Customer Reviews for

Serenity

Average Rating 5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Space the final frontier.

    Many moons ago, Capt. James T. Kirk uttered the words "Space, the final frontier". I was young at the time but it conjured for me, images of Cowboys and Indians in rocket ships. Being a fan of Joss Whedons other work (Buffy,Angel) well let's just say when Firefly premiered and it was a new show by Joss and it was about Cowboys in space, I was hooked. It saddens me that FOX has cancelled so many good, cutting edge shows in their infancy, but it makes sense. It's an all around money maker for FOX to buy a "Pilot" and a few episodes of a fledgling show, cheaply. Advertise them as the "Newest,Hottest Show". Run them helter skelter to fill open slots on their network while they rake in advertisement dollars. Then when the initial run is over tout the newest show and move on ad nauseum. The Basic Rule: If a show is successful, It's expensive. This works well for me because now I don't even have to watch FOX network. I just wait until they cancel a show I was interested in and then offer the DVDs... Then I go out and RENT them and watch them commercial and FOX free. Serenity picks up after Firefly and answers some but not all of the questions posed during the series short run. The genius that is Joss Whedon, created a thouroghly enjoyable movie that is watchable whether you are familiar with the show that spawned it or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Sci-fi this year!

    This film will keep you on the edge of you seat! It is action packed and laugh out loud funny. Joss Whedon has a gift for making amazing characters and great storylines. Serenity is the name of a Firefly class transport ship 500 years in the future. Earth has been used up, and Serenity's crew travels around the raggedy edge of space taking any job that pays. The crew is made up of Capt. Mal Reynolds (Nathan Fillion) who fought on the losing side of a civil war, Zoe (Gina Torres) the first mate who served with Mal in the war, Wash (Alan Tudyk) the pilot who married Zoe, Kaylee (Jewel Staite) the chipper mechanic, and Jayne (Adam Baldwin) a mercenary. They have picked up a young doctor Simon Tam (Sean Maher)and his sister River (Summer Glau). Simon and River are fugitives from the Alliance, the totalitarian government that has performed heinous experiments on her. They send a man known only as The Operative to find and kill River. Mal and his crew try to avoid The Alliance, and figure out the secret that is driving River increasingly more insane. Toss in the cannibalistic Reavers who roam the edge and by the end of the film its anyone's guess who will be victorious. If you are a Star Wars fan, check this out! And if the new Star Wars was a disappointment to you, DEFINATLY check this out!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Best movie ever!! I would love if they brought firefly back

    Best movie ever!! I would love if they brought firefly back

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Wonderful

    I became a fan of the aborted series when someone gifted me with the Firefly DVDs and first watched this in theaters, and this as a fan I loved this film--it tied up so many threads brilliantly. The pacing makes for a suspenseful film, there is humor as well as drama, and I loved the themes about freedom, utopias and human nature. I know several have discovered the original series (sadly less than a full season) and through it have become fans, so certainly you could watch this first--or only this film--and never try the series. I think that would be a shame though. The film does act as a spoiler, and a lot of the fun for me of the film was seeing how some mysteries in that series was resolved. This is also one of those DVDs where the commentary adds a lot to the value--I found Joss Whedon's comments on making the film fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sci-fi at its funny, adventurous best

    In and of itself, Serenity is a terrific movie: smart, fast-paced, with great actors, great special effects, lots of action and snappy dialogue. But as closure for the Firefly series, Serenity both does and doesn't do the job. Certainly it addresses many of the plot points raised in the series: what are the Reavers? Why is River the way she is? Why is she important? Will the Serenity crew ever come to terms with the Alliance? But as far as a satisfactory end to a beloved story, it doesn't quite get there. At the end of the film, I found myself thinking of all that I still wanted to see the characters do. That's not necessarily a bad thing---I'm inclined to think of it as a testament to how compelling Whedon's characters are, actually---but anyone hoping to watch Serenity and feel they've reached the end of the adventure is sure to be disappointed. It feels, instead, like yet another beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Serenity

    I'm not really writing a review. Too time-consuming. Rather, just know that Joss Whedon is the god of live-action telemedia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Serenity

    A great conclusion for the series Firefly. Too bad the series was so short. This movie does a great job of ultimately telling the story of River Tam and at least some of what happened to her. Just wish there was more like this out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great ending to an amazing show.

    While Serenity is a good stand alone sci-fi movie, it really means the most to those viewers who were cheated out of an ending of the amazing TV show that it is based on, Firefly. Serenity gives viewers a little bit of closer that we didn't get when the show was abrubtly cancelled. With that said, the movie was very well done. The story was well written and kept humor and the characters true to the series. Having a major motion picture budget to use on the special effects was put to good use. Purchasing Serenity in Blu-ray only enhanced this. I'd recommend this movie to any sci-fi fan, whether you're a fan of the original show or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    In Search Of Serenity

