Customer Reviews for

Sicko

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This is an amazing film. This film will make you open your mind to the reality of society's flaws. America may be called "America the beautiful" but how beautiful is it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SOMEONE FINALLY SPEAKS THE TRUTH

    This is the film that will turn any Moore-haters. He puts himself in the background and really focuses on the issue at hand, the rigged, profit-focused health care industry in the United States. Whether you like or hate Moore it doesnt matter, just see this film. You simply cannot argue that this film is anything but the truth. Walk out your door and talk to any "middle class" American and you will hear the very same concerns. This is Micheal Moore's bravest, strongest, most essential film yet. This is about human nature, THIS IS NOT POLITICS. THIS IS FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS AS HUMAN BEINGS.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It only hurts when I Laugh

    Michael Moore may not look like your classic genius, but he is. His ability to combine fact, humor, and good old American common sense, and make it fun and entertaining, is remarkable and gifted. I'll admit I had reservations myself about the cost/benefit of universal health care, and the critical innuendoes thereof abundant in our culture. Micheal Moore empathizes with such reservation, but shows us how pathetically brainwashed we are, with both his documented facts, and intuitive displays of peoples' satisfaction living with such systems. He shows the obvious (but not snotty) amusement of Canadians, French and Brits (and Cubans too) with the typical American disbelief and skepticism - at the same time expressing their empathy for our travails and respect for Americans as basically good people. They only want to help. This is hard for the right wing and the for-profit disease-care industry to counterpoint. Facts can always be disputed, and statistics can always be scrutinized, but the interviews with these people in other countries tells a better story than all the fact and figures you can find, and in a very entertaining way. We've gotten so used to living this way, we've forgotten how it used to be, and how it should be. We ride with the French physician driving around all night making house calls. A public service started by a doctor that got 24-hour plumbing service and thought humans were at least as important as plumbing. We visit the "cashier" in a British hospital, whose sole purpose is to reimberse people for travel expenses and other out-of-pocket expenses that are covered by the government health service. We see an American stocking up with 50 cent inhalers in Cuba that cost her $200 in New York, the identical product. We see Canadians who are afraid to leave Canada without travelers health insurance, because they had a Canadian friend who got a $500,000 bill for a concussion while in Hawaii, which would not have cost him a cent in Canada. We see "Health Care Refugees" from the USA who go to other countries (illegally) to get care free because it is prohibitively expensive in the USA. And American expatriots who have guilt complexes about the lack of care (and prohibitive/bankrupting expense of care) back in the States, which they get free. But the most remarkable thing is to see the content and satisfaction of foreigners in their respective countries, how complacent and confident they are with their health care systems (both health care professionals and patients,) and how that compares with the countless incidents of patient apathy and professional disparagement our system has created, not to mention the unending increases in costs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just what the doctor NEEDS to order

    Imagine a world where the rich come to play and the poor come to pay thousands of dollars a month to stay alive for a meesly bottle of pills. That's SICKO. The first non 'in your face' documentary from Michael Moore. A family friendly film you could say. But don't expect not to ball your eyes out when a dazed woman is thrown out of a car from the hospital she was in because of lack of funds. Moore even lets the story unfold without him. He shows up 18 minutes into the film! In a time of cruelty and injustice, Sicko attempts to put everything back into order...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!! As a Canadaian viewer, I cannot believe the

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!! As a Canadaian viewer, I cannot believe the crap that americans have to go through to seek medical attention. That poor mother whose child was refused at a hospital and then died on the way to the 'right' hospital. Here in Canada that would NEVER HAPPEN!!! Nor should it happen to anyone in this world!! I have no idea what this world is coming to!!! I cant believe how pissed off I am over that situation. I know no country is perfect, but what is more precious and important than saving another human being! I guess in the states money !!! I find that so hard to wrap my mind around. Micheal you have really opened my eyes and heart to what is really going on in this world! All your documentaries are life changing and thought changing. If you were to ever become president you would without a doubt have my vote! Dont stop opening peoples eyes, ears and hearts to what is going on in this world. Keep it up Mike your awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    His Best

    I really like most (not all) of Moore's films, but this one is his very best. If you're not moved (and outraged) by this film, there's something wrong with your heart. Many of the subjects of the interviews are insiders that have been unable to continue the shameful practices of our FUBAR American health care system.

    I've checked the facts in this film, and they ARE accurate. The HMOs are parasites; middlemen that provide nothing, and produce nothing - except misery, bankruptcy, and in some cases death.

    If you want to really get a sense of what the "other side" of the issue is really like, look at all the cowards posting 1-star reviews anonymously. Let that be your guide. Please watch this film and get the real story for yourself. This is important stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    should be a core requirement.

    I watched this film last night and became sick to my stomach. Not that the United States deserve a Health care service, but to know that people in the USA are so ignorant they refuse to apply common sense and are so full of hatred and greed that the do not believe they deserve good care. I have health insurance, but I am so scared to even feel sick. God Help us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    My favorite movie - in all honesty!

    I am sorry to say that this is my favorite movie.
    It should not be... In a perfect world this move should not needed to be made. But this is not a perfect world, just a perfect movie.
    (I cry everytime I watch it.)
    If you know anyone who had problems with the "health" "care" system - and you surely do (!) - watch this movie! Bring family and friends together, discussions will surely follow. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moore hits it again!!!

    I know most will say blah blah blah, more Michael Moore propaganda...wahhhhhh...whatever. Like another reviewer said, he basically sits on the backburner in this film and lets people explain for him, that the health care system in this country is horrendous. You know, there's a time and a place for capitalism, but when it comes to insurance companies, and how they basically have their way with people's lives, however they want, it's truly saddening and sickening. I do hope that many people will have a chance to view this, because it's such a great eye opener to one aspect America is truly failing at...making health care available for all. Not just that, but how insurance companies in general, not just health ones, basically run our lives, and budgets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Mike, you are a the best! It's a real terrible story about beaut

    Mike, you are a the best! It's a real terrible story about beautiful american dream. Thank you for your struggle for destinies of ordinary Americans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Saw SICKO tonight on austrian-german-swiss 3sat-TV and became ch

    Saw SICKO tonight on austrian-german-swiss 3sat-TV and became chocked how the heck the US is taking care about and how those responsible insurance companies there treated and still are treating the health of those people and others too, shown in SICKO! I knew how bad it is to get sick and ill in the US, but I didn´t know it is as bad as Michael M. showed in SICKO! This mess the stupidity of the Republicans stands for together with the generous weapon law in nearby the whole US was the main reason not to use any of those Greencards I´ve been offered for the past years! As an german cittizen living in Stockholm/Sweden I only can wish all US-citizens like those shown in SICKO that it finally comes to a badly needed "CHANGE" for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1