Customer Reviews for

Singin' in the Rain

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ah! Musicals!

    Like Funny Face, Guys and Dolls, The Bandwagon, and the Sound of Music, going to the theater to see these type escapist films was a treat. I think many of the musicals from the Hollywood studio engine of the 40s and 50s should be mandatory viewing on the big screen before kids graduate from high school. This as with other mentioned have unforgetable songs, lyrics, and choreogrpahy from cores of actors who were the total package. Actors, singers and dancers! Woot. BUY BUY BUY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    "Singin' in the Rain" is the quintessential movie musical!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    All time favorite

    Even got my fiance to watch it.. and he loved it too :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutly refreshing

    This is a movie that can take you away, make you laugh and enjoy good music and good actors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fabulous

    An all time favorite! love the music and quote. love love love this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must for every musical buff

    The quintessential old Hollywood musical. Sweet romance, corny comedy, big musical numbers with awesome costumes. Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor do some amazing dancing, as does a very young Debbie Reynolds. Jean Hagen is absolutely brilliant as Lena LaMont, the silent movie star. I can't tell you how many times I've watched this movie, and I'd watch it again tonight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST-HAVE!!!

    Wonderful. Hiliarious. Entertaining. I wish the actors in the industry today and as much talent and charisma as they did back then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Joe - get me a tarantula

    My favorite lines from Singin' in the Rain: <BR/>"You couldn't kiss like that and not mean it"<BR/>"It's called acting, I'd sooner kiss a tarantula." <BR/>"I don't believe you"<BR/>"Oh, yeah? Joe - get me a tarantula!"<BR/><BR/>I bought the DVD so I could watch Cyd Charisse dance and skip over the rest of the "Broadway Melody" scenes. Other favorites: Donald O'Connor doing backflips off the wall. And of course Gene Kelly splashing around in puddles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Biased opinions equal great reviews.

    Singin' In The Rain may not be "the best musical out there," but i'm sure your favorite movie, book, or music choices aren't the best out there either. It's all a matter of opinion. Maybe it's a girl thing, but I love this movie, it's my favorite. It has something fun for the whole family. Even my little brothers, who hate musicals, like Singin' In The Rain! The story line might be "shallow" but it's a simple love story you wish you were apart of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Sorry, but Singin' in the Rain is not the greatest movie musical. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with this movie, but it just has a more shallow story than some great musicals. The songs are good, but not among the best. The danceing is good, but pails in comparrison with West Side Story. In short, watch this movie, but don't expect the greatest movie musical of all time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the great Hollywod classic musicals

    This movie features some of the greatest song and dance sequences of all times. Everyone is familiar with Gene Kelly's ultimate dance number 'Singin' in the Rain', but the Gotta Dance sequence of 'Broadway Melody' is one of Kelly's greatest modern dance interpretations, and Donald O'Connor's 'Make 'em Laugh' is one of the most hilarious numbers of his illiustrious career. Great songs, superb dance, and a the comedic story line (highlighted by the uproarious voice of Lina Lamont, portrayed by Jean Haden) combine to make this truly one of the classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie-making at Its Best

    'Singin' in the Rain' is the king of movie musicals!The acting was perfect,the dance numbers were amazing,the story was inventive, the romance was great,and the songs were wonderful.Also,Cosmo is hilarious,Kathy is cute,and Don steals the show.Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Definitive Musical...PERIOD.

    That headline may even be a bit too generic, because as an overall film, ''Singin' In the Rain'', is a solidly scripted and acted film of the highest quality. Despite Gene Kelly's legendary routine to the title song, the true underlying plot of this movie was about the transition from silent movies to sound pictures. One of the true ironies of this movie was the fact that almost every song (except ''Make 'em Laugh'') was a remake of previously recorded Freed/Brown compositions; some first introduced on film by talented singers like Judy Garland and Jeanette MacDonald. But many of the songs in the movie, and especially the title track achieved a status so extraordinarily displayed by Gene Kelly and the other cast members who sang on them, that when you think of ''Singin' In the Rain'' the song for example, you can't really envision anyone else singing it or dancing it like Gene Kelly. It's like once he did his version, the new standard was set, and it's never been, and never will be duplicated. Though the characters were fictional, they were in essence based on real people and real experiences in the early talking movies of MGM. It displayed how a major movie studio made the necessary moves to keep up with the competition and still be the best, and the actors and actresses whose careers either flourished within the new medium, or those whose careers were coming to a close as result of it. It is the perfect blend of music, love story, drama, comedy, and even redemption. The true talents prevailed, and the least talented were exposed. Every song and dance number is a memorable experience into a by-gone era that still stands the test of time. The musical orchestration, choreography, and witty dialogue is also second to none. In short, this is not only the best musical ever made...this has to be looked at as one of the top ten best overall movies ever made. If you're ever blue, this movie is the ulitmate pick-me-up...guaranteed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool Movie!!!!!!!!!