    Serenity, like love and peace, is often sought but seldom found. And so Josh Whedon plays with this paradox in the film that is the culmination of his television series Firefly. In both the film and the series, the title focuses on the space ship which does have a personality not unlike its Captain Mal. Both seem on the verge of falling apart and seem to be held together by little more than will and what Mal calls "love." The very moral and straight shooting Mal steals and hides and tries to make a living in the freedom of the remote fringes of what counts as civilization. Of course, what passes as civilization is all about manipulation and control that is so extreme it will have serenity at any and all costs and that is no serenity at all -- at least for the non-believers.<BR/><BR/>The other characters are all paradoxes as well. Jayne seems the big and brawny man of war but he approaches life almost as a child. And the child of the crew, 16 year old River, seems innocent and vulnerable but she can take down Jayne and a host of Reevers with little more than a bit of sweat. The rest of the cast of characters continue with the paradox of appearance and realty. Shepherd Book is clearly at war with the peace he promotes, Kaylee is an ace mechanic and not a piece of female puff. And other paradoxes are embodied in Zoe, Wash, Simon, and Inara. All try to live by a code of their own choosing and which aims at a balance that hopes for "serenity" yet all find reality intrudes and brings them to conflict not just with events and one another but also with themselves. <BR/><BR/>The play of the story and the characters is simply fun and hits all the right buttons on our own desires for what, maybe, we too have lost or may be still fighting for -- individual freedom in a technological world that has become more of a trap of powerfully imposed dogma of obedience by a largely anonymous government and social and religious institutions that seek conformity and serenity by allowing only one way of thinking, acting, and being -- theirs. Our only hope as in Whedon's world may also be in those who decide to "misbehave" as only free people can. Maybe serenity can only be had by being true to one's self and to what is just and right by the measure of that guide.<BR/><BR/>Of course, Serenity can also be viewed for just the funny and adventurous and creative story that it is. Maybe that is the best way. May Serenity continue on The Wave.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    this movie was really fun. i really liked the firefly series and this movie was a good continuation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Serenity is a thinking man's Sci-Fi movie created for those who have not forgotten how to laugh.

    Serenity give us a glimpse of how the spirit of independence and self-reliance that helped to establish the "Wild-West" and the "cowboy" as enduring themes in our culture might clash with an all pervasive universal government in the future. Serenity is a direct development from the television series, Firefly. The movie length treatment of the Firefly story allows for more complete character development while remaining true to the essential elements that made Firefly a classic among SciFi fans. The special effects are excellent. The musical score is enjoyable, appropriate to the story line and superior to other Action Adventure / Sci-Fi films. The dialogue which is delivered by the excellent cast including Nathan Fillion, Gina Torres, Alan Tudyk, Morena Baccarin, and Adam Baldwin is intelligent, funny and at times, surprising. Serenity has become an important addition to my personal library of films. Serenity is a MUST SEE for all Sci-Fi fans and for anyone interested in considering mankind's future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I think this movie created a whole new genre of science fiction. The chemistry between the actors is perfect, the writing is intelligent and humorous without being stupid, and the special effects are top-notch. This is an excellent film. Joss Whedon understands that whether the movie takes place in the past, the present, or the future, what's most essential is to create characters that you can relate to, care about, and dialog that is real. It's all about the story. It amazes me that this movie has not spawned a sequel or two, or ten. Come on Joss, how about another Serenity movie, or a series of Serenity novels? I want more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a great way to sum-up an amazing series

    Serenity is just a great sci-fi flick! Whether you are a fan of the series Firefly (which I highly recommend) or you are just looking for a great story, this movie is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I should have watched the show!

    Having never seen this show during it's run on Fox, I had no baggage when I picked this DVD up on a whim. This movie requires no background info and struck me a completely stand alone movie, a tribute to the excellent writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie Ever!!

    One of the greatest and most original movies ever. If you like sci-fi westerns or anything Joss Whedon youll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It works. It's awesome

    I'm new at this, but I hope there will be more. Saw it in the theater earlier this summer and didn't think much about it, then it grew on me and now I'm a fan. The DVD looks and sounds good. Wish it was in 6.1 Surround Sound because that would sound better. But 5.1 sounds good anyway til a better version comes out. Anyway, this is a cool movie with lots of action and cool characters. Hopefully more are on the way :) If u are a fan, help spread the word :) Way to go Joss!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Waiting for the next one!

    I have loved Firefly ever since the first episode and boycotted Fox when they decided to cancel it. The film was everything I had hoped for and left it wide open for more films, which I heard a rumor that the Sci-fi channel might be doing in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Firefly Lives on

    Joss Whedon expands the Firefly Universe in Serenity in the same way that his brilliantly unique series pushed the boundries of what we expect of Television and Movies. In the setting of what could best, yet inadequately be described as a space western, Serenity is the story of doing what is right simply because it needs getting done. The crew of Serenity, also the name of their ship, are an eccentric mix of people including war veterans, a priest, a mercenary, a liscensed prostitute, a pilot, a mechanic, and a doctor and his strange sister who is being who are both wanted by the Alliance, the central government. Though the crew's well being depends heavily on the payout of smuggling jobs and theivery, they do have a few high moralistic ideals. Foremost being, as a crew they are eachother's family. They don't need to like eachother, but they will protect eachother until the end of their days. When the crew learns of a secret Alliance project, they feel there is only one right thing to do, and at any cost. Although seeing the Firefly TV series, on which Serenity is based, will truely enhance the enjoyment of the movie, Serenity stands alone as Joss Whedon's masterwork.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You will love this story!

    While it is nice to have seen the television series which preceeded this film, "Firefly" (available in a boxed set right here on barnesandnoble.com), it doesn't take away from the good time you'll have watching Serenity. I do, however, recommend watching the series first, because it will help you to better relate to the characters, and certain events will definately hit home more firmly when you know more about the background story. So buy both, and have yourself a marathon! You won't be sorry you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    most underrated movie of the year

    This is an action movie with depth and humor. It's rare to find that mixture, but Serenity is not only complex and amusing, it's got excellently developed characters, a fast-paced plot and real imagination. I really enjoyed seeing something completely original, and unlike some recent science fiction movies, Serenity doesn't depend only on great special effects for drama. This one's got more than just good looks, and it's well worth it to look beneath the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5