BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Silent Hill

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Whoa

    when i first saw this movie it freaked me out! i have seen it so many times & it's like each time I see something new! great SFX, acting & plot. love it! if you wanna get freaked out with a modern movie I highly suggest picking this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad, but Hard To Compete With The Video Games

    The movie is disappointing to fans of the Silent Hill series of video games for good reason; it's a lot to live up to. Regular viewers not familiar with the game, tended to be lost by many of the themes and ideas familiar to the game players. There is nothing quite like the video games (especially the pinnacle, "Silent Hill 2"). Living up to that in any form is difficult, even in the video genre. "Silent Hill 3" and especially "Silent Hill 4" did not live up to the expectations set in 2. All things considered I thought the movie did a good job. The atmosphere was creepy, the idea of two overlapping worlds was a nice twist, and the creatures were pretty true to the games. But some scenes had (unintentionally) laughable dialog and with so many people in Silent Hill, the sense of isolation and helplessness present in the games did not exist in the movie. Had this movie been taken on by another director (in)famous for making movies out of video games, it could have been so much worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I do not like Silent Hill at all. It's nothing but some woman wondering through an empty town while a bunch of gross zombies chase her. The ending is very hard to understand and by the time you figure it out (if you ever do) you realize how stupid it really is. I don't recommend this movie to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I haven't played the games but have heard and seen the previews for them. Then i find out later there's a movie coming out based on the first one obviously. Then saw the trailer for the movie and thought hmmm this looks interesting and scary my kind a movie. Then i went to see it and thought it was a little weird and creepy at the same time like in the games which are supposed to be that way i suppose. I thought maybe they're were some parts in the movie they didn't need or could just cut out. But the movie was alright and had a to be continued not entirely the end of a type of moment yet. If you have not heard of the games or are thinking of seeing it then may i say its not for the weak hearted, it gots gore, swearing and disturbing stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Silent Hill

    All i will say its like all the others but alright at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not just for fans of the games.

    I saw it with my girlfriend, who'd played every game, and she couldn't stop talking afterwards about how wonderfully it captured teh essence of the games. She thought it was possibly the best game to movie ever. I never played any games and never watched her play any (she's not very good), and I still thought this was a great movie. They've created a great creepy atmosphere and through in a little social commentary for good measure. There are moments that seem almost too gory, but they fit in the SH universe and it all works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Treat for Horror Fans who are sick and tired of Slasher movies

    Silent Hill is a movie rendition of the video game series Silent Hill. This movie is not a version of any one particular game, but rather tries to capture the feeling, the twisted subreality of the Silent Hill world that the games make so real. Frankly, I didn't think it would be possible, but the creators of this film using some very inventive methods not involving cheap Hollywood effects have created a masterpiece of the bizarre, the macabre, the twisted and the dark. The heroism shown by the two principle female characters--a woman looking for her disturbed daughter and a female cop who befriends her, are beyond what most men could achieve in a lifetime. I wonder how many people would enter the hell-world of Silent Hill to search for a loved one. I have heard this film called "misogynistic" and that is totally false. All of the principle characters in this film, esp. the strong ones, even the evil cult leader are female. The message of this film, and yes this film has one, is simple "A Mother is God to her child". Unfortunately the horrors inflicted on the helpless children by the religious cult in this film is far too close to reality for comfort. I've personally faced some of these cruelties. A few years back a black autistic boy of eight years old suffocated during an exorcism attempt and I can verify this if you email me. The Silent Hill cult in contrast were witch hunters and witch burners. However, these horrors are not as distant in the past as people might imagine. The last witch burned at the stake was in the 1830s and what happened once upon a time, could happen again, especially if the religious right and political fascists in the United States succeed in subverting the secular government that our founding fathers wanted. Yes Silent Hill may become your reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst movies I've ever seen.

    I found Silent Hill to be the most ghastly and offensive movie I've ever seen in my 22 years. This was a disgusting, grostesque, absurd, pathetic excuse for a film. I made the mistake of watching it, and have regretted it ever since. Anyone with half a brain can see the plot holes large enough to drive an 18 wheeler through, and yet people still rave about how great it is. Silent Hill was an unbelievably disturbing film, with one character dying by being slowly burned to death, another having her skin ripped off by freakish monster with a huge metal triangle on his head and an even bigger machete, and another character being raped by barbed wire before being literally torn in half. The misogyny here is too blatant to miss. Do your brain a favor and read a book instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Met Expectations Very Well

    As a huge fan of the game series I must say that I am rather pleased with what Gans did with the source material. If you are a fan of the games and haven't seen this yet then what is wrong with you? If you aren't then you probably wouldn't care other then some "cheap thrills." Though the games' storyline ran quite deep and was lost on many people(who would rather shoot things for the sheer adrenaline anyway)I feel like that sort of sincerity or depth isn't really there in the film . Makes sense though seeing as how they need to make money off it. If they made it just for the fans it could be even better but it probably wouldn't make too much money due to a majority of movie goers that hate to think. I can say however that the atmosphere is there and most of the characters are borrowed in some manner from the games. In that way the movie is true to the source material and has made this fan quite happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1