    This boy in my class brought this movie cuz we're learning what people did in the 1920's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Musical Ever!

    This movie is the best movie musical ever made. It makes you want to jump up and dance, and is guaranteed to put a smile on your face. I recommend it to everyone!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite movie of all time!

    This really is my favorite movie of all time. Great songs, dancing that makes me want to learn to tap dance every time I watch it, and to top it off, lots of good, witty humor. Everyone should see it at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A musical that will make you sing and dance!!

    Singin¿ in the Rain is one musical that even all musical haters cannot ignore. This musical I feel has everything that a musical should have. The great songs ¿Good Morning,¿ ¿You are my lucky Star¿ and of course the title track are forever timeless classics. The film is about Don Lockwood and Lina Lamont who are big movie stars of the silent era. Thank goodness for the film called The Jazz Singer because the silent movie world is all about to change. The Jazz Singer is a ¿talkie¿ and the silent movie actors find themselves undergoing singing and speech lessons so they can make their ¿talkie¿ movie. Don Lockwood passes but Lina Lamont cannot be a successful talkie actress. This film also shows us a romantic side of Lockwood and a showgirl named Kathy Seldon. Kathy pretends that she does not know who he is or anything about him, but we later find out that she knows everything about Don. Kathy and Don end up falling in love with each other. Later on Lockwood sees Kathy as a strong chorus girl who can overdue Lamont¿s voice, but Lamont tries her best to break them up. This films humor is hilarious but at times a bit cruel. A lot of it is at the expense of Lamont, because of her annoying voice and inability to sing and dance she is ridiculed throughout this film. Singin¿ in the Rain features some extraordinary dances ever filmed. One of my favorites would be during the Make `Em Laugh scene which is performed by Cosmo Brown. This number is a reason alone to see this film. The dances choreographed by Gene Kelley are very entertaining. The film also contains plenty of humor, especially where Don is talking about his early movie career to the press as having everything, while we see images of his past that are not really glamorous at all, as Cosmo and Don are being rejected just about anywhere. This film has a rather sweet ending as Don is singing ¿You are my lucky Star¿ to Kathy in front of hundreds of movie fans. It shows his love for Kathy is so strong. I would recommend this film to anyone whether they are a musical fan or not. If you are ever in the mood for a fun and entertaining musical I would recommend you rent Singin¿ in the Rain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    Being that the is the first musical I¿ve seen it is hard to say that this is the best, but I must say that it was an incredible movie, and must see for movie lovers. The originality of Gene Kelley and his dance scores is just simply put, ¿amazing.¿ As the director and major character of the movie, Kelley makes this film come alive. The plot line, based around a silent film movie actress forced to begin making talking pictures, is an inviting and amusing one that keeps you coming back for more. With such talented actors as Donald O¿Connor and Debbie Reynolds it¿s hard to find flaws in the casting directors picks. O¿Connor¿s antics and awesome dance routines make him unforgettable. The role that he plays as Cosmo Brown, Don Lockwood¿s sidekick, is very well acted. The chemistry between O¿Connor and Kelley is well rehearsed. The beautiful Debbie Reynolds, who plays the young Kathy Sheldon, is also stunning. In the beginning of the film she picks up Lockwood so he can retreat from the crazy crowd that is chasing after him. She pretends to know little about him and his impressive career, but we later find out she has seen a great deal of his films. Lina Lamont, who is the silent movie actress, is so realistically played by Jean Hagen. She is the gorgeous blond bombshell that is certainly not hard on the eyes but whose tone of voice could just pierce your ears. This movie is just such wonderfully directed and almost effortlessly made movie. I would suggest it to anyone in for classic movie and great time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy it now!

    Words cannot describe how excellent this movie is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    singing in all weather

    Singing in the Rain was a masterpiece. My fav part was when Donald O'Connor sang ''make em laugh'' and done his famous walk up the wall. it was once voted best movie musical ever made. its a classic and cant be mistaken for anything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3