Customer Reviews for

Shirley Valentine

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HELLO WALL!

    LIVE VICARIOUSLY! WE TRAVEL ALONG WITH SHIRLEY AS SHE FULFILLS A DREAM. GREECE! WHAT AN ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS ,WONDERFUL DREAM COME TRUE. SIT BACK, ENJOY THE SUNSETS!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Such a lovely film

    Well, what can I say. &quot Shirley Valentine&quot is one of those very few movies with perfection. Pauline Collins is terrefic in the role of Shirley, she is very adorable and her performence is worth appreciating, nevertheless her role is worth admiring and loving. Beautifull scenarios of Greece, excellent chemistry between Tom Conti and Pauline Collins and well, words alone cannot describe this beautifull film. Its emotional, its seductive, its lovely consisting of good performences. Unforgettable and definately worth watching. If you like good lighthearted drama, beautifull locations, this is the film for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I LOVE this movie. Shirley talking to the kitchen wall while drinking wine. Feeding her husbands dinner (steak) to the neighbors dog because she feels sorry for it. Shirley who has dedicated her life to her husband who never smiles and is always sullen and her daughter, who moves back in and expects mom to wait on her hand and foot. Then making a daring move by accompanying her friend on a trip to Greece which turns into a life altering experience. This is a great movie! I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    A Terrific Foreign Film Considered A 'Sleeper'

    When my wife & I first saw this film in 1997, it was considered by local movie critics to be a 'sleeper' of a film. It wasn't rated that high so we weren't sure how enjoyable the film would be. I would consider this one of the top 5 films I've ever seen. It shows Shirley's stages of life as a student, antics with her fun loving husband when first married, and how time changes her husband from being 'fun' to being 'boring', something I think many people can relate to. I immediately knew the turning point in the film where Shirley knew 'enough was enough' & decided to inform her husband about her trip to Greece (see if you can tell). The only negative aspect about the film involved the credits. I considered her husband, (Bernard Hill), to have a major emphasis in the whole film. Yet at the beginning when the credits are shown, instead of it reading 'Starring Pauline Collins, Bernard Hill, ...', it reads, 'Starring Pauline Collins, ...', 'With Bernard Hill.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Never Give Up on your Dreams

    Shirley did not fall prey to the domineering boring husband, or the demanding ungrateful children. She had dreams and aspirations and followed her heart. Life is too short not to follow your heart or dreams. Hurrah for Shirley Valentine. I hope they make this in DVD soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    Waiting for the sequel

    I'm still waiting for the sequel to this great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Inspirational

    Well, have seen this movie 32 times. Was I moved to get a ticket to Greece - YOU BET! Even stayed at the Manoulas Beach Hotel where she stayed and sat on the beach and watched the same sunset. Marvelous movie - Makes you ''think about life!!'' and take action. My hubby loves it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Rembering who you were

    This is a movie that every woman needs to see and apply to her life. Excellent sceens where Shirley talks to the wall and to the audience. A group of ladies in Atlanta were told what a great movie this was and had a Shirley Valentine party. Twelve ladies watch it together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    And then what?

    This is a perfect movie for anyone tired of the drudgery of day to day. Shirley's conversations with the well are hilarious. She is sweet and honest and brave and she inspires you to be the same. Look for the greatest diet plan ever devised (the F-plan) You and your best girl buds will laugh yourselves silly and still have something to think about when it's over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Shirley Valentine-Used to Teach Adult Students How to Follow Dreams

    This wonderful comedy/introspective piece is about an unfulfilled housewife and how she gains the courage to follow her dreams and recapture the vivaciousness that was once very much part of her. It is an eye opener for anyone questioning ''how did I end up where I am and how can I regain my purpose'' ---a truly inspirational film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2001

    Watch This With Your Best Friend

    This movie is for every person who ever asks the question, ''Is that all there is?'' or ''Whatever happened to the real me?'' Shirley Valentine is a middle-aged woman neglected by her family. Just when she thinks life has no more surprises, she gets an opportunity to take a trip to Greece. In Greece, she meets and is entertained by a charming local, played by the actor Tom Conti. Best of all, she is reintroduced to herself, the Shirley Valentine she thought she left behind when she married. Look for Joanna Lumley of AB-FAB fame, who plays Shirley's old school mate. This movie will make you want to book the next flight to Greece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1