Customer Reviews for

Sleeping Beauty

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SPECTACULAR Blu-Ray Restoration!

    As an adult student of animation and Disney collector, this Blu-Ray set is a dream come true. Sleeping Beauty has never looked and sounded this good before. All of the already-posted comments regarding the visual quality are dead on you could not ask for anything better. Another reviewer commented on the strident soundtrack. I admit that I have a fairly high-end sound system, but on mine, it sounded great - certainly no lack of bass. As if the Sleeping Beauty wasn't enough by itself, Disney also included the spectacular Grand Canyon short. I remember seeing this 35 years ago on an old 35mm film in jr. high school and loving it then and have been wanting to see it again ever since. A previous reviewer said that it was not enhanced for widescreen TVs - NOT SO - at least on the Blu-Ray release. It was a beautiful widescreen transfer that was so clear it looked as though it may have been filmed in hi-def - which, of course it wasn't. The soundtrack is as clear as you could hope for in a 1959 early stereo recording, and has a very high dynamic range - the bass during the cloudburst section rattled the windows. I only wish that the True Life Adventures recently released as the Legacy Collection series had been as well restored. These two films, alone, are reason to buy this Blu-Ray set. The other &amp amp amp quot features&amp amp amp quot are interesting enough, although not &amp amp amp quot must-haves&amp amp amp quot . My favorite is probably the cyber walk-through of the old Sleeping Beauty attraction from Disneyland. The attraction has long since been closed, but it is one that I enjoyed on a number of occasions when I visited the park. If this is any indication of what is to come in the future, I cannot wait for Snow White, Pinocchio, and Fantasia to be issed on Blu-Ray!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Once Upon A Dream No More - This Beauty Has Arrived!

    At a hefty cost of six million dollars and six years in production, Walt Disney¿s 'Sleeping Beauty' promised to be the most ambitious animated feature ever produced. However, changing public tastes resulted in a majestic glossy-looking effort that, despite its technical innovations, failed to become the blockbuster the studio had hoped for. The story, slightly changed from its Grimm¿s fairytale origins, charts the birth of Princess Aurora (vocal by Mary Costa). The young Princess is cursed by the evil Maleficent, a sorceress visually realized by animator, Mark Davis, that has to rank among the all time great Disney villainesses. Before her sixteenth birthday, Aurora will die. But three good fairies believe otherwise. They usher off the baby Aurora into the woods and raise her as their own. But Aurora meets up with her future when she comes across the brooding Prince Philip (vocal by Bill Shirley). When Maleficent discovers their romance, she is determined to see that tomorrow never comes for the couple. The magnificently staged battle between Prince Philip and Maleficent is chillingly good entertainment on every level and the story is as fresh and appealing to seniors as it is for the young at heart. 'Sleeping Beauty' was shot in Technirama - a Cinemascope-style 2:35:1 aspect ratio that, in the past, has suffered on 1:33:1 television displays in a cropped off pan and scan image. On disc one of this two disc set we get both the Technirama transfer and a full frame copy ¿ to satisfy those who have yet to realize that full frame means fifty percent of the image is missing from their television screens. The review herein will concentrate on the widescreen version of the film which, in a word, is beautiful! Colors are rich, vibrant, bold and have been carefully rebalanced to provide a very smooth and crisp looking transfer. Contrast levels are fully realized. A few problems - minor digital noise and a halo effect during portions of the forest sequence that flashes so quickly you almost have to stop and think, 'Did I just see that?' The audio, remixed to 5.1 but strident, strangely lacking in bass - I say, strangely because 'Sleeping Beauty' was recorded in stereo that, while, of course, should sound dated by today's standards, usually has a strong sonic bass characteristic that is curiously absent here. Extras too are something of a disappointment. We get the 'Once Upon A Dream' featurette - billed as a `new¿ documentary on the making of the film. Created for the previously issued laserdisc and VHS copies this featurette is too short - not covering the scope of production. Next, there's the Peter Tchaikovsky Story - a largely fictional account of the man who was inspired to write, among other things, the 'Sleeping Beauty' ballet. The transfer here is terribly faded, suffers from chips and scratches and digital noise, edge enhancement and shimmering fine details. We also get the 'Grand Canyon' featurette that accompanied 'Sleeping Beauty' on its original theatrical engagement, but again, as with the Tchaikovsky Story, all the same criteria apply and - this time - the Technirama image HAS NOT BEEN ENHANCED FOR 16:9 TELEVISION DISPLAYS!!! There's a really, REALLY awful music video and a few short featurettes that, among other topics, explain how the film was shot, the techniques used in the animation and the restoration process employed for this new DVD. Over all, I could have done without these studio junkets, especially since none of them were even moderately cleaned up for inclusion into this special edition. Still, for its stunning art of animation and a near pristine anamorphic transfer of the film - once upon a dream no more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic fairy tale

    This is a wonderful animated film. Having watched it over and over as a child, I now also appreciate it as an adult. One warning to parents of small children: the scene where Maleficent turns into the dragon and fights Prince Phillip can be scary. It gave me nightmares for a time when I was little. But the music in the film is beautiful and ethereal. And Meriweather does steal the show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    THANK YOU!! FOR NOT SELLING BOOT-LEG MOVIES!

    THANK GOD A REAL DISNEY MOVIE. OTHER SELLERS NOT SO NICE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    Reminded me what to look for in a man. As a girl I always thought my man should sing and dance. This movie inspires little girls on many levels. I love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Gift

    This is one of mmy daughter's favorite movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic

    One of many classics of Disney and will always treasure it. Helps children to realize that dreams can come true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sleeping Beauty

    Sleeping Beauty is back in all of its glory! The restoration of this classic is beautiful and the extra's are fantastic. Disney outdid themselves with this DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A beloved classic and favorite of mine

    Sleeping Beauty has always been my favorite of the Disney classics. I grew up with it and as a teenager still love and cherish it. To see it come to life as it does on the Blu-Ray disc is enchanting. It brings the quality and magic of the film to life. The sound is incridble and the graphics are lovely. Still I don't think it is necssary to get the Blu-Ray disc. It works just as well as the regular DVD one I own, compared to the Blu-Ray my friend owns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great classic

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hooray..new edition and BluRay!

    Rather underappreciated in its original 1959 release, this has become a classic over the years, and a special favorite of adult animation fans...Many of them, including me, are excited that Disney is turning its wonderful widescreen masterpiece into a new special edition and blu-ray edition soon...it is sure to be spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is about time, really.

    This is an excellent movie! It is my personal Disney favorite. Sleeping Beauty doesn't get the credit it deserves. It is a great movie to watch, the fairies are funny, and even the animals are lovable! (The humans are too!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fairy Tale DVD Dream Come True

    This is my favorite Disney movie along with Beauty and the Beast. Aurora is an absolute joy to watch--she's such an innocent and sweet girl, totally unspoiled by the trappings of royalty. Philip is noble, courageous, and handsome--he's perfect for pure Aurora. Maleficent always gave me the creeps, but I think she's one of Disney's most beautiful villainesses--that laugh just chills you! And the fairies--bossy Flora, naive Fauna, and practical Merriwether--I wish they had brought me up! It's one of the best fairy tales the world has ever experienced, and Disney just made it better with this new DVD release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sleeping Greatly

    Pure Disney Gold!! I've loved this movie since I was 1, I'm now 18!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4