Customer Reviews for

Shrek

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dig it

    I bought this movie last night, it's just a nifty little movie, just dandy, just rad to the bone I suppose. I'd watch it three times!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eddie Murphy is the best!

    This movie is hilarious!...Recommend it for kids but much more for adults! The computer graphics are unbelievable. You gotta see this if you are an Eddie Murphy fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see for kids, adults, teens, everyone!

    Though the commercial (non-customer) reviews got a few of the details of the story wrong, they got the jist of it. This is a hilarious movie, for anyone. It will, of course, appeal to children, since, at its core, it is a fairy tale, but it also apeals to pretty much everybody else, unless you're a die-hard Disney fan. The humor is plentiful, with jokes directed at all or certain age groups, and the story is somehow both the oldest story in the book and unique at the same time. Very rarely have fairy tales been looked at in such an interesting light. The massive combined comic talet of Mike Meyers, Eddie Murphy, and John Lithgow virtually gaurentees a hit, but the spot-on writing from Ted Elliot and his colaborators will make, though I should probably say they have already made, a classic. Two thumbs up! Five Starts! Must see! You get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious!!

    This was the funniest movie I've seen in a long time. I personally like comedies and this was one of the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fairy tale must See

    i thought that shrek was a wonderful and witty movie.the amimation was the best i have seen in a while... and it was not even a disney movie. this movie i belive apeled to all ages. it was a wonderful cartoon animated movies for the kids and it has a mixup of adult hummor for the parents taking there kids to see it.Shrek pulls from all of the old fairy tales you grew up reading.it also has that little fairy tale love twist to it. the movie really grasped my attention and held it all through the movie. but more than anything it made me laugh.this is not a movie that anyone will soon forget. i belive that it will be around for generations. Enjoyable for all ages. you have to see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very clever - breakthrough film for Pixar

    Developed a highly entertaining story - Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy are a great combination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it!

    Hilarious and strange concept :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious, but not appropriate for kids

    This movie is hilarious, but DreamWorks ruined the movie by putting objectional jokes into it. If they took out all their objectional jokes from their script and put in clean jokes, then Shrek would have been 100% better. However, the animation was TERRIFIC! I was impressesd about how rich everything looked and how real the people were. It was really great, and the entire movie had me at the edge of my seat because of all the adventure. Still, I could have left without the objectional jokes and the bathroom humor. I still prefer "Ice Age", "Toy Story", "Toy Story 2", "Finding Nemo", and a lot of other computer animated films above this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Computer Animated Movies!

    Shrek is one of my favorite computer animated movies and I think it is a very cute happy feel good movie that is nice to watch to cheer you up when you are ill or just feeling a little down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Adult humor goes right over the kids heads!

    This is a great family movie for all ages. The 'supposed' naughty humor that is more adult orientated goes right over the kids heads and is more tongue and cheek than anything. The humor is actually quite innocent. To rate this movie 1 star because some goody goody feels that it's on line with a porno is ridiculous! See this film... it's a classic family friendly flick for everyone that never crosses the line... anyone who thinks otherwise isn't living in the real world and needs to lighten up and have a little fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny movie

    This film was funny and there were hilarious scenes and I can't get enough of this movie. I strongly recommend it for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amusing, but not for kids

    The first time I saw this video, I loved it. I thought it very humorous. After watching it several times, I still think it is amusing, when there isn¿t subtle or not-so-subtle dirt in the humor. But every time I watch it, I hear more objectionable jokes. My brother and I watched it with some Christian girls and were embarrassed by the content of the movie. The donkey uses his name as a swearword, makes crude jokes, and goes to the bathroom on a fire to put it out. Sex is more than hinted at when the donkey discovers Fiona laying on top of Shrek and when Shrek and the donkey repeatedly joke about Farquaad¿s 'size'. When my brother¿s friends saw the movie, they said, ¿This movie is for kids?¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Ogres are like onions...

    Great for use in Spanish class as an end-of-the semester activity. Even though I teach first year Spanish at a middle school, my students know enough of Shrek in English to make the connections in Spanish. They should always remember that 'cebollos' are onions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A movie that makes you laugh out loud

    This movie is wicked funny that will keep you laughing the whole movie. The music and characters are amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shreck is not just a movie for kids!!

    The movie is not only fun for the kids, but with its obvious adult innuendo, it is fun for adults too. Its not your typical fairy tale story, but a mixture of all of your favorite childhood stories, including The Three Little Pigs, The Three Blind Mice and many more; all combined into one crazy tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Fairy Tale Never Told...

    A lovely, funny and heartwarming movie, Shrek really is 'one of a kind'. It successfully demolishes all the laboured fairy tale misconceptions, and its characters are all perfectly animated and voiced, whether John Lithgow's repellent Lord Farquaad, who is as much a freak as the 'creatures' he condemns, or Cameron Diaz's spunky Princess Fiona. The undisputed star, however, is Eddie Murphy's Donkey, who is a hoot! Don't be put off by its apparent 'kiddishness'-this is one film that you have to see, even if animation isn't normally your thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    Gotta have it!

    Shrek is an excellent movie. The one and only movie that my husband has watched more than once and enjoyed it each time.Lots of knee slapping laughs. Buy it today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So Cute!!!

    This is one of the cutest movies I've seen in quite a while. My friends had to drag me to the theatre to see this movie, but I'm really glad they did...it was well worth the time/money. Great storyline, adorable little characters, awesome animation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shrek was a ''Excellent'' movie

    I know that we have seen the movie at least twenty times via digital cable and video, so we had to purchase our own dvd copy. It was the most compassionate movie I've seen since ''The Black Stallion''. I'm truly grateful we have our own dvd copy now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy this with Monsters Inc

    If you haven't already, go out and buy this grat movie, and if you have not bought Monsters Inc yet, buy that too with this movie. You will not be disappointed. But parents this got rated PG for mild language and some crude humor. As the movie opens, Shrek (Mike Myers) is an orge who hates people and likes to live alone. Until when day when he saves a talking donkey (Eddie Murphy) from Lord Farquadd's guard (Jim Cummings). But when the fairly tale characters get banished from Farquaad's kingdom, and winds up in Shrek's swamp. He goes off with Donkey, to get them off his land from Lord Farquaad (John Lithgow), but instead Farquaad agrees to that if Shrek will rescue Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) from a dragon. Shrek agrees and with donkey he goes out to fight the dragon. If you love animated movies you love this and other animated movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4