Customer Reviews for

Sex and the City - The Complete First Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow I Really want this dvd set! so bad!

    After seeinn the movie Sex And The City 2 yesterday Now i really wanna go out and buy the first complete season of SATC Wow this show is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    I am a Sex And The City newbie. I saw the movie a couple days ago. I rushed out and bought the first season. It was great. I am going to buy Season Two today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THERE'S NOTHING BETTER - NOT EVEN SEX ITSELF

    Okay, so maybe not. But this series is ORGASMIC! It's sooo good - truly the best series on TV. And watching the DVD over again is the perfect opportunity to re-live the fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love, Lies, Friendship, Heartbreak, not just SEX

    This box set/series is for women who love the bond that 'Friends' have. For women who love to listen to good gossip. For women who love drama. For women who want to know that they are not the only ones who feel that way about marriage. For women who want to laugh, cry, hold each others hands (ohmigod, like when Aiden got down on one knee!). For women who love shoes! This series brings out the best in females who spend too much time in the bathroom and deciding what to wear. I LOVE CARRIE, CHARLOTTE, SAMANTHA & MARANDA! They are like best friends you can rent/buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What's not to love?

    This is a great show!!! I love watching it with both my girlfriends as well as my boyfriend. We can all relate to all of the situations on here! For the person saying that it is too lewd and recommending Friends and Seinfield, I just don't get your humor! You should have know by the title that it isn't Friends, and personally, I am glad about that! I recommend buying all three and a DVD player just to watch these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not for the weak!

    this show truly empowers the female sex to go out there and go against the old stereotype that women are weak and dependent creatures who only reside in the homes that men create. after renting the first season at the movie store, i was instantly hook. i stayed up that night and watch all 12 episodes, only to go to the store again the next day for the next season. great investment! price is kind of spendy though... i am still shopping around for a better price before i buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    Fantastic

    Sex and the City is, undoubtfully, sheer genius. A show of unsurpassed sexual expression and female chemistry, it will engross you before the end of the pilot episode (why didn't Carrie allow her hair to remain brown- blonde is an absurd colour on her raven tresses). Its only flaw: there weren't enough episodes in the first season (twelve, in comparison with eighteen in the other seasons).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yuck!

    I realize that most people enjoy this show, which was a reason for me renting it. Thank goodness I rented it and didn't purchase it. It was the most awful show I have ever seen. I didn't laugh once and ultimately fast forwarded most of the show. I hated it so much that I stopped watching after the first two episodes. If you don't like strong, lewd, sexual humor, then this box set is really not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    want more sex? ofcourse you do!

    who can resist the four fabulous faces of sex and the city? carrie, samantha, charlotte, and miranda will have you hooked with about 9 hours of nonstop sex! once you get it in the vcr the tape/dvd before you know it, you've already watch four episodes. carrie is a ny star collumnist who cant find love in the big city. after twists and turns with mr.big *no name and sam's amazing love affairs then to charlottes reasoning of men you'll finally find your place and get back into your chair to listen to mirandas point of view. trust me you'll be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trust me: You'll be hooked!

    I have to say that I have never been more hooked on a show than I am with ''Sex and the City.'' I own the first and second seasons and it is so worth spending the money. It's entertaining, it's fun, and hey, there is some good advice for us women in there! I have guy friends that watch it with me! I am in college, and I have gotten my roommate, all of her friends, and all of my friends mesmorized and always wanting to borrow my tapes-even those who doubted they would like the show! It's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unique Breed of Comedy

    I bought a DVD player so that I could own Sex and the City on DVD. That was the ONLY reason why I bought a DVD player, in fact. The DVD'S in seasons one and two make up what I consider to be the best television series available on DVD. The menus are great, provide lots of background and chronological info for those who have never watched the series before. Aside from the format, the series is amazing. Think the comedy of a show like Seinfeld - except rather than being a show about nothing Sex and the City is a show about SEX. Hilarious and worth ever cent - 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wildly Funny & Oh Soooo True!!!

    I was one of those ''late-comers'' to view this ''smartly funny'' and ''witty'' comedy, and now I can't get enough of it!! Every show listed on my cable guide is ''ear-marked'' & ''hi-lited'' and I can hardly wait for Friday nights to ''roll around'' to view ''re-runs'' you say??? You bet!! I am NOT about to miss another single episode of this marvelous program, and I can not wait to see what happens in season 3--Oh Gosh!! How long to we have to wait?? Even though I taped the ''Sex & The City'' New Year's Eve Bash(spent my ''partying'' with these 4 very different women, I did)as soon as I was finished taping, I just knew I had to have the Season 1 set in my library of video tapes--complete and original as the series was done. Then it ''dawned'' on me--I can be just like the ''prim & proper'' Miss Charlotte or the ''career minded'' & ''not really sure I want someone with me 24/7'' Miranda; the ''zany'' yet sometimes ''insecure'' Carrie & the ''vampy'' ''sensual & sexy'' bombshell Samantha--WOW! I discovered that I am ALL 4 of these women ''rolled up'' into ONE woman, and I am sure that I am not alone out there either when I say this. I also discovered that my 32 year-old son loves the show too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really GREAT!!!!!

    The DVD set was a gift from my husband. We both thoroughly enjoyed watching them together. I am pleased to have found a sitcom that both of us enjoy. I would recommend this to ''adults'' as it very open subject matters is not appropriate for kids. I too hope that the complete series will go on tape, DVD. We try to watch it on Friday nights but always seem to miss an episode. One of the main reasons I liked the DVD was that it gave the viewing a chronological order. I feel that HBO is showing episodes totally out of sequence so often causes some confusion when watching it on TV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BOMB

    THIS IS THE BEST SET OF DVD'S THAT I HAVE BOUGHT I COULD NOT STOP LAUGHING I WANT MORE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great, Great, Great!

    I was given this DVD for Hanukkah by my husband, who knows I am a big fan. I am so very glad to have this DVD. I recommend this to anybody out there who is still dating or remembers what it was like to do so. I would very much like it if they published all the episodes but perhaps it takes a while before they attain the rights. Oh, well, I guess I and many others like me out there will just have to wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They go THERE

    How many times have you seen a show that starts out raising some legitimate questions about the murky single person's life, only to see the producers revert to the safe, formulaic, and easy solution just when the conversation gets interesting? This show's creative team really gets into the issue at hand with a fresh perspective...one can almost imagine Darren Star saying, ''there's a mental picture for you...hey, let's use that.'' No subject seems to be off-limits, from penis size to what one needs to be wearing when running into an ''ex'' to funky-tasting body fluids...the only thing that is taboo is triteness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    I don't think I've ever laughed this hard! This is a great way to catch up on the entire first season (if you are one of the twelve people who missed it)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIMPLY BRILLIANT

    I'm a man, but man do I LOVE THIS SHOW. The sexual trials and tribulations of these gals are so funny and touching. The writers really know how to pull at your hearstrings. Sexy and Spunky, I would love to be these gals pal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2