Customer Reviews for

Scarface

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    scarface is awesome, it's got suspense, kickass moments, funny m

    scarface is awesome, it's got suspense, kickass moments, funny moments, great music, and badass shootouts, and the mansion shootout is pretty much the best scene in the whole movie lol, and it's also really cool that there's clothing and posters based off this movie, and an awesome app as well as an awesome videogame too, and let me tell you, the videogame is several times better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    say hello to my little friend

    this movie was insanely awsome. the part with the chainsaw in the beginning was cool to. i have seen this movie many times, and i still love to watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best gansta movie ever

    This is in my opinion the best gangsta movie ever. It's a little long, but right after you finish watching it, you have the feeling that you want to watch it over again, just after you finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    5 stars

    Filed with action, exitment and thrills. A mob movie with the great Al Pacino and unstop drama. Defenetly a must see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    2 THUMBS UP!!!

    Fantastic! Shows the drug world as it was at the time. Not too many twists and turns, easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scarface Hits the Roof

    “SCARFACE” Author: Jonathan Martinez “Scarface” was a very hard hitting story. I will truly give it 5 stars because it was about an underdog that moves up in life from a poor Cuban to a rich U.S. citizen. I would not recommend this to little kids because it is way too violent for them but I would recommend this to 13 years or older people because with the violence it is still a great movie. My favorite character was Tony Montana because he was very tuff but yet he still had a heart. The problem was that he wanted to get rich and would do anything to accomplish that goal, even murder. The moral of the story was the “The world is yours” so do what you want with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scarface Entertains all your "Little Friends"

    Scarface is an action thriller that keeps you guessing with many twists turns and insane action. It gets inside the head ideas and inspiration of a gangster. It shows the rise to and downfall from power and extreme corruption. It is as real as Gotti, Gambino and Capone. You will be hypnotized mezmerized and everything in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who ever says this movie sucks is a flipping bad movie critic and doesn't appericate the art of drug underworl movies??!!!!

    Just like I said in the headline! This movie is one the best gangster flims of all time and has been greatly appericated with the worlds best movie critics. Scarface showed us the movement of a cuban immirgrant who goes from sturgling to get his greencard to becoming the richest drug dealer out in Miami. Al Pacino is doing his finest acting in this movie and this launched his career people! Do you think people really noticed Pacino when he did The Godfather. I mean yeah a little but the whole center of the flim was on Marlon Brando. Scarface was beautiful settings from Miami to Bouliva and is most known for the captioning of the rise and fall of a drug dealer. This movies isn't about drugs, coke, guns, girls, and glam suits like most peopel think. This movie is a lesson in life. With succes theirs always a price to pay. Tony Montana learned that by putting his nose in the coke business. How dare anyone look at this movie as just another one of those drug movies. This shows motivation, courage, fear, shame, sorrow, and of course, succes. It quite frankly disgusts me that a reader said this movie has too much drugs in it. How about getting a notepad, reader, and take notes on the drama and suspense from this movie. If that person doesn't see anything, then it is true... when people watch too much holywood trash in the movie theaters instead of movies like Scarface, their judgment does become sloppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Quintessential Gangster

    This film is not just an action-packed ballet of bullets and coke. It is a morality tale that explores excess, power, and the age old question of where does criminal and and evil begin.Tony Montana is a character that represents the angry cuban. The character that was lied to and exploited. His inherent conscience that caused his death and his enherent need for new things and power. I don't feel in the end he was attracted to his sister, I feel that he was simply overprotective. I don't think there is an older brother out there who's sister has had a boyfriend he doesnt like. He endowed her with an innocence. He tried to shield her from his world and by doing that he ended the life of his best friend, her, and himself. Michelle Pfieffer is loved by him in a strange way. His wish too find love in himself for her is destroyed when she patronizes him. He tries to help his mother but she refuses and distances herself for him. His bestfriend violates his wishes to find someone who is not also a gangster for his sister. In New York he saves the life of a woman and two kids but in doing so causes his own downfall. It seemed as though the whole world was against him. He went out like a soldier. He did not run. He did not hide. He was not trying to escape when he started shooting the Columbians. He took the bullets and he decided that if he was to go down he would take them out with him in a blaze of glory. If you watch the film you'll realize that his death was only achieved through a man who had to sneak up behind him to kill him. He was a renegade in a business where rules cannot be broken. In the end it is not suprising he was killed. He would have been taken out anyway eventually. I guess the whole world was against him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST GANGASTER MOVIE EVER

    THE BEST GANGSTA MOVIE EVER AL PACINO IS GREAT IN THE MOVIE #1 MOVIE ON MY LIST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sayellotomylilfriend!!!!

    I am a big mob movie fan and when I say Scarface is the best one, it is. Al Pacino plays his role as Tony Montana very well and the action is sweet. I have never seen the 1932 one but all I know is that this one rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great

    Scraface: simply,put the best movie ever made

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly a classic

    Scarface (starring Al Pacino) is truly a master peice. A compelling story that is about the American Dream. Although this movie is nearly 20 years old, it still maintains it's edge. If you don't own this movie, then you're a caca-roach!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Mob Movie of All Time

    Al Pacino is the ultimate mobster. He lives the American Dream. After moving from Cuba he takes control of his life and of Miami's. He eventually rules the city. This film is the ultimate movie and is a must have for any movie lovers collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A True Gangster Epic

    This movie is one of the greatest gangster films of all time it a true masterpiece and De Palma's best work by far it has everything you look for in a true crime movie classic Pacino as Tony Montana he gives one of the greatest most intense and incrdible performances of his career I saw this movie when it came out on dvd and I was blown away how Pacino can play a role of a anti-hero and still have you cheering for him through out the entire movie if you haven't seen this movie yet stop reading this review and just buy this movie you won't be sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OVER THE TOP CLASSIC

    This 1983 epic attained multi-cult classic status without even trying. It was a natural progression: Pacino's over the top performance as Tony Montana (his Cuban accent alone has beome iconic) is one for the Smithsonian; The art-deco Miami (the film was shot in Los Angeles, because Miami thought it was too degrading); The symbolic cocaine excess. This is just too cool. Steven Bauer, F. Murray Abraham (1 year before his Oscar winning Best Actor turn) and Robert Loggia are memorable. ''The World Is Yours'' are words to live by, man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Killer Flick

    If you want to see pure preMiami Vice era action you need to check this one out! A true classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    Best movie I ever saw. If you liked this movie, check out the original Scarface, from 1932..Classic stuff. klf denmark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All time gangster classic

    Pacino is superb in this beautifully mastered all-time gangster classic! It is a must-see. This movie will blow you away. If you are in love with gangster culture and movies, you will most definitely love this masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2