Customer Reviews for

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sky Captain

    Sky Captain And The World Of Tomorrow Is Something You Have See On Blu-Ray Disc I Recommend That You Up Grade To Blu-Ray From Your Old Dvd?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My boys just loved this movie.

    I thought that this movie was very well done. It's hard to believe that a great deal of this movie was done on a green screen. Most of the background was completed on a computer. Watch the special features really showed the technical side of it. It's worth watching. I believe that it is meant for kids. It's sort of like watching a comic book movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a delightful, very funny'cartoon' film full of allusions to others

    A film directed and made in the old way. Wonderful and welldone. The plots are dense and rich, the acting refers to the forties science-fi or thriller films. The acting is very peculiar: Gynneth Paltrow could be Laureen Bacall in Casablanca...The colors like a mastered old rediscovered film (extraordinary)! The montage is quick, dynamic, the attention constantly focused on a new adventure.Allusions to Indiana Jones, Buck Dany,Superman are numerous. It also made me think of spy-films made in the Forties. I enjoyed the quick and adventureful rhythm of this film. it needs to be appreciated in itself without too much comparisons to others. But finding the allusions is a real game when you see it more than one time. You never bore yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    I loved this movie. The FX are awesome, but the intentional soft focus began to irritate me after the first few minutes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I appreciate the craftsmanship!

    This poor movie has gotten such a bad rap due to comparisons to other films. I think it needs to be appreciated on it's own merit. The craftsmanship and creativity demonstrated by the director is, I think, very ingenious. Yes, it is designed to look like some of the old black and white films but we can't make those anymore, nor should we expect anything to look like those classics. I think this takes an old format and puts a modern spin on it. And this is just the beginning..the next film like this will improve upon the concept!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome

    This was an awsome movie with tons of awsome acting and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This film showcases some amazing visuals and a lighthearted sense of fun only rivaled by the Indiana Jones and Star Wars series. The acting is solid especially a digitally spliced performance by Sir Laurence Olivier, one that becomes erie when the true nature of his character is revealed. It is fast paced, adrennaline pumping and absolutely 100% entertaining! A must for any sci-fi fan or even a fan of classic cinema (there is a neat scene that uses a scene from the Wizard of Oz as a backdrop and the film's visual style makes it seem like the best sci-fi from the 40's that was never made.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A waste of talent and special effects

    This movie promised something it is not: fun. It is quite dull, not even a pale comparision to other adventures films like the Indiana Jones movies. And it is a pity, because both casting and special effects are great. The problem is the script and the pacing, which are uninteresting and superficial. I can not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scients fiction superb

    This movie is a scients fiction lovers dream movie. A mix of reality and fantasy, comic book flashback. Movies like this is seldom seen on the big screen now a days. After leaving the theater I couldn`t wait to get it in dvd format. This is a must have for all scients fiction fans and lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1