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart, and William Holden (except maybe in Philadelphia Story) as you can this one. This movie mixes with laughs and an incomprable love story that will have you wanting to watch it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fairytale Brought To Life

    'Sabrina' is a great film because all the characters are so charming and the story itself is captivating. It truly is a Cinderella story with some different situations. Audrey Hepburn looks elegant (as usual) in this film and Humphrey Bogart plays his part well. This movie has humor, romance, and suspense. It will make your heart flutter. You will not forget this movie anytime soon because it will stay with you through time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2