Customer Reviews for

Slumdog Millionaire

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Inspiring Film

Apart from opening the eyes of many of us about what life is like for some people in other parts of the world, this movie also sends the important universal message of not giving up on one's hopes and dreams, which is very inspirational for many of us. A great story wit...
Apart from opening the eyes of many of us about what life is like for some people in other parts of the world, this movie also sends the important universal message of not giving up on one's hopes and dreams, which is very inspirational for many of us. A great story with a great director, cast, crew, & music.

posted by crystalstarhealer on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Way too overrated

I saw this movie when it first came out in limited release...and I enjoyed it. It didnt blow me away. It didnt change my life. It was just a well made movie. I love almost everything Danny Boyle has ever done, but this was a bit...cliche. The acting was solid, as w...
I saw this movie when it first came out in limited release...and I enjoyed it. It didnt blow me away. It didnt change my life. It was just a well made movie. I love almost everything Danny Boyle has ever done, but this was a bit...cliche. The acting was solid, as was the pacing, but my two biggest qualms with the movie (SPOILERS) was the stupid scene with the brother in the tub full of money and the fact that she says "kiss me" at the end. The "kiss me" part wasnt needed, and it almost would have been more powerful if they just rushed across the train station, and just as they met, the film cut to black. Oh well. (END SPOILERS) My biggest qualm with this film is not even the films fault, but the academy's. This was not the best movie of last year. In fact, I think they really missed the mark with most of the Best Picture nominees. But that didnt even bother me that much, because out of the nominations, this or Benjamin Button should have won. There were better non-nominated movies, however. Regardless of that though...the fact that this movie won sound-editing and other technical categories is a travesty. Last year, despite the non-artsy nature of the films, The Dark Knight and Wall-E were released. The Dark Knight was a gorgeous achievement of cinematography, while Wall-E created an entire emotional connection to a character, or characters, who could not talk. They did this through the visuals, and through the sounds eminating from both the characters, and the environment. Slumdog...did nothing new. If you've ever seen a Danny Boyle movie, it's the same old scheme. Frankly, I've lost all faith in the Academy, due in large part to oversights like this and the complete snub of Mickey Rourke in the Wrestler. Again, this is a good movie. But it isnt the second coming, it isnt the most uplifting film ever, and it wasnt even the best movie of last year.

posted by Alfeetoe on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Inspiring Film

    Apart from opening the eyes of many of us about what life is like for some people in other parts of the world, this movie also sends the important universal message of not giving up on one's hopes and dreams, which is very inspirational for many of us. A great story with a great director, cast, crew, & music.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely superb - I will watch over & over, ad infinitem

    Most strikingly beautiful, moving production. Reality and fantasy linked, making the reality all that much more devastating. I loved the characters, cared about them. So far I have watched it once, with one of my nephews, and I am glad I bought it because I can watch it again and again. I hope to watch it with each of my nephews separately, because we can share our feelings about the movie, and I have an excuse to watch it again and again. A truly great movie is one that one wants to share.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Academy Award Winning Best Picture of the Year!

    I had been dieing to see Slumdog Millionaire when it first came out in the movie theater, but i couldn't. It is rated R and my mom wasn't sure if i should see it with her or not. So i waited till it came out on DVD which killed me because my whole family went and saw it without me. I couldn't tell you how many times i watched the trailer and clips. After it won Best Picture of the Year, i was even more anxious. When it finally came out on DVD i went and bought it the first day and watched it that night. It was one of the best movies i had ever seen. The director, Danny Boyle, really did a good job with this movie. It is disturbing though and i can see why its rated R. I loved it though and its worth buying. (i wrote this same review to the book which is also good)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It Totally Obliterated My Mind

    I loved this movie. It was funny, sad, realistic, clever, exciting, entertaining, and intelligent. There was not one moment that caused me boredom. Absolutely BRILLIANT. My favorite movie was once Moulin Rouge, but this movie is competing for the title.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Intense

    An intense movie you will want to see again~compelling glimpse of another world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one very awesome movie dawg

    best movie eva made fool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie

    i heard the song to this movie on the radio i loved the orginial song so i made a choice to go see the movie it was one very awesome film from begining to end but i also heard the new remixed version of the movies theme song pcd featuring nicole whatever her name is destroyed the movies theme song i reccomanded ozzy osbourne for lots of reasons because his music is ibntelligent and very upbeat and very poistive

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    As good as they say it is!

    When Slumdog Millionaire was in theaters everyone I knew who saw it told me, "You have to see it, it's amazing," then they continued to sing it's glory. Odd as it might sound this sort of praise actually makes me hesitant to see movies. Almost always the movie will fail expectations set by the reviews. The movie came out on DVD and I bought it, but didn't immediately watch it. This was an error on my part.

    This movie is everything that a movie should be. I wondered what would happen next and when the story did move on I was surprised. The music, the actors, the pacing, even the smallest details in the backround, were pitch perfect. Every emotion you can possibly feel run through you when you watch this movie. They blend action, romance, and suspence perfectly.

    I recommend this movie to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Liked it? No. LOVED IT!

    I saw this based on the recommendation of just one person and was floored. What a roller-coaster ride. I didn't really know what to expect but the kids did a fantastic job with their roles and I was equally impressed by the connection to the music used for each scene. A wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Simply Miraculous

    Well, What can I say about Slumdog Millionaire other than its flawless. This movie was beyond my expectations. I was expecting a masterpiece and I got even more. This movie was wonderfully pieced together, Kudos to Danny Boyle. And if you don't believe me on how good this movie is then maybe you will believe the eight oscars it won in 2009 for Best picture, Best director, Best adapted screenplay, Best original score, Best original song, Best film editing, Best cinematography, and Best sound mixing. I would also like to mention that I think the MPAA completely dropped the ball on this one. Rated R? Rated R as in the same rating given to The Hangover and Friday the 13th? This was by far the most mild R rated film I have ever seen. Its ashame too because I know many parents will automatically see Rated R and will not allow their kids to see this. The content of this movie I will rate on a scale of 1-10 Sexual Content : 4 Language : 4 and Violence : 6.5 this movie should be rerated PG-13. It's truely amazing and one of my all-time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    Good for teens and adults. Gets us out in the world, and teaches us about other cultures and backgrounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    I hadn't actually seen the movie when I bought it, but it was a movie I had wanted to see. I thought that maybe with all the hype circulating around the movie I wouldn't be as impressed with it as others were, but I loved it. I loved the story being told and I believe it's a movie that everyone needs to see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies I have seen

    This movie had everything you could ask for and more! I was not expecting it to be so good even though it won an academy award. In a way it reminded me of "The Sixth Sense" in that there was so much going on that you missed things and thought about them after the movie was over. I did not go to the theater to see this movie but bought the DVD; I wish I had seen it on the BIG SCREEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A New Favorite

    This is an amazing movie in every way, and it is in my top all time favorite list. A heartwarming and evocative story that provides hope and awareness. It also has an incredible soundtrack that has quickly become one of the most played on my MP3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie, excellent-20th Century Fox, not.

    Bought this movie for my husband who did not get a chance to watch at theater. The DVD expressly advertised special features ("The Making of..."), but it did not contain ANY special features except trailers for other movies. I will be returning the DVD and I'll wait until 20th Century Fox remedies its big boo-boo. [Barnes & Noble told me that they will let me return it.]
    If you don't care about the extra features, by all means buy the DVD. The movie is original and unforgettable. It truly deserved to win the Oscar for best movie. Kudos to Danny Boyle et al.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie is really good

    i liked it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie it drsves more then just 5 stars to desves 10 stars

    tha best movie eva made dawg like sewriously dawg its tha best movie eva made

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie also loved the movies theme song jai ho is one very amazing song

    this movie is timeless this movie is the best of the best long live this movie it has alot of intresting themes in the movie and lots of intresting lessons this is one very amazing movie

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie loved the whole movie from begining to end

    its the best of the best enough said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slumdog Millionaire

    When i was going to hawaii i looked through the movies on the back of the seat in front of me. Many of these movies didnt look so good until I came to Slumdog Millionaire. I had heard it was really good and had won several acadamy awards. They were not lying. It was amazing and exiting and some parts were funny. The story takes place in india where two kids are dirt poor and pretty much have to live on the streets. Jamal is the main character in the movie. The movie begins with he and his brother trying to live on the streets after their mother was killed in an attack from infidals. The movie shows Jamal when he is a little kid and then present when he is on Indias version of Who Wants to be a Millionare. i recommend this movie to everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4