BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Saving Private Ryan

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best WWII movies out there.

    Saving private ryan starts out at Omaha Beach, on D-Day. This movie isn't about D-Day though. It's a group of soldiers that try and go save a single paratrooper because both his brothers have died. I only gave this move a 4/5 because there is only one worthwhile fight scene. Other movies like Band Of Brothers have 5 to 6 great fight scenes. "We Were Soldiers" is also a very good Vietnam War movie. It is nearly all dedicated to the landing at X-ray. It gives you 50 minutes of fighting and shooting out of a 120 minute movie. This is a great movie and you should watch it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Really good

    This was really good, the action, music and acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Saving Private Ryan

    After the D-Day invasion of Omaha Beach, Ranger Captain John Miller (Tom Hanks) is tasked to put together a platoon of his choosing and find a paratrooper from the 101st Airbourne named Private James Ryan. With the platoon of his choosing (Tom Sizemore, Edward Burns, Barry Pepper, Adam Goldberg, Vin Diesel, Giovanni Ribisi, and Jeremy Davies) sets off in treachorous wartime France to find Private Ryan amongst a field of full of enemies and a split up 101st Airbourne.

    World War I is often considering "The Great War" or "The War to End All Wars," but few military conflicts have caught the hearts and minds of the American, and the world, consciousness the way that World War II has. For the first time during a war, films were made about the war as early as 1939. Some of the greatest war films and TV series have been based on World War 2 from The Sands of Iwo Jima to Flags of Fathers to Band of Brothers. At the end of the 20th century, with a career full of highly critically and commercially successful hits under his belt, Steven Spielberg took another turn at the war film (following 1979's 1941) with Saving Private Ryan.

    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war film ever made. The opening thirty minutes of the D-Day invasion is possibly the greatest scene ever committed to celluloid. But it's not just the harrowing scenes of war time that make this movie so great, it's the character building, the camaraderie between the soldiers, the devotion to duty, and the bravery of these men in combat. This movie truly depicts why World War 2 soldiers were possibly the greatest soldiers in US history.

    One of the great things about the casting in Saving Private Ryan is the fact that they chose actors that look like everyday men rather than picking men that look like action heroes, and because of that the acting in this movie is amazing. Tom Hanks gives a wonderfully authoritative and still understated performance as Capt. John Miller. Vin Diesel hasn't been this good since, and Barry Pepper as is sensational as religious sniper Pvt. Daniel Jackson. Even Jeremy Davies as the green Cpl. Upham makes you feel for his character despite his very obvious flaws as a soldier.

    The one thing that drags this movie down though is Spielberg's slavish devotion to sentimentality. The bookends to the film are completely unneeded and drags down what is otherwise an utterly great movie. Don't get me wrong, a former soldier's sentimentality for the one's who died to save him has it's place, I just feel as though that should have been more reserved for the former soldiers watching this movie remembering those who died with and for them then on the screen in this movie. Rather, the movie should have just been devoted to remembering the bravery and camaraderie of the men who fought in the war.

    Overall, though, in the scheme of things, despite the minor flaw that I have with this movie, it is definitely still the greatest movie in my mind dedicated to the men who have served our country. I don't just recommend this movie, if you haven't seen this you need to watch it, and now that it's out on Blu-Ray this is the perfect time to pick up this movie and watch it, or to watch it again.

    4.5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great action movie, and that's about it...

    There is nobody I know what hasn't seen this movie, and for plenty of reasons: It's got fantastic special effects, the battle scenes are severely, almost frighteningly realistic, there are plenty of photogenic and well-known faces like Tom Hanks or Matt Damon...and of course, it's by Spielberg. There is no doubt about it: This is one of the best war films ever made. If you really want to see the gore of battle without going to war yourself, I guess this is the way to do it. And if you have an important football or basketball game the next day, this is the movie to watch to pump you up. If, on the other hand, you want a thoughtful, intellectual film about the tragic 6,000 year old habit of Humankind that we call "War" then this is not the film for you. Does SPR really tell us anything about war itself? No. It shows a sequence of events very realistically, but nothing about the human condition. In this sense it's almost more of a documentary, an objective presentation of facts than it is a movie with a message. To some extent this is typical of Spielberg in general--"Schindler's List" was more like a documentary, whereas Roberto Benigni's "Life Is Beautiful" or Roman Polanski's "The Pianist" were more of the introspective, thoughtful, tragic genre. But this "documentary" quality of SPR is deceptive. For one thing, it is not entirely historically accurate: There was no Private Ryan, and there was never a team sent out to go rescue someone. And for another thing, there are moments in the film where it's obvious that Spielberg was feeling particularly patriotic when he shot this--there's a speech by a captain, there's a scene in a cemetery, and on, and on, and on. Final thought: This movie does little to portray the cost of war in terms of human suffering. Yes, you do see lots of blood and gore and men screaming and clearly in pain--BUT in the end, the living live their lives, the dead are worshipped as heroes (as indeed they deserve to be). There is no middle ground. Except for one scene right after an intense action sequence, you don't catch the psychological burden that men at war often carry with them for the rest of their lives. You don't see the battles they fight inside their minds about all the paradoxes of war--what it means to kill a man, what it means to fight for one cause or another, why people fight wars in the first place, and, of course, you never see the soldiers in SPR being afraid. If you want a fascinating treatment of things like this, go buy "The Deer Hunter" or "The Thin Red Line." All in all, though, Saving Private Ryan is an excellent film and I heartily recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A question posed.

    I give this movie only 4 stars simply because I found the story contrived. But I pose a question to our history buffs: Do you have all YOUR facts straight? Keeping in mind this is a MOVIE and not gospel. The landings depicted in the beginning of this film are accurate enough to veterans of that moment as to make them cry. And as a HISTORIAN who has had the pleasure of talking to many of them I find that hard to argue with. Movies like this are to be enjoyed and digested. It helps us to remember what was done for us by men who fought every level of horror on that day. Leave the dissecting to the critics. It's what they are paid for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A serious, heartfelt, and almost perfect war movie.

    If I were rating only the first 15 minutes or so of this great film it would deserve inumerable stars. The depiction of the Nornmandy landing at the beginning of the movie is perhaps the best filmaking ever seen. Vast, epic, tense and somehow personal all at the same time, vivid and frightening and can't take your eyes off of movie making that leaves the viewer breathless. There was no possible way to maintain this throughout. The remainder of the movie becomes something of a typical World War II movie, though done as well as any movie of its kind. The Americans are good, the Germans and their axis allies bad, we fought for great moral truths, they fought for something else and without morals. Still, there are many sequences that stay with you long after the movie, to me a mark of really good film making. In whole, this is a brilliant, thought provoking, serious and visually impressive film, and its story and themes obviously heartfelt by Mr. Spielberg and everyone involved in its making. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    a massive aceivement

    This movie has to be the best that Speilberg has ever done. After I watched it, I could not belive that it did not win the Oscar for Best Picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    High expectation leads to dissapointment

    This film portrays the realistic matters of war. The bloody masacur of many faceless men may seem far fetched in the way spielberg portrays their deaths, but to ask a real soldier if it was a likeness of war, he would tell you...not even close. meaning that war was far worse and no matter how hard could never be told to you only experienced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Realistic, Comments on War but not Humanity

    This movie has the most brutal and graphic violence you are likely to ever see. If you have any question of whether war is inhuman, see this movie to set yourself straight. It chronicles several strangers, forced to waste their lives on a pointless mission. We see how brutal and fruitless war is. The movie shows us good people and bad people (in predictable roles on both sides of the fighting). The direction and filmography are similar to Band of Brothers (for obvious reason). It is technically and visually excellent. The failing of the movie, I believe, is that it can't compare to The Thin Red Line in terms of message(both came out the same year). Although clearly showing that ''war is bad,'' Ryan fails to show us the underlying cause (people, even good people, are corrupt and inhuman). We see bad people do bad things, and good people do good things in this movie. See the Thin Red Line, and feel that not only is war bad, but humanity in general is brutish and terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1