Customer Reviews for

Sahara

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie was great. loved it.

    history buff or adventurer will love this movie,loved the comedy and the actors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible

    If you are a fan of Clive Cussler don't watch this movie. Just read the book, it's much better and there's more action. This movie is a travesty. They completely changed the plot and made it boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie Rocks

    I love this movie!!! Matthew Mcconaughey is awesome. I love the adventure and excitement. Clive Cussler did a good job writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it

    The very first time I saw a comercial for this movie, I knew I had to buy it. I did, and I wasn't disapointed, in fact, this movie is easily in my top 10 favorite movies of all time. The banter between Dirk, Al, and Eva was just perfect. There were some wonderfully funny moments, but at the same time, the plot was very serious, and you also had this confidence in Dirk that nothing really bad would happen. I believe that Matthew McConaughey, considering the fact that I wasn't a fan of his before this movie, did awesome playing the part of Dirk Pitt, I thought Steve Zahn, who I've like in everthing else I've seen him in, did a very good job playing Al Giordino, and last, but most asuredly not least, I thought Penelope Cruz, whom I already liked, did perfectly awesome playing the part of Dr. Eva Rojas. I also finally found a movie besides Jurassic Park 3 that I liked William H. Macy in (He plays Admiral James Sandecker). So, I say, if you have a sense of humor, and need a great movie to unwind during, watch Sahara!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too shallow?

    Maybe this is a bad reason for not liking a movie, but I was hoping to see more of Matthew McConauhey (if you know what I mean). I thought there would be a lot more shirtless McConaughey action, but in the entire 2 hours of film he only has his shirt off twice- once toward the beginning and the last just before the end credits. The first time is, of course, really hot because he comes out of the water with his golden muscular body glistening in the sun and the camera does a very quick close up of his fabulous chest and abs. The rest of the movie is awful so this is probably just a movie to rent (or maybe not), and NOT one to buy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A fun "Popcorn" movie

    I've read every Clive Cussler novel written, and I've thoroughly enjoyed them all. Yes, they're all pretty much the same, with the same "Plug-N-Play" bad guy, but they're fun reading. Sahara was a fun movie. It diverged from the novel quite a bit, but it still held true to the spitit of the book, which is fun. So nuke up a bag of popcorn, turn off your brain, and have a good night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Helps to have read Cussler

    Sahara was the first Clive Cussler book I read. While it was highly formulaic not not particularly well written, I have since read other Dirk Pitt novels. I was amazed at how well McConaughey and Zahn brought to life Pitt and Giordino. Yes, the plot was pedestrian, but the dialog much more engaging than Cussler could ever do. You will appreciate the movie more if you have read any Cussler, painful as though that may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A big fan of desert movies.....

    .....but this one was disappointing. Despite the performances from Matthew and Penelope, this movie is like opening a bottle of flat soda. The actual plot could not be more uninteresting, I didn't care for it at all. To give this movie credit, it does provide some good action and some laugh-out-loud moments, but sometimes even those things fall flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you liked the Mummy......

    Good adventure with a good PAIR of Heroes and fun adjectives between all the characters. Though this may not be the award winner, its just spicy and visually good enough to be a movie worth watching over again. Action scenes, characters and setting were all enjoyable. I especially liked the side kick characters who were just, if not more important to the film as the main....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1