Customer Reviews for

Sleepy Hollow

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Definatly in my top 10

    Definatly in my top 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite films of all time

    Yes, I have read The Legend of Sleepy Hollow many, many times. It is one of the classics and I love Washington Irving's writing. But I think you can love the book and also love the movie and I do love this movie. Johnny Depp is in his element working with Tim Burton and his portrayal of Ichabod Crane is amazing. Why this man does not have an Oscar yet is beyond me. While he doesn't exactly fit Irving's description, his Icahbod Crane is multi-faceted and carefully developed. I thought he did an excellent job. The entire cast was wonderful, especially Miranda Richardson, Christina Ricci, and Michael Gambon. The set, costumes, and score are beautiful. They cast the perfect atmosphere of spookiness and melancholy. The plot has little to do with the book, but nevertheless, it is riveting. I recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Was better Than I Thought

    Of course it was better than i Thought But It Wasn't As Gory As I Thought It Could Of been R for like Strong Violence and A scene of sexuality or PG-13 for Like Horror Violence And Sexual Content. great Great best Movie I've Ever Seen Just Not The Goriest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beyond Dead good

    This was a great movie. Even after seeing it a hundred times it still makes you jump. This movie will keep you on your toes and sreaming for more!! Cranes' personaltiy kept the movie slightly humerous while staying creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not the best johnny depp movie, but it's still great

    johnny depp (as always)did a five star performence as Ichobod Crane, wich it was entertaining to see him play a man who is afraid of his own shadow. Tim burton's directing was also five star, and it was the best tim burton- johnny depp como.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Great!

    I really loved this movie. I don't see why it was rated R though. There is some blood and gore but I've seen worse in PG-13 movies. The actors had very good performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sleepy Hollow

    what a great movie, I saw this movie and dropped because it was just so good. Although after i saw From Hell it reminded me so much of this movie. But even still this movie kicked so much @#%!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A trully Head- turning experience!!

    A chilling and frightfull movie...I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    wow, this was a great horror flick with alot of chilling surprises that not many would expect! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie !! ^_^

    I thought this movie was absolutely wonderful! in it were awesome actors (Johnny Depp ^_^), good story line (i mean, who wouldn't love a plot that contained a headless horseman chopping of people's head?!), and of course...JOHNNY DEPP!!!!!! I think he made a wonderful Ichabod Crane; and it was funny how he always fainted and was scared of that spider... I thought the music (by Danny Elfman) was also nifty. It suited the movi very well. Buy this movie, and while your at it, buy Pirates of the Caribbean!!!! (Johnny Depp is in my oppinion even better in that, as Jack Sparrow!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ay-Ya!Johnny!

    Oy!I liked it alot,especially Johnny Depp,for awhile I forgot it was even Depp!He dose such a good job becoming the charactors,like in Pirates of the Carribian and Edward Scissorhands,you can hardly tell it's him beneath the gastly scissorhands,deep tan and black eye-liner,to which,I have to say he wears more than I do, in Pirates of the Carribian,and I've never seen such tan skin! In Sleepy Hallow you see the best of him once more,the gastly pale skin and black clothes...almost looks black-and-white like The Pianist director Roman Polenski did. Although the gore dosn't tickle my fancey,Johnny Depp did! Ugh!And he is always fainting!Perfect!I'd think Ichabod Crane would,too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderfully Chilling!

    Sleepy Hollow is a wonderful twist on an old classic story. Being the Johnny Depp conossieur that I am, I just had to see this movie. It was wonderfully different than I had anticipated it would be. I was expecting more of a scare you to death sort of movie, but was happily surprised to find a bit of gore, some wonderful Johnny Depp humor, and the artistic creations of Tim Burton all swept into one. Sleepy Hollow (starring Johnny Depp and Christina Ricci), is the classic headless horsemen tale with a twist. It features the infamous horsemen, along with clues to the murder investigation and who is behind it all. It is as more a mystery story than a horror film. Johnny Depp added his own flair to the movie, as Ichabod Crane, the constable investigator who is called into Sleepy Hollow to solve the murders of the headless horsemen. This film was deliciously mysterious and scarry. It was good enough to lose your head over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Wonderful Johnny Depp Movie

    This movie is very good! It isn't really that scary. It's suspenseful with some humor.It's good and gory,too. It's Absolutely Depptastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Super!

    I am A huge fan of Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, and together they make a fantastic duo. Tim's deep and dark setting to the film make it so atmospheric that you can almost feel yourself in the movie. I was also inpressed with the fantastic sound track produced by Danny Elfman that I have noticed in other movies that Tim and Johnny have also been involed with. Very well put together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ones of Tim Burton's best!

    This spooky, chilling film is as dark as a mystery/horror film can get. Tim Burton does it again in directing this mystery/horror film that will for sure turn your blood cold and put a shiver down your spine. An excellent film with a cast to match, Sleepy Hollow is one of Tim Burton's best. Combining horror and mystery together, Sleepy Hollow is one of those films that you'll be kicking yourself if you miss. A gruesome yet great film, this is the better of 2 mystery/horror films that Johnny Depp has played in. The other was From Hell that was horrible. Certainly a comparison to Batman for it's dark atmosphere, Sleepy Hollow is one of the best mystery/horror films that have hit the big screen. You have own this film if you haven't yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful, Brilliant Film

    This is most likely one of the best films I have ever seen. A new and exciting twist on the classic story. And, lets face it, who DOESNT like those binocular glasses Ichabod Crane (Johnny Depp)wears in the movie when observing dead bodies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    Quite different from the mundane, original Sleepy Hollow, Burton twists the- call it as you will- fairy tale, into a horror story of dark settings and a vivid story line. Instead of the headless horseman being a man with no history or purpose, Burton molds him into blood craving Hessian mercenary, who's untimely death makes him an unwitting servant to a powerful and vengeful witch. While the movie does focus on Constable Crane (another turn from the original book) and his passion for Katrina, Christopher Walken's character (the horseman) steals the show. Due to some graphic content (mainly the removal of heads) the rating is necesary. I, however, recomend the movie to anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New scare and thrill from Johhny Depp!

    I thikn that the movie, Sleepy Hollow, was an excellent. All my friends enjoyed it, and it had all the great qualities and makings of a superb movie. It had attractive actors (Johnny Depp), a well-known plot, yet with more detail, new twists, and more information and explanation behind the tale. I could watch this movie forever, and if you see it, I think that you will agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still The Best

    I grew up watching the less violent cartoon version of Sleepy Hollow. This one still ranks up there! Tim Burton is a genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    This is my favoret movie. Buy this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3