Customer Reviews for

Shutter Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Martin Scorsese, as usual, does an excellent job of bringing a s

    Martin Scorsese, as usual, does an excellent job of bringing a story to the screen. The story, however, was shamelessly ripped off by pulp author Dennis Lehane, from the 1962 film "The Cabinet of Caligari". The film is definitely worth watching and keep you glued to your seat - so, put the cat out and go pee, cuz you won't want to miss a thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one totally awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shutter Island

    This movie was pretty good, but I had to watch it at least 3 times to understand it. It not horror, but more of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    I hadn't really heard of Shutter Island until after a friend of mine said that she went to see it in the theater. She said that it was really good. I asked her what it was about and she said that she couldn't explain it without giving stuff away. After that I couldn't wait to see it. I love Leonardo DiCaprio so that just made the movie that much better.
    When I first started watching it, I wasn't exactly sure about it. The beginning just didn't seem all that strong...but it got way better. There isn't all that much action in the movie, but it kept me on the edge of my seat none the less.
    I have to admitt that it isn't the best movie in the world, but it definitely towards the top.
    I recommend Shutter Island to anyone who loves a good mystery and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I loved this movie! The plot and the acting were superb. This is definitely a DVD I want to add to my collection. If you're into the psychological thrillers, this is right up your alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    Gives you a real sense of how detailed delusions as the result of mental illness can be. You can get this same movie on Amazon for $16.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Scorsese's Best Film in 15 Years.

    "Shutter Island" is a Martin Scorsese picture that doesn't feel like your typical Martin Scorsese picture. It is far more grungy than a lot of things he's done in the last many years, but still it doesn't lose focus through out it's 138 minute running time.

    Even though I haven't read the book, I've been told I need to. Dennis Lehane, the author, has had his share of books translated to screen in the last 7 years, "Mystic River", "Gone Baby Gone" and now "Shutter Island". I've read a collection of his short stories and Mystic River, and one comes to the conclusion that he writes in a way that rides a fine line between the semi-corny detective novels and classic mystery novels. If Dennis Lahane was a young adult in the 40's and 50's, he would have been the one to write the "Lone Ranger" books. The script does have it's share of exposition, where it feel very book-ish, where characters suddenly, but with some purposeful push, dump (for lack of a better word) a load of information out so us as the audience can understand a few things a little better. It doesn't happen often, but when it does, it's a bit of a distraction.

    Leonardo DiCaprio continues to prove that he is among the best actors working today. He was simply fantastic, as was the rest of the cast, but especially DiCaprio. While I wasn't moved to tears by any means, I was moved in a way that I felt a certain amount of frustration that his character had while conducting his investigation. Of all his films in the last 10 years, I really felt DiCaprio did quite a bit of research and let everything lose for this film. It shows. It was fun seeing Max von Sydow in the film, and one could say the role of the old psychiatrist was made for him, but it seemed the opposite of that for me. This role was given to him because he's Max von Sydow.

    I believe how Scorsese handled this film was smart. For me it seemed like he never acknowledged that it was a '"horror" film. So thinking of it as just drama with elevated suspense allowed him to jump of out what it could have been if another director tackled the script knowing they were making a horror film. I kept thinking of Kubrick and "The Shining" at times. "The Shining" is a great, if not obvious comparison of well respected director taking on the "horror" genre.

    Technically "Shutter Island" was what you'd expect from Scorsese, but he held back on some of his camera moves and editing from the last few years. I greatly appreciated that. I have been quietly vocal for years about how much I dislike the way Thelma Schoonmaker edits. I went so far as 'Booing' the television when she Won Oscars for editing "The Departed" and "The Aviator", that's how serious I feel about her editing. The last film she cut where I felt the insanity was justified was "Bringing out the Dead", otherwise it's been quick cuts and flashy for no other purpose than that's what Scorsese and Schoonmaker do.

    "Shutter Island" was easily Scorsese's best movie of the last 15 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Exactly Unpredictable

    The previews for this movie emphasized a huge twist in the ending, and that said twist would be unforgettable. Well, I saw everything coming about 20 minutes into the movie, and I kind of feel like this movie in general was just weak for the reputation Scorsese and DiCaprio (especially together) have built for themselves. Those disappointments aside, it was an interesting movie. The acting did the film justice; Sir Ben Kingsley and DiCaprio played their characters with conviction. As I do with most movies, I recommend you give this a chance. It is at least worth saying you've seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1