Customer Reviews for

Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Made me want to read the books.

    I am a big fan of Downey and he is as good as he always is in this movie. I did expect it to be slightly more funny and less Gothic. (By Gothic I mean in terms of late 19th century Gothic not as some teens are now) All in all I was entertained but it is not a movie I would watch over and over. The HD was good and some of the visuals were awesome in an artistic way. The plot was good if a little far out (but I like sci-fi, so I don't mind reality being stretch a little) I would recommend this movie for any Downey or Jude Law fans as they were great. The script was interesting enough for me to want to read the Sherlock Holmes books, if not just to see how well the movie was adapted from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I liked this movie more than I thought I would. I was leery of &

    I liked this movie more than I thought I would. I was leery of "updating" the classic Conan Doyle stories but this movie works. The action sequences (which I thought would not fit into a Holmes story) were well done and credible. The chemistry between Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reinvention of Sherlock Holmes

    To start off, I bought this movie at the beginning of March 2011. I remember when this movie first came out in theaters and was ranked as one of the "must see" movies playing. If you are a Sherlock Holmes fan or just someone who likes to have fun with solving mysteries, while enjoying some humor between two colleagues, then this movie is something that I recommend you should watch.

    The cast and crew who filmed this movie did an outstanding job in reinventing Holmes and Watson for a modern day crowd, while at the same time not losing the questionable elements that made Holmes and Watson such a intriguing pair of friends to follow on various adventures.

    This movie is basically a prequel to the introduction of Holmes so called arch-nemesis, Professor Moriarty. Although, you don't get to see any distinguishable features of the "Napoleon of Crime," throughout the movie. It does set Holmes up for a confrontation with the evil Professor, sometime in the undetermined future.

    The main villain in this movie is Lord Henry Blackwood, which is played by the actor Mark Strong. Holmes and Watson are first shown rushing off to stop a murder in progress. Which unavoidable leads the two friends on yet another adventure to solve a mystery that if left unchecked, will allow the criminal mastermind to kill everyone in a position of power and take over an entire country.

    Quite a few people would like to say that the best qualities of this movie are its fast pace action scenes, referring to the fighting scenes, combined with the humor of Holmes and Watson. While this assessment is true for the most part, one must also take the time to mention how this movie shows a more in-depth look into how Holmes views the world in comparison to a normal person.

    In some of the past movies of Sherlock Holmes, the directors and crew weren't able to vividly show the audience an in-depth look into how fast and accurately Holmes mind works when he plots a move from one point to another. But with the increase in technological advancements today, the producers can accurately show an audience a clear, slow motioned picture of how deadly Holmes is when he is either fighting in battle or just quickly piecing together something that puzzles him.

    As I stated in the opening paragraph of this review, if you are a fan of mysteries or just want to enjoy the adventures of Sherlock Holmes, then I recommend that you take the time to enjoy this movie.

    (Side Note: I don't give any review the maximum amount of stars because of the fact that their is always going to be something that a person doesn't like to happen in a movie, book, audio cd, soundtrack, etc. So if you see any review under my name and their is 1 less star from the maximum amount, then you can basically assume that the review got maximum points in my opinion.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Reveiw of the Movie Sherlock Holmes

    When I first heard about this movie, I was not sure that it would be good. After seeing the movie, I was really impressed with Robert Downey Jr character and the "science" used in the movie to add to the mystery of Sherlock Holmes. The slow motion descriptive parts that Holmes described before he fought someone was really cool. The overall story of the movie was developed very well.(69) The storyine was perfert for the time and London looked realistic as if I was really in London during the late 1800's. The finale was great, with the introduction of Dr. Moriarty throughout the movie was interesting and should lead to a sequal. The violin playing, Holmes Baker St home was fit the origial character perfectly. A great movie to see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Liked it!

    Had to watch it a couple of times to understand everything, but enjoyed it quite a bit. Will purchase the sequel when it comes out.....it looks like there will be another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A fun ride with another view of who is Sherlock Holmes

    I loved this movie.

    Sherlock Holmes the famous detective of 221B Baker Street is not the regular genius with Dr. Watson as his following lap-dog. No, in this movie he is a co-dependent neurotic genius, with Dr. Watson his friend, close as brothers. Dr. Watson, smart, independent with a sense of responsibility for the welfare of Holmes, tries to balance life with Holmes and life with his fiancee.

    This movie showing the train of thought of Holmes was brilliant, I loved seeing how he came to his conclusions. If ever there was a movie I just enjoyed for the fun of who-done-it this is the one topper. The cheeky dialog and action kept me going through the whole movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great fun, slightly too long.

    This is not your literary Sherlock Holmes, and nor should you expect it to be if you find out that Robert Downey Jr. is playing him. He plays the perfect lovable crazy-ass drunk, and I mean that in the best way possible. I love his Tony Stark, and I love his Sherlock Holmes.
    Sherlock Holmes was always one of those characters I should have been head-over-heels in love with, but somehow he just never managed to come to life in my head. So just imagine how excited I was to find that not only was the guy who brought Tony Stark to life going to play Holmes but that the movie was being directed by Guy Ritchie, the guy who gave us Snatch.
    Ah, but only if he had written it too. From what I've heard, enough people contributed to the script to populate a small country, which might explain why the movie dragged on a fair bit. There weren't any parts I remember as being exceptionally boring, but I couldn't help thinking, Is this movie ever going to end? I think they just tried for too much in what should have been a simple action film.
    Overall, I'd say it was highly enjoyable with an excellent performance by Downey and definitely worth watching unless you are a literary purist and hate the thought of an action-hero version of Holmes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great teamwork!

    Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law are perfectly in sync with their respective characters of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson. The opening scene gives the audience a perfect insight in how well they work together on a case. The banter is sharp and concise; their physical precision during a fight plays to each others strength and at the same time show the characters are watching each others back.

    Downey always seems to do his best work playing damaged characters, of course people have been saying that since the 1980's. His performance of Holmes displays the keen intellect and attention to detail; and then the flip side shows a dark, needy soul. When Holmes is not working he locks himself away in his room, performing dangerous experiments.

    Law presents Watson as a man of action, able to handle himself in a fight and ready for the next adventure. Yet Watson is conflict because he wants to settle down and lead a normal life.

    I'm ready for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great movie, definitely worth watching.

    Guy Ritchie did a wonderful job directing this movie. I especially like the fight scenes. they are a perfect combination of science and action, (like any good Sherlock Holmes movie should be). The acting was great. Really good performances by everyone, particularly Robert Downey Jr. (he did a great British accent) and Jude Law. I really liked Jude Law's interpretation of Dr. Watson, I thought he was perfectly complimentary to Holmes. And also i liked that they didn't really make Watson seem any less intelligent than Holmes just less eccentric. The story line was excellent, I always enjoy a good cult mystery. They set it up nicely for a sequel and i would definitely go see that one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2