Customer Reviews for

Signs

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Edgar Allen Poe of Filmmaking

    M. Night Shymalan is the Edgar Allen Poe of filmmaking. Both seek out the weirder and horrific edges of life, even if they are imaginative and both men are. This movie was quite original, but its actors (ahem, Mel Gibson) was limited, as always. The aliens weren't too friendly, I guess the dogs learned that first hand, LOL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Signs

    This movie was quite enjoyable and just made you want ot see it again and again if you missed something or didn't get understand something. The scary part was when the part of the Brazil birthday party thing and then... It didn't look scary but for some reason it made some people out of their wits. Entertaining movie though that delivers the chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good and Bad

    The development of the story was perfect. The way tension and suspense were built was brilliant. The premise was excellent, seeing the demise of the world through the eyes of a small town farm-family was an interesting way to view things. I do not think Shyamalan gave the audience enough credit however. The ending was a little long winded, he did not need to explain the entire movie in the dialogue and flashbacks, that cheapened the effect I think. He is still a genious though, the screenwriting was flawless, music was always appropriate and added alot, and his use of light in color never ceases to amaze me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Loved It!

    I thought that ''Signs'' was abrilliant film, although slightly unrealistic. The aliens were so stereotypical in appearence, with green skin and large dark eyes, they spoilt the film at the end. Right up until they are shown is ace though, extremely gripping especially when watched on the big screen. Even with the stereotypes I think its better that M. Night Shyamalan hasn't tried to be too clever by creating some kind of strange new form of alien never explored in films before, like something out of star wars or even star trek (!) he sticks to the formulars and it works. It really explores our fear of the unknown. Excellent film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OK OK - THERE ARE HOLES . . .

    . . .in this movie big as a crop circle - cheifly why would H20-challenged aliens choose to come to this planet, mainly water, to stalk beings mainly made up of water (not to mention the humidity of PA in summer, dew on the corn, etc., etc.)? BUT - it is suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat. It confirmed my thoughts on alien visitation: ''they want to eat us'' and brought up the question: ''what would you do if it DID really happen?'' I jumped more than a few times. Saw it in the theatre with my two teenage sons - one said ''sucked big time'' the other gave it a ''did not suck'' - I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best science fiction/drama this year

    I love this movie, it is funny, scary, and suspensfull. It would be a 5 star movie, but i thought some of the editing could have some work. Otherwise the acting was good, the scars where good, and the laughs are good, i recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An intelligent original story.

    I am sorry for those who believe that this movie is about being scared or that aliens are goin to get you. This movie was way more then that. I enjoyed it. It makes you think. I am tired of all the remakes and copy cat type movies. The Director deserves an applause for his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    On the edge....

    I have never sat through a movie and felt my heart beat the way it did when I saw this movie. Not only did the girls in the movie theater scream, so did the guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1