Customer Reviews for

Seabiscuit

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

All American Hero's

Engaging, deep, sensitive, brutal, uplifting!! Seabiscuit is a beautiful story of survival of three men and one beautiful animal. The Biscuit needs each man with their own individual strengths, and makes all three 'strong' again. Tobey is fantastic in the portral of ...
Engaging, deep, sensitive, brutal, uplifting!! Seabiscuit is a beautiful story of survival of three men and one beautiful animal. The Biscuit needs each man with their own individual strengths, and makes all three 'strong' again. Tobey is fantastic in the portral of Red, and I can't get enough of Chris Cooper!! Bridges is at his best, showing the very human side of 'BIG' business. Fabulous movie, fit for the entire family!

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Corny, but Good

Everybody likes a success story, but this one goes way out of its way to make you sympathize with and root for the main characters. There's just something about it that's not quite right. Yes, the cinematography is very good and the movie is technically very well made...
Everybody likes a success story, but this one goes way out of its way to make you sympathize with and root for the main characters. There's just something about it that's not quite right. Yes, the cinematography is very good and the movie is technically very well made, but the dialogue is extremely cheesy and the story tries to go in too many directions. The villians are almost cartoonish and the comic relief found in William H. Macy's character is more annoying than funny. The horse races are well shot and the horse probably gives the best performance in the movie as actors who generally turn in good performances are trapped in a bad screenplay. Overall, this is a good movie, but it is in no way worthy of its Oscar nomination.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER

    Seabuiscuit was an outstanding movie about an underdog horse that beats an outstanding horse against all odds. This movie will make you laugh, cry, and leave you in shock. I highly recommend this movie to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GRRRREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!

    This movie is so inspiring and heart warming. It is about a boy struggling with his life and a horse who is the same way. They meet and create a wonderful bond. They are both underestimated. The boy is blind in one eye and the horse is smaller than all the others. It gives you the courage to do anything you want to do and accomplish the impossible. They sure did!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you like Horses and racing this one is good

    really loved this film and I loved the horses!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I have not read many books that movies are based on but i read this one the book and movie were both phenomenal. The acting was superb.

    A very good story about a horse and man who no one thought would amount any thing and they surpassed all expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I loved this movie. It was amazing!!! The story line couldn't have been better! I loved every second! I have always loved racing and this really captured how there is no such thing as a sure thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Standing Ovation

    I watched this film on pay-per-view in Las Vegas this past weekend. I cried, laughed out loud, and consider it one of the highlights of my trip. The acting is superb, the photography is marvelous, and the story itself is as hearwarming as they get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SEABISCIUIT REVIEW

    THE MOST HISTORICALLY CORRECT FILM EVER PRODUCED. THIS MOVIE ACCENTUATES THE AMERICAN SPIRIT AND HOW A DOWN ON HIS LUCK HORSE BROUGT SO MUCH JOY AND INSPIRATION TO AMERICANS CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DEPRESSION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The American Dream Wins Again!!

    This is a brilliantly put together film of an event that captured America's imagination and inspired hope across a country struggling with dissappointment and economic hardship. The interweaving of the social times, the background music filled with tense emotion, the cinematography that somehow captured the throbbing energy of the horses and jockeys, alike, make this a film experience which is all too rare these days. Add to that the exceptional performances of a cast that breathed real life into this unique American event, and you have a film that stands far above anything else brought to us in a long, long time. I was overwhelmed by the artistry and emotion delivered by 'Seabiscuit.' Do not miss it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sea biscuit, a story of courageous people and one great horse

    This is the best family movie I have seen inyears. Its the kind of story that touches your heart, I cried off and on all through it. I rarely do that when I watch a movie. Acting was great and photogtraphy, and of course the story were great. I know it probably wont win an academy award because they never give the award to the great movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    This was a great movie. It was touching ,heart breaking ,happy ,sad and heart wrenching movie. The cast slides right into their parts. I cryed in the middle of it. Most horse movies are sappy and down right stuipd. But Seabiscuit rises above the rest and leaves them in the backstrech. A great movie about a great horses. This movie is sure to become a classic. In this movie a long shot becomes a legend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    makes you want to saddle up!

    WOW-Tobey lost a bunch of weight to place this role and it paid off. The story was right on. When I sat in the theatre and watched this movie, I felt like I was at Santa Ana or the Kentucky Derby. You have to check this movie out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moving and down to earth.

    Anyone who loves horses and racing will get a tug of the heart in this movie. Reality hits home how much every jockey puts his life on the line each race he mounts up for. Loved, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1