Customer Reviews for

Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    My husband and I both thought this was one of the best movies we've seen in a long time. Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law were meant for these roles. The plot was fantastic and the movie was hilarious. There was no boring pause in it like you find in some movies. I would recommend this DVD to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Very cool story and love the quirky personalities and attitudes of the cast! Hope there is a second movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Laudable. Very, very laudable.

    This movie had me hook, line, and sinker. It captures your attention and doesn't let go until ending credits. I found it deliciously action-packed and so very clever. I still cannot quite wrap my head around the wits of this movie. It was just such a fantastic experience to watch is film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sherlock Holmes

    Awesome show!Everybody should check it out,So comical at times but also actioned-packed and serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Perfect Sherlock Holmes Movie!

    I've always been quite the Sherlock Holmes fan, and enjoy every opportunity to capture him in different media. Robert Downey Jr does an outstanding job with the part; it is perfect casting. The setting is quite dark, which I think accurately reflects the period. You must add this to your DVD collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch it, and you won't be disappointed.

    This was a fantastic, enjoyable journey alongside two of the bestest friends in literary history.

    It is very funny, very exciting, and very enjoyable. I can go on four hours about how great is is, but just go watch it!!!!

    In defense of the movie against critics:

    Naturally, this remake of Sherlock Holmes is an interpretation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's stories. However, as a devotee of the books, I firmly believe that the classic "Sherlock Holmes" of the stage and screen who wears a deerstalker and says "elementary, dear Watson" is as much if not more of a interpretation.

    And this is how it should be. What works on the page doesn't work on the screen, and therefore it has to be reinterpreted. Additionally, Doyle's conceit that Watson wrote the stories (besides the one written by Holmes) provides the perfect method to rationalize any difference between the original and the new stories; the differences can be attributed to Watson's differing opinions on what information the reader needs, his own interpretation of events, and even his decisions on what is not any of the reader's business to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Well worth owning

    After you buy some movies, you watch them once or twice and stick them on the shelf. Not this one! You can watch it over and over and see something new every time.
    In the fight scenes Sherlock Holmes is shown thinking through the moves to make, and the result of each one, then he executes them in rapid succession. It is really exciting to go back over these scenes, and match the "thought out" actions to the rapidfire movements. Knowing how the movie ends, it is nice to go back and watch Holmes gather his clues.
    Robert Downey Jr.'s portrayal of the "Guy Richie's Holmes" is excellent. His Holmes is scruffy, distracted, and clearly brilliant. Jude Law is at his best. He plays Watson as part disapproving dandy, part action hero, and always a loyal friend. He is the perfect foil to Robert Downy Jr.'s Holmes.
    Sets, costumes and everthing else about the movie is delicious icing on the card. I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love Sherlock Holmes

    Outstanding performances with a great story line and spectacular special effects make this a perfect night at home at the movies. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sherlock holmes

    This is the type of movie that one needs to see more than once, it does keep you stimulated mentally, as well as on the edge of your chair, there is no way in this movie that you are able to figure out the who done it.....very well done...this is the first movie i have purchased thru barnes and noble, i have made numerous purchases of books on line and have been extremely happy, the shipping time is fantastic, plus, the discount is really a great perk! I highly recommend anyone to purchase thru barnes and nobles on line, the comfort, ease, and savings is well worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Holmes and Watson As You Always Wished They Could Be

    This is the most believable "buddy" movie I've seen in ages--a sort of action movie for the thinking person. Robert Downey, Jr. (Holmes) and Jude Law (Watson) snipe at each other like two brothers who know each other very well. They are perfect complements.

    For those who want to see the brilliant Holmes of the old movies and his dithering but loveable companion, Watson, this movie is not going to be to your liking. For those who like neat detective stories with no loose ends, again this is not your cup of tea.

    Characters trump plot in this version, and I, for one, am thrilled.

    Both Holmes and Law are brilliant in their own ways. Downey's Holmes makes other portrayals pale by comparison: gone is the staid, methodical, arrogant bore whose mind is his only redeeming social value. Downey plays him as a less-than-immaculate scrapper, whose mind informs his personality rather than defines it. His character lives with both feet in different realities: drug-enhanced musings, experiments, mind games, and physical activities, e.g. boxing, which seem to be a blend of the two. His humor tends to be dry and pointed.

    Law's good doctor is a crack shot and acts as if he had truly been in the military and had shone in it. He's more grounded in the realities of everyday life, including the enjoyment of the social activities which interaction with other people require, and which Holmes eschews. Watson's mind is quick and his mouth is quicker. The rapid-fire exchanges between Downey and Law evoke laughter and a glimpse into the two-boys' club that you never get in past incarnations of the famous detective and his friend.

    Frankly, both my husband and I deem "Sherlock Holmes" one of the best movies we've seen. Period. We tried to find flaws, even reaching into the quality of the sound editing...no luck. We bought the DVD, because the action and dialogue rush by so quickly that we knew we were missing some bits we'd like to revisit often. Since we bought the DVD we've watched it again and again, and we don't tire of it.

    Crisp dialogue and endearing/intriquing characters rather than the plot line make this movie a joy to watch time and time again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Truest Sherlock Yet

    Those who read and adored the stories writen by Doyle will see nothing but perfect imagry and similarities between the Sherlock on paper, and the Sherlock in this film. I've seen a lot of Sherlock Holmes movies, and this does the best job of capturing Holmes' inane psychosis, his need for a case, and his perpetual relationship with Watson. Before seeing this, I was worried it would turn Holmes into an action movie, complete with overdone explosions, idiot female leads, and cliche lines. Imagine my delight when I saw the film in theatres, a living, breathing representation of the Holmes I know and love from literature. And, as far as movies go, it is impressive. The fight scenes are marvelous, the humour and writing are unforgetable. A mindblowing score doesn't hurt anything, either! Perfect for those just entering the world of Sherlock Holmes, or for the old veteran lovers of Sir Doyle's stories.

    Robert Downy Jr is an outstanding Holmes, and Jude Law is his perfect partner. I could do without Rachel McAdams, though. Her acting "skills" always fail to impress, and I was dissapointed to see her in a film worthy of much more talented actors.

    Also, lovers of House and Holmes - did you know Hugh Laurie's character is based on Holmes himself?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Updated Sherlock Holmes

    I am a Sherlock Holmes fan and was delighted when I heard there was going to be a new Sherlock movie. I don't think there has been a good Sherlock since Basil Rathbone. That has been a very long time and those are in black and white. I was not sure about Robert Downey Jr as Holmes but, he was a very good Holmes. I was used to Watson being slow and Dowdy but, Jude Law made a wonderful Watson. The plot was original and it contained a lot of fast paced action. The movie utilized Holmes' wonderful use of disguise. The movie also depicted that wonderful Holmes' humor. The filming and effects were great. I look forward to Robert Downey Jr bringing another Holmes case to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic!

    "Sherlock Holmes" is full of wit, excitement, and adventure! The cast and plot was absolutely brilliant. I would highly recommend watching this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sherlock Holmes Rocks! Two Thumbs Up!!

    Love It!! Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law make the perfect movie duo. Action packed and tons of humor makes this movie a Top 10 movie of the year! This is a wonderful spin on the Sherlock Holmes adventures that we all grew up with. The slow-mo action scenes are unbelievable. Robert Downey Jr. has made such a grand come back to the silver screen with Iron Man 1 & 2, and now adding Sherlock Holmes to his "Hit List" is a major two thumbs up! This is truly one to add to your movie library. My favorite format is the Blu-Ray combo pack, it comes with both Blu-Ray and DVD set with extra features disk. What are you waiting for.Get it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie producers do it again!

    Sherlock Holmes in this action filled movie, sends it's audience into moments of laughter, and suspense as he moves to figure out the secret of Lord Blackwood. This movie has an element for most movie viewers like action, suspense, and romance which draws the viewer in immediately. If you want to watch a good movie that will leave you sitting at the edge of your seat, this movie will surely accomplish that! If you want a good time, add this movie to your DVD rack today! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Entertaining!

    As a teen, I always enjoyed the stories of Sherlock Holmes. In this particular re-creation, Robert Downey plays the illustrious Sherlock Holmes, and Jude Law is the sharp & witty sidekick Watson. They made a very witty duo in this movie. I don't want to sit here and spend a lot of time going on about what happens between them and what happens in the movie in general, because you ought to just see it & find out for yourself, because I do feel that it is a very enjoyable and worth while adventure. Robert Downey and Jude Law have great on screen chemistry and make a sensational duo. All the supporting actors did wonderfully too. The movie itself is funny, intreging, smart, and exciting all rolled into one. This was the first movie that my girlfriend and I saw together, and we quite enjoyed it. If you have not seen it, I recommend that you give it a watch. I, for one, will be buying this on Blue Ray. Check it out folks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a BLAST!!!

    I was really interested to see what Guy Ritchie would do with the indomitable Sherlock Holmes, and he really took the well-worn character for a ride. Visually, Ritchie dips his brush in mud--scratch that--he hoses London down in mud. It's eerie, dirty, subtly menacing, and PERFECT. Then he dresses his female lead in startling, bright colors, and she becomes a visual foil to all this dreariness. It reminds me of Monet's judicious use of red in his paintings that are otherwise quiet and understated, and Rachel McAdams does a brilliant job making her character that "flash of red". One easily sees how she can smile at you like the girl next door while she picks your pocket. She's the girl that makes you eat your heart out and enjoy the meal, and Holmes is no exception. The "bromance" between Holmes and Watson is sublime. Ritchie's dynamic duo is no stuffy, staid, Scotland Yard pair, but rather a couple of guys who seem like the odd couple until you look a bit closer. They both are smart, edgy, funny guys who irritate the hell out of eachother--in short, they can't help but be friends since part of their irritation is an underlying respect and admiration for the other. You won't have to guess too hard at the plot, but that's not what we come for, is it? Here, Ritchie, rather like Holmes, makes us feel like the answers are in front of us the whole time if we but pay close attention. No, we want to see Holmes and Watson bring down the bad guy, which we already know they will. We might wonder, however, what kind of tobacco Holmes is stuffing his pipe with...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3