Customer Reviews for

Secondhand Lions

Average Rating 5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gotta Have

    This is a fantastic movie. It is funny and sometimes silly but behind it all is a great deal of emotion and life lessons. Awesome for kids, but you need to see it first to be sure they are ready for some of the scenarios. How the Mother's actions are shown may be confusing to younger children.
    But this is definitely a Must see and must have!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Everyone Should See This!

    Hilarious, heartwarming, suspenseful, exciting, and a million other things all rapped up into one unforgettably great movie. Set in 1950s Texas, Walter's mother dumps him with his two great uncles. They seem insane and unfeeling at first, but they soon become father figures and look on him as their son. They have had unbelievable adventures in Africa for 40 years and now that they're retired on a dilapidated ranch, they feel useless and have lost their purpose in life. Walter gives them a reason to love life again. One of my favorite movies, it belongs in everyone's collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Bought this on 8/3 and have already viewed it two days in a row.

    Bought this on 8/3 and have already viewed it two days in a row. Wonderful story with surprises to keep your interest to the end. I will recommend this to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great for families and youth groups

    This is a great family film for all ages. There aren't a lot of these movies around that the kids and the parents enjoy. My kids asked to watch this one again and again - even my teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Every Texan young and old must see. Foreigners are welcome too.

    A patriotic film for Texans (Texas is a whole other COUNTRY.) Especially good for kids or anyone who likes "tall tales". Sometime the truth provides the tallest tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific Movie

    No plot summary can even give you a hint of how wonderful this movie was. The big name stars in this movie enhance the interesting plot. It is truely a magical story which teaches the viewers to never give up hope and to continue dreaming- no matter how outlandish your dreams are. This movie was enjoyable for the entire family and I advise anyone to watch it through to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What every boy dreams of

    As a kid I would have loved to have uncles like these. As an adult, I wish I was one. Movies should be fun, and this one is surely that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yeah! They REALLY Lived!

    We absolutely love this movie. Our young boys watched it for the first time yesterday and the adventure spirit rose up on the inside of them. The last lines of the movie say so much "Yeah!, They REALLY Lived".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The BEST family movie

    I am generally not a fan of family movies. They are usually insipid, poorly written and the acting is terrible. I was thrilled to find this film! Robert Duvall and Michael Caine were terrific. The story is funny and enjoyable from start to finish and had a wonderful message. I would encourage anyone to watch this- old, young and everyone in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great family film!

    I can watch this movie over and over again and it will still be just as good as the first time. It is a great movie which the entire family can enjoy, even the very young. It is adventurous, dramatic and at times funny, but most of all, there is a lesson to be learned. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great family time

    This movie is an amazing family movie. It has some language but only a little and it is two old men cutting up and having fun. I very much recomend this movie and would allow my children to watch this great movie!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    The perfect film! Great for families and anyone of any age. A great mix of romance, thriller, comedy, and tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great, wholesome family movie

    This is a wonderful movie that families can enjoy, with very positive themes. It demonstrates family and social values in a subtle way it also promotes the true spirit of America. The "subtle" part is the result of great acting and a not-in-your-face script. If you never heard of it, that may be why. Highly recommended for ages 10+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Family Films I Have Seen

    loved this movie it had a great story. Michael Caine, Robert Duvall both did a brilliant job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie I have seen in years.

    I just watched this movie a couple of weeks agao. I had never heard of it, wasn't real sure about it. BUT, I was hooked from the minute I started watching. This is a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Very Special Movie

    This is a movie you must own as it needs to be seen over and over -- rainy days, happy days, sad days or any tine you need a lift. The acting is spectacular!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    comedy-family movie for everyone!

    hahaha.. this movie cracks me up every time i talk about it. robert duvall and micheal caine play the two grumpy uncles so well! they were born to play these men! this movie makes me laugh every time. it is also a little sad when jasmine dies. yet, this adventure thrilled movie will have you watching it again and again. not to mention, Mr. haley Joel osment did a fantastic role as playing a dorky Walter, when really, he's so hott in real life! i recommend this DVD for anyone looking for adventure and a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies to Cherish

    Duvall, Caine and young Osment. What a treat to view this movie about something and virtually everything. The only disappointment of the film is not being in on Duvall's speech of what a boy must need know to about being a man. Dialog and acting are 'old' Hollywod ( clever, well written, well acted, etc.). I just wish there were more movies like this one. I have watched it over twenty times and still marvel at the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A movie for the Whole Family

    This movie holds your interest from begining to end. I have watched it two times and will watch it again. Robert Duval and the rest of the cast were outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Words cannot express how great

    This movie was great. At first I wasnt to thrilled to watch it but then i read the reviews and they arent lying. I can watch this movie over and over. BUY IT TODAY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